We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for money”
Review of Hotel Re!

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Re!
Ranked #146 of 319 Hotels in Singapore
Reviewed April 16, 2014

I stayed there 5 days in April 2014 at a rate of 81 € (approx. USD 112) a night (taxes and service included, no breakfast), which seems quite cheap for 4* in Singapore. I did not try breakfast or other meals so I can't comment on that. Personal is friendly, rooms clean (as long as you don't look too much into detail.).
500m from Outram MRT. Free shuttle service to MRT station, not available on Sundays.
A little bit away from the important things to see in Singapore but with the MRT in short distance I could accept that easily. Located directly at a small park where you can do some sports.
I like the music of the seventies and eighties which is played in the entry hall.
Free public Wifi, that sometimes is fine and sometimes does not work at all. "Public" means "no password needed", which means "open for everybody" which means that I can't really work, because I don't want to enter any passwords or credit card data in a public internet access. But just to surf a little in the internet it is fine.
Overall: Not perfect, but absolute okay. Regarding the price which is FAR below the hotels in the fancy areas of Singapore, I can say "Good value for money." That's why I rate it 5*.
Would not hesitate to stay there again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris_Bremen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PR-HotelRe, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Re!, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2014

Dear Chris_Bremen

Greetings from Hotel Re! @ Pearl's Hill!

Thank you for taking time to write us a review. We're glad that you have enjoyed the music of the seventies and eighties which is played at our hotel lobby.

We look forward to your next return to Hotel Re! and have the opportunity to be of service to you soon. Welcoming you back to Re!lax in Modern Retro Comfort!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (800)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

280 - 286 of 800 reviews

Reviewed April 13, 2014 via mobile

Our experience at Hotel Re was on the whole a positive one. Our room was park facing on the 7th floor within the yellow section (Bruce Lee silhouette). The room was clean (all spotless except the mould in the mini fridge) and stocked with everything we would expect from an Asian hotel: full set toiletries, ample amount of towels, slippers, safe, bottled water, tea coffee and cutlery. The bed and pillows were very comfortable (on the soft side) and the water pressure on the shower was reasonably strong.

We would however warn travellers that the uphill walk from Outram station to the hotel is a difficult one; even for us who are regular gym-goers. What made it difficult wasn't so much the steepness, the distance, or the stairs; but was the heat and humidity. Travellers who suffer from asthma or other related physical conditions should consider this before choosing this hotel. N.B The hotel shuttle runs only one way from the hotel to Outram; so you're on your own when it comes to getting there. There are ample signage to direct you from exit B from Outram station so finding your way is not hard... But it's the actual walking part with luggage and everything.

On the whole the hotel is comfortable, value for money and in a great location in the city.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank bpsyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2014

The Re represents very good value for Singapore. The rooms are clean, very comfortable and well-appointed with nice amenities. Go there by taxi or use their shuttle bus to the MRT. It is a hike up the hill to get to it despite what others say. The restaurant however needs improvement, no a la carte western breakfast available and a simple plate of dim sum took 25 minutes to arrive and we were the only ones there !

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank westoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2014

Stayed here for 5 nights after a cruise. Hotel staff very friendly, check in was easy. Arrived at 9.30am and our booked queen room was unavailable so our first night was in a single bed double room. Next day moved to queen, easily accomplished. Restaurant was good value and great food.
shuttle to and from the MTR was a bonus though the walk uphill was not too arduous. Signage from the station very clear and easy to follow. Will definately stay here again and have no hesitation in recommending it to others.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sueandphilanderson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2014

Stayed for 2 nights, staff were friendly. Rooms okay but could use sprucing up a bit.
The "gym" is a room the size of a cupboard with a treadmill and a useless weights contraption.
Good location as is walking distance to MRT.
Reasonable value for Singapore.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Stel24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PR-HotelRe, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Re!, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2014

Dear Stel24

Greetings from Hotel Re! @ Pearl’s Hill!

Thank you for your review. We have informed our housekeeping department on your highlighted points.

We hope that you would allow us the opportunity to welcome you back at Hotel Re! and to impress you with our commitment to improve. Welcoming you back to Re!lax in Modern Retro Comfort!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2014

Given the price of accommodation in Singapore this was in the lower range i.e. budget but it was clean, quiet, had parklands around it. Staff were excellent + unfailingly helpful + courteous. Would definitely stay here again if in Singapore. Well done, Hotel Re!

Room Tip: higher floors are quiet + good views...I was on floor 9 + it was peaceful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lyndell B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2014

I like the location of this hotel. By taxi, you only need $4-$8 to travel to anywhere in the cbd or the orchard shopping district as it's all very near by. The hotel is also near Ya Hua Bak Kut Teh and the teochew porridge place at havelock road which i really like, among many other known local eateries in the area.

The room is very comfortable and clean, and the colorful quirky room detailing will quickly grow on you. Air conditioning and shower all in good condition and more than meet expectations. The staff here are very helpful, friendly and responsive. There may be room discounts for stay of 2 nights or more and also 20% off meals ordered at the cafe for hotel guests. I tried 4 of the Asian dishes at the cafe- all very good!

For the location and the standard of the rooms, this hotel has good value for money. Overall experience exceeded my expectations.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lynnlimw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Hotel Kai
#156 of 319 in Singapore
276 reviews
Tiong Bahru
Link Hotel
Link Hotel
#140 of 319 in Singapore
313 reviews
Kampong Glam
hotel clover 33 Jalan Sultan
hotel clover 33 Jalan Sultan
#149 of 319 in Singapore
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel YAN
#64 of 319 in Singapore
491 reviews
Keong Saik Hotel
#135 of 319 in Singapore
271 reviews
Strand Hotel
#145 of 319 in Singapore
492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Re!? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Re!

Address: 175A Chin Swee Road, Singapore 169879, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#107 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Price Range: $92 - $203 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Re! 4*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As you step into Hotel Re!, a modern retro themed boutique hotel, you are lost in swirls of vivacious colours and psychedelic furnishings tempered with a sleek modern touch. With numerous themed boutique hotels in the metropolis, this 12-storey, 140-room boutique hotel is a wondrous surprise waiting to be discovered. All guestrooms in this boutique hotel are furnished with retro inspired furniture and complimented with ultra modern technologyfor that for that unique Hotel Re! touch. Each floor in this boutique hotel has its own colour theme and all the rooms on the floor resonates with the designated colour and decor. Glittery mosaic-tiled bathrooms in all rooms are the finishing flourish to our distinctive boutique hotel is offering. Situated at the base of Pearl's Hill, along Chin Swee Road, Hotel Re! encloses guests in a serene and and scenic environment whilst being just a stone's throw away from attractions like Chinatown, Clarke Quay and the famous shopping district, Orchard Road. Major tourist attractions in the city are easily accessible from the hotel's convenient location to allowing guests to move around the city at their own leisure pace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com, Fastbooking, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Re! reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Re Hotel Singapore
Hotel Re! Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing