We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Became like Home”
Review of Hotel Re!

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Re!
Ranked #123 of 315 Hotels in Singapore
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
“Became like Home”
Reviewed September 10, 2013

I am shocked people are saying that their rooms were dirty or dusty.
My wife and I stayed at Hotel Re for 8 weeks in March-April (so people working there definitely remembered us) while I was doing a 2 month fellowship at a local university in Singapore. We had the room cleaned a number of times and we always came back to find it incredibly cleaned with nice attention to detail. Any snacks eaten were re-stocked in the mini bar as well.

The room was paid for by my university so I cannot comment on the price, but from what I could tell it is in the budget range for central Singapore.

The walk to Outram Park MRT is not terrible, maybe 10 minutes, but after 8 weeks gets boring. If we weren't in a rush and saw the driver by the shuttle we'd take that and it was fine. By Outram Park MRT is the Pearl's Hill center, with a nice little foodcourt where we'd often go for laksa dinners.
Walking in the other direction for 10 minutes took you first past a Sheng Siong supermarket, followed by People's Park shopping center and hawker center (a great place for a meal), a little further after that there is Chinatown Point mall with a Fair Price supermarket and after that all of Chinatown.

Just behind the hotel, down some stairs, on Chin Swee Rd is a bus stop (closet bus stop to hotel) which takes you further into center (by National Museum, SMU, Fortune Centre, and a short walk to Bugis, etc) and then heads out to Orchard Rd.
Given all that the location of Hotel Re is pretty great. Only downside is yes, you'll have to walk a little to get anywhere, as there is nothing directly around you, but you can get around fine with a little walking and some buses, and if you take a taxi then I would guess it's even easier.

The staff is friendly, my wife needed an ethernet cable since the wifi was in heavy use when she was having a Skype meeting and someone brought up a cable which sped up her connection.

We never ate there so can't comment on the food, as so many good hawker centres are nearby (Maxwell is within a nice 20 minute walk through Chinatown; Chinatown Hawker Centre is maybe 10-15 minutes, people's park is less than 10, and there are more if you want to walk further).

The TV in the rooms have HBO, the Australian Network, mtv, and a number of local channels in every local language.

You couldn't open the windows, but I don't think that is much different from most hotels in Singapore, and for most visitors it won't be a problem, but when you live in a place for 2 months you sometimes want to air it out, or just open the window in the morning and breathe in the fresh air.

Pearl Hill park is directly next to the hotel, a great place for a run if you love running up steps and hills. There is one loose rooster that lives in the park, if your window faces the park you might hear him calling out hoping to find a hen, but as far as I saw there are no loose hens, so he wanders the park aimlessly looking for a mate. He's a cute little guy with a lonely life, but it was always fun to spot him out the window pecking away.

There is a little gym on the 10th floor (for some reason their website still says 2nd floor, but it's definitely the 10th). And it is very little. Some weights, one treadmill, and one sorta bowflex/weights for the arms-legs, pecs,etc machine. Small but had enough for someone to get a good workout, plus I rarely saw anyone else in there so it was fine for just one person working out, especially if you're just in town a few days.

For the 2 months we were there at first we felt a little strange living full time in a hotel, but in the end it did become our little home in Singapore. It's a comfortable hotel and I'd recommend it if the price looks good to you for a very comfortable hotel. The rooms aren't huge but it's a hotel room, what are you doing in there really? The bathrooms were clean and the shower had a good pressure.

Room Tip: Facing the park is a much nicer view than facing Chin Swee road (which is more like a highway)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MikeBinos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PR-HotelRe, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Re!, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear MikeBinos,

Greetings from Hotel Re! @ Pearl's Hill!

We appreciate your detailed feedback on your 2 month's staying experience with us and trust that you have had a wonderful stay with us especially the proximity that our location brings! Noticed that you often go for laksa dinners (Our Re!Fill Restaurant's signature dish is the Abalaone Seafood Laksa), you may wish to give it a try at our restaurant next round you visit us!

We have definitely revised the website information on our Re!Charge Gym location (as level 10) as well. Thank you for your feedback once again, and we hope to host you again when you return to Singapore!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

781 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    183
    337
    169
    65
    27
See reviews for
94
325
99
116
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2013

Location is not very good, the walk to outram mrt has to pass steep stairs which is not good for elderly people. The room is very small and dirty. Dust around the corner of the room and a lot of hair on the bathroom wall after the room has been cleaned. Chair inside the room is dirty and have stain on the fabric. Air con is noisy and fridge not very cold. Shuttle bus service is unreliable and not on time. Only positive thing is staffs are very courteous and friendly. This is our 1st and will be our last stay at the hotel.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Miss H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PR-HotelRe, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Re!, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear Miss H,

Greetings from Hotel Re! @ Pearl's Hill!

We sincerely apologize for the unpleasant experience you have had at our hotel. Your feedback has been brought to attention to our Head of Department for Housekeeping . We treat our guests feedback with utmost importance and we have since taken extra measures to prevent such incidents from happening again.

We hope that you would allow us the opportunity to welcome you back at Hotel Re! and to impress you with our commitment to improve. Welcoming you back to Re!lax in Modern Retro Comfort!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Singapore hotels

Singapore, Singapore
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2013

In a city like Singapore where finding a decent place to stay is not difficult, but finding a not so expensive place to stay is, Re! was a breathe of fresh air. Situated a 4-5 minutes walk away from Outram Metro Station, making it as accessible. The walk to Outram Station is also so peacful and calming that it just adds to the fun of stay at Re!. The moment you enter Re! you are hit with the brightness of the neon colours that just make you so happy. The hotel is extremely clean and even though the rooms are really just small the window provides a view of the world outside keeping you in check with the outside world, even though it it really so cut off from the noise and chaos.
There is transport available to and from Outram station, but the distance and walk to the station being decent we never really needed to time ourselves.
Re! is a a good option for the budget traveller and being so close to the Metro is only an added advantage.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nopanickhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PR-HotelRe, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Re!, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear Nopanickhere,

Greetings from Hotel Re! @ Pearl's Hill!

Thank you for your great feedback! We see that you have enjoyed your stay with us especially the proxmitiy of our hotel to the train station. Let us welcome you back on your next visit to Singapore, and hopefully you will discover more greatness within and surrounding our hotel. Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HK
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 3, 2013

stay here in March
Room is small but it is clean and neat, it has what you need for a short stay
Close to subway, good location, about 10 minutes walk.
Shuttle bus to subway a bit long waiting
Staff is very nice and helpful
Would remmend this if you go for a trip with budget hotel

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DennisHK2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PR-HotelRe, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Re!, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear DennisHK2013,

Greetings from Hotel Re! @ Pearl's Hill!

Thank you for your feedback. We are glad to hear that you have enjoyed our rooms and services. Our shuttle service is available monday-saturday on a 20min interval (except for meal breaks). Do check with our front desk colleagues on shuttle timings next time you are here, we will be more than happy to assist.

We sincerely welcome you to stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan, Malaysia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

The rooms were super tiny! Basic and clean, but always had problems with the keycard entry into the room. Only one working elevator as well, so I would get to the room, the key wouldn't work, and then have to go back down to the lobby to reactivate it, super annoying!

Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank anowakow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PR-HotelRe, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Re!, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear anowakow,

Greetings from Hotel Re! @ Pearl's Hill!

We appreciate your feedback of the problems you faced while staying with us. We will refer the keycard issue to our Head of Department for both Front Desk and Housekeeping for evaluation.

As for the elevators, we apologise for any inconvenience caused as regular maintenance is scheduled to ensure all passengers' safety.

We hope that you would allow us the opportunity to welcome you back at Hotel Re! and to impress you with our commitment to improve. Welcoming you back to Re!lax in Modern Retro Comfort!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johor Bahru
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

The Hotel RE is a boutique hotel in Singapore located off Chin Swee Road.
The color schemes are terrible being mostly pink, but the hotel offers good value for the money.
Ask for the deluxe room as the standard room is too small (shoe box size).
The location is quiet on Pearl Hill but it is in easy walking distance to China Town and Robinson/ Clark Quays.
The hotel is clean and staff friendly. The room rate includes breakfast and free Wi-Fi.
Make a note of the address when you leave the hotel as you might have trouble getting back as most taxi drivers do not know where it is.

Room Tip: Ask for a deluxe or family room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PR-HotelRe, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Re!, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear John K,

Greetings from Hotel Re! @ Pearl's Hill!

Thank you for taking your time to write this review. From your review, we see that you have had a great overall experience at Hotel Re! on your business trip here. We welcome you to return on your next trip to Singapore and perhaps you can try out other room categories that we offer (e.g. Business, Premier Rooms) for business or leisure. Here's more information on each of our room categories: http://www.hotelre.com.sg/hotel-rooms.html.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2013

Planned a staycation with some pals over the weekend, and booked the family room. Please note that the family suite looks 10x better in pictures.
1) room is all the way at the corner, infront of the service lift for staff.
2) went into the room and it had this weird musky smell.
3) no dvd player in the room until we asked for it.
4) couldnt find a fridge, called and asked. was told 'there is supposed to be one'.. but there isnt. in the end they had to come up to give us a fridge. and the first one, was plugged in for 30 mins and still wasnt cold, asked for a change, second one was emitting hot hair. got lucky with the 3rd fridge thou. FINALLY.
5) 'sofa' in room was dirty , so were the sheets. thin with some stains on it. towels were thin and threading..

basically a horrible and dirty experience at hotel re!. first and last time here.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank coordinatedpink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PR-HotelRe, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Re!, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Dear coordinatedpink,

Greetings from Hotel Re! @ Pearl's Hill!

Thank you for taking your time to write this review. We sincerely apologize for the unpleasant experience you have had at our hotel. Your feedback has been brought to our Housekeeping Head of Department's attention. We treat our guests feedback with utmost importance and we have since taken extra measures to prevent such incidents from happening again.

We hope that you would allow us the opportunity to welcome you back at Hotel Re! and to impress you with our commitment to improve. Welcoming you back to Re!lax in Modern Retro Comfort!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Hotel YAN
#52 of 315 in Singapore
385 reviews
Chinatown
Bliss Hotel Singapore
Bliss Hotel Singapore
#85 of 315 in Singapore
673 reviews
Hotel G Singapore
#67 of 315 in Singapore
686 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Quays
Studio M Hotel
Studio M Hotel
#121 of 315 in Singapore
2,187 reviews
Naumi Liora
#107 of 315 in Singapore
857 reviews
Kampong Glam
hotel clover 33 Jalan Sultan
hotel clover 33 Jalan Sultan
#134 of 315 in Singapore
193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Re!? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Re!

Property: Hotel Re!
Address: 175A Chin Swee Road, Singapore 169879, Singapore
Phone Number:
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#98 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Re! 4*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As you step into Hotel Re!, a modern retro themed boutique hotel, you are lost in swirls of vivacious colours and psychedelic furnishings tempered with a sleek modern touch. With numerous themed boutique hotels in the metropolis, this 12-storey, 140-room boutique hotel is a wondrous surprise waiting to be discovered. All guestrooms in this boutique hotel are furnished with retro inspired furniture and complimented with ultra modern technologyfor that for that unique Hotel Re! touch. Each floor in this boutique hotel has its own colour theme and all the rooms on the floor resonates with the designated colour and decor. Glittery mosaic-tiled bathrooms in all rooms are the finishing flourish to our distinctive boutique hotel is offering. Situated at the base of Pearl's Hill, along Chin Swee Road, Hotel Re! encloses guests in a serene and and scenic environment whilst being just a stone's throw away from attractions like Chinatown, Clarke Quay and the famous shopping district, Orchard Road. Major tourist attractions in the city are easily accessible from the hotel's convenient location to allowing guests to move around the city at their own leisure pace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Fastbooking, ACCOR, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotwire, Travelocity and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Re! reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Re Hotel Singapore
Hotel Re! Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing