We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty But Annoying”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Changi Airport
Ranked #33 of 312 Hotels in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Topeka KS
Level Contributor
181 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
“Pretty But Annoying”
Reviewed June 12, 2013

Okay, the room is pretty and the location in Terminal 3 is convenient. Unfortunately, that's where the pluses end. My one night at this hotel was a continuing series of annoyances and missed opportunities.

First, upon checking in, I was told, "unfortunately, your Priority Club membership does not provide free wifi at this property." Well, it does at every other IHG hotel in which I've stayed. That's misleading and unreasonable. I wandered out into the air terminal and used the free wifi there. But -- seriously?

Second, why in the world would an international hotel like this one not provide basic electrical outlets for use in the bathroom? No kidding. In all that lovely expanse of vanity, there was only one of those lame shaver outlets. Is this a sexist thing or what? No place to plug in a hair dryer or curling iron? Okay, so there was one outlet right around the doorway, just outside the bathroom. But the sad and pathetic hair dryer provided in the room had a cord that was so short that it was impossible to plug it in within view of a mirror. And (this will sound petty, I suppose), this was a hair dryer that shut off if you didn't press the button constantly. Sigh...

Given that I declined to pay the outrageous rates for wifi, I figured I could use the business center for my airline check-in and boarding pass printing. Uh, no. Despite the posted hours indicating that the center was open until 10:00pm, it was locked up tight at ten til ten. When I approached the front desk, they looked stunned, and wanted to know why I wanted to use it. Then I was told, "I'll have to find someone to open it." I hovered shortly and then gave up. I was tired, losing patience, and thought it unreasonable that I would have to stand around and wait for a basic service area to be opened up.

Lastly, upon check-out at 6:00am, I was asked to pay for my prepaid room. I'd opted for the prepay pricing, as the rate was somewhat less outrageous. Unfortunately, that didn't work either. "Sorry, but our system didn't actually run the charge to your account." In the end, that turned out to be true, but at the time, I was obviously concerned about being charged twice. To be fair, the follow-up emails straightening out the billing issue (after I arrived home) were handled courteously, but needless to say, this shouldn't have happened, and was a big concern as I was about to begin 24 hours of travel. This was the crowning blow on an already less than stellar experience.

I did not try any of the food service at the Crowne Plaza, and therefore can't assess its quality. I just couldn't bring myself to pay $40 for a basic breakfast. Oh, yes -- be forwarned that the "wall" between the bath and the bedroom is glass, which means you'll have no privacy.

I know any hotel can have an off day, but for the price point of this property, the Crowne Plaza should do better. I would prefer not to return, and don't recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Reefwatcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SINCP, Public Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Changi Airport, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Dear Reefwatcher,

Thank you for your honest feedback on your stay with us at Crowne Plaza Changi Airport. We appreciate the time you've taken to share about your experience with other travellers on TripAdvisor.

I'm sorry that your experience with us did not meet your expectations. We aim to provide all our guests with seamless and intuitive service and I can understand how frustrated you must have felt when you were unable to enjoy this.

We'd also like to conduct further investigations into these incidences. We would greatly appreciate it if you could email more details of your stay to carrie.sim@ihg.com.

We are also taking your feedback regarding our WiFi into consideration.

Once again we'd like to thank you for your precious feedback and we will be working hard to present to our guests a better experience.

Warmest Regards,
Carrie Sim
Marketing Communications Executive
Crowne Plaza Changi Airport
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,328 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,273
    1,574
    314
    92
    75
See reviews for
907
1,474
569
992
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (854)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2013

We had an overnight layover and found the crowne plaza to be just the relaxing break we needed in our long haul flight from sydney to Europe. The landscaped pool area was fantastic and that alone would make it worth staying here for. We stayed in a room with two double beds and it was very spacious and comfortable with good interior design. All furnishings were excellent: beds and pillows were excellent, as was the shower. Please note there is a blind to pull down for privacy in the bathroom. We had a room on the third floor, on the same level as the pool and the walk to the room is very pleasantly landscaped with great use of water and greenery along the walkway, very tropical. Also note I was worried about how cold the air-con would get in the room based on a few previous reviews, but in our room it was very good as it was easily adjustable and the vent was well-placed. Our room service food ranged from some absolutely delicious fish and chips to an average (but ok) pasta.

The only reason I considered taking a star off was that in this day and age I expect wifi included in the room rate, which it was not. But other than that, specifically for an airport hotel it was perfect for us.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the third level to be near the pool, and the walkways are beautifully landscaped
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelItAus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SINCP, Public Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Changi Airport, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Dear TravelItAus,

Thank you for choosing Crowne Plaza Changi Airport. I'm pleased to hear that we met your expectations and helped you relax and rejuvenate after your long flight.

I'm glad you found our our rooms comfortable during your stay with us.

We'll definitely take your feedback on internet into consideration.

Thank you again for your positive feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back again on your next visit to Singapore!

Warmest Regards,
Carrie Sim
Marketing Communications Executive
Crowne Plaza Changi Airport
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed June 11, 2013

This is an excellent airport hotel. Located within terminal 3, only a few minutes from the Immigration exit. Rooms are large and spacious, with excellent storage space, large bathrooms. there is minimal noise from the adjacent runway and sleep quality is excellent.

The only nuisance is that the hotel is/feels partially open which can be unpleasant when raining or in extremely hot weather when walking from room to the elevator.

there is an excellent food court in T3 which I would recommend over the hotel restaurant.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Faded78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SINCP, Public Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Changi Airport, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Dear Faded78,

Thank you for your review of Crowne Plaza Changi Airport. We appreciate the time you've taken to leave your feedback on TripAdvisor.

We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and found our rooms large and spacious and were able to have a restful nights sleep.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to Singapore.

Warmest Regards,
Carrie Sim
Marketing Communications Executive
Crowne Plaza Changi Airport
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2013

I had the most horrendous experience at this hotel!! A stranger actually entered my room at 01.30 am!! I am a female who was staying alone in the room. I woke to the sound of the door opening. Someone came in then left quickly. 5 minutes later I had a call from a Nadine in reception asking has someone tried to enter my room. She apologised saying they had no record of me checking in. How could this be because when I called room service earlier that evening they knew my name?!?! This Nadine then asked if there was anything they could offer me that I don't already have such as breakfast. I accepted breakfast, not sure why because I knew I wouldn't have it!! After the initial shock had hit me I suddenly get very scared! I wanted to Face Time home but I had no wifi in the room. I called this Nadine who had then apparently 'knocked off for the night' but I was given the wifi an assured that this would not happen again. I DID NOT SLEEP A WINK ALL NIGHT BECAUSE I WAS SO SCARED!!!

You have a lovely hotel Crowne Plaza - but your security STINKS!!! SINGLE FEMALES SHOULD NOT STAY HERE!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank BeautyTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SINCP, Public Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Changi Airport, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Dear BeautyTravels,

Thank you for your frank and honest feedback on your experience with Crowne Plaza Changi Airport.

I would like to sincerely apologise for the negative experience during your recent stay with us. Please be assured that this is an isolated incident and we have conducted an internal investigation. We have also in place preventive measures to ensure this does not happen again.

I also understand that our Managers has been in touch to share information and details of the investigation with you both in person and via email. However, should you require a more detailed explanation, we would like to provide you with the explanation and investigation outcome via phone again.

Once again, thank you for taking the time to share with us your valuable feedback. We take your feedback very seriously and should you would like to get in touch, please do not hesitate to email me at carrie.sim@ihg.com.

Sincerely,
Carrie Sim
Marketing Communications Executive
Crowne Plaza Changi Airport
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2013 via mobile

I love this hotel! Its not so close to the city but well connected. There are many airport shops if you need anything. Hotel is very interesting and well designed, lots of greenery and great swimming pool!!! Food is ok, little expensive so you can always eat at the airport restaurants or in the city. What makes it so special is that one feels at home.
Looking forward to staying there tomorrow :)))

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shadowgirl1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SINCP, Public Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Changi Airport, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Dear Shadowgirl1,

Thank you for choosing Crowne Plaza Changi Airport!

I'm pleased to hear that you felt "at home" while staying with us and that you were able to benefit from our comfortable rooms, seamless connectivity and proximity to Changi Airport Terminal 3.

Thank you again for your positive feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back again on your next visit to Singapore!

Warmest Regards,
Carrie Sim
Marketing Communications Executive
Crowne Plaza Changi Airport
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
130 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2013

I stayed at this hotel last year and just recently stayed again but chose a Club room. The room itself was the same our previous stay with first class amenities, however it was situated to the side of the airport runway which made it quieter for sleeping. The Club room also allows you access to the club bar which provides internet access, meeting areas and a happy hour package for two hours that includes wines, cocktails, beers etc. and lovely tasting foods. Along with this is full buffet breakfast in the morning. This type of room is well worth it as firstly there is only Wi-Fi available in the Club bar and not in your room, we found the food enough for us for a light dinner followed by a hearty breakfast in the morning and of course all this located by the picturesque pool.

Room Tip: Choose a Club Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PandanBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SINCP, Public Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Changi Airport, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Dear PandanBear,

Thank you choosing Crowne Plaza Changi Airport! We really appreciate the time you've taken to write this review on TripAdvisor.

I'm glad you enjoyed the facilities and amenities that came with your club room. We're so pleased to see that you found our club rooms a great value for money and had an enjoyable stay with us.

Thank you again for your positive feedback and for your recommendations to other travellers. We look forward to welcoming you back again on your next visit to Singapore!

Warmest Regards,
Carrie Sim
Marketing Communications Executive
Crowne Plaza Changi Airport
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

A very modern hotel that is perfect if you have a long stopover and don't want to stay in one of the transit hotels inside the terminals.

The hotel is right above the MRT station and so you can easily get around Singapore cheaply by train from the hotel. You will be in the city in around 30 minutes.

The bars and restaurants are good and the pool is as good as you would find at many resort hotels. Because Singapore is so accessible from the hotel by train, taxi or car, you could easily stay here for a few days on your stopover rather than taking your heavy luggage into town with you.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank matthew f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SINCP, Public Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Changi Airport, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Dear matthew f,

Thank you for the wonderful review of Crowne Plaza Changi Airport. We're pleased to hear that you had an amazing stay with us.

It is such a compliment that you consider us 'one of the best airport hotels around' and we will continue working hard on presenting this same experience to all our guests.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next stopover or trip to Singapore.

Warmest Regards,
Carrie Sim
Marketing Communications Executive
Crowne Plaza Changi Airport
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Capri by Fraser Changi City
#44 of 312 in Singapore
1,223 reviews
Park Avenue Changi Hotel
#95 of 312 in Singapore
390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
One Farrer Hotel & Spa
#13 of 312 in Singapore
893 reviews
Joo Chiat
Village Hotel Katong by Far East Hospitality
Marina Bay
Pan Pacific Singapore
Pan Pacific Singapore
#14 of 312 in Singapore
7,125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Changi Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Changi Airport

Property: Crowne Plaza Changi Airport
Address: 75 Airport Boulevard | Changi Airport Terminal 3, Singapore 819664, Singapore
Phone Number:
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Singapore
#15 Business Hotel in Singapore
#16 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#17 Spa Hotel in Singapore
#33 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Crowne Plaza Changi Airport 5*
Number of rooms: 563
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Voted the World's Best Airport Hotel by international travellers in the prestigious Skytrax World Airport Awards for 3 consecutive years (2015, 2016 and 2017), Crowne Plaza Changi Airport's modern architecture combined with hints of nature gives you a glimpse of what to expect in Singapore - a modern garden city. Just steps away from the departure and arrival hall, rejuvenate in the comforts of our calming room or visit our spa for a range of massage treatments. A cutting-edge air-conditioned linkbridge connects the hotel to world-class Changi Airport Terminal 3, with Terminal 1 accessible by SkyTrain and Terminal 2 accessible via a mezzanine link bridge. We are just 10 minutes from Changi Business Park, Singapore Expo and 25 minutes from the city by taxi or MRT. An award-winning airport hotel offering contemporary soundproofed rooms with comfortable beds and spacious modern bathrooms, it is the perfect hotel for a quick stopover between long-haul flights. Crowne Plaza Changi Airport is more a business hotel with a resort ambience. Discover the tropical resort hidden within the hotel with courtyard gardens, a landscaped pool area and peaceful garden views from the Lobby Lounge or al fresco courtyard. Immerse yourself in '70s glamour at bar'75 with intimate nooks for cocktails, dine Cantonese-style at Imperial Treasure or have a buffet of international delights from Azur. Host a tropical garden reception, conference or wedding in our seven meeting rooms and ballroom. Stunning design and the latest technology ensure a successful event with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, IHG, Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Hotel.de and getaroom.com so you can book your Crowne Plaza Changi Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Singapore
Crowne Plaza Changi Airport Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing