We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ascott Raffles Place Singapore
Ranked #103 of 317 Hotels in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 28, 2010

Great place to stay. Close to office centre, very close to MRT statio if want to go further. Extremely clean, rooms are fab, room service is great. Staff is very helpful and polite. The pool is very nice. Absolutely great place for an extended stay in business trip. Couple food courts nearby, and private kitchen in the room - we did cook a lot.
The only negative experience we had - they didn;t subscribe to show world cup on TV, so we had to go to other places.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vesta5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (408)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

331 - 337 of 408 reviews

Reviewed June 18, 2010

Standing 21 storeys tall near the financial heart of Singapore, the Asia Insurance Building was once one of the tallest buildings in Southeast Asia. Completed in 10th December 1955 with an Art-Deco finish, the building was a prominent landmark of the Singapore skyline during the 1950s. Crowned with a stainless steel ‘wedding cake’ and clad in black marble, this historical structure still retains the grandeur of the Old Singapore.

Although the Asia Insurance Company no longer resides in this building, the A.I Building remained as a significant landmark in Singapore’s Building History when it overtook Cathay Building upon completion. It was a sign of the rapid development that was to engulf Singapore.

I had the opportunity to stay over in this urban getaway due to a friend’s birthday being held there. Being a fan of things nostalgic and historical, the Ascott Raffles Place is a place I would love to live in.

The receptionists and security guards were very friendly and polite, marking a pleasant start to the Ascott Raffles Place experience. From the earlier enquires via email and face to face, I was satisfied with the service.

The lobby area has a bar for the residents and guests alike to chill out and munch on light snacks as well as a lounge area to chat or just to spend some time in the classy environment. An attempt to instil some art into this building can be seen in modern sculpture and paintings decorating the walls around the hotel. Old photographs of Singapore link the historical significance of this building to Singapore’s heritage.

The internet price of this 75 Square Meter Room is 430++ SGD, and Citibank card holders get to book it online for about 406++ SGD.

The toilet was gorgeous too with toiletries complemented by L’Occitane products and a big bath tub to spend our time away with the soothing waters. Sound was contained within the room quite effectively only loud booming music or extremely loud crowds can be heard along the corridor.

Beyond the suite, one can also do some work out in the Gym. The Swimming Pool, measuring 1.2m high is more of relaxation rather than serious swimming. Nonetheless the experience would be interesting as would be able to see the city in the pool through its transparent glass walls.

After a nice work out at the gym or a good swim, you could chill out at the Residents’ Lounge area and sip on coffee as you read magazines or chat with your friends.

If that is not enough, head upwards to the 21st storey and enjoy the Jacuzzi or vista the Ascott Raffles has to offer during the day and night with views of Raffles Place, partial views of Marina Bay and the harbour.

Dining is being catered for by the in-house Julien Bompard Restaurant, you could choose to be lazy and just order via room service or make your way down to the restaurant, located on the second storey for a meal. However, be prepared to pay quite a bit for the meal.

Here is a preview of what is on the Snack Menu that can be found in the rooms, you have the Beef Burger with Fries going for about 22++ SGD, Chicken Consommé with Herbs for 12++ SGD, Tiramisu for 16++ SGD or you could request for their Tapas, ala-carte items by calling them. We only tried the breakfast items, because it is not cheap.

Throughout our one night stay at the Ascott Raffles Place, there are a few points that I thought might provide some valuable feedback. Firstly, the Lounge area was not maintained often enough, used coffee cups were everywhere in the later part of the day, resulting in an unpleasant environment. Secondly, we had problems with the bathroom facilities, the bathtub cold water tap wasn’t working and the dining area light wasn’t working (but they fixed it after calling them up). Lastly, some of the reception for the TV channels weren’t strong such as KBC and History Channel.

Nonetheless, the overnight stay was a great one.

The Night View was Beautiful
The Room was Great.
The people at Ascott Raffles Place were friendly even for the people at Julien Bompard. The Facilities and Amenities were decent.
The place is highly accessible via Raffles Place MRT
The Location is good. Lau Pa Sat, Market Street Food Centre and Boat Quay is just nearby.
The Reservation is not limited to a 7-Day Minimum
Outside Catering was allowed.
Security is decent as only people with key cards can access the upper floors.

Negative Points:
the Lounge area was not maintained often enough, used coffee cups were everywhere in the later part of the day, resulting in an unpleasant environment. Secondly, we had problems with the bathroom facilities, the bathtub cold water tap wasn’t working and the dining area light wasn’t working (but they fixed it after calling them up). Lastly, some of the reception for the TV channels weren’t strong such as KBC and History Channel.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank xinli29288
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2010

Checked into Ascott on the 29th May 2010. Stayed in a studio room and this are my feedbacks.

Positive Points:
1. Apartment's safety is ensured as you need your room key to access any level in the building via the elevator.

2. Amazing room equipments and amenities. They have : Washing machine, crockeries for cooking, a good fridge, full set of cutleries (incl. of can openers, bottle openers, peeler), mini sofa, tv, computer table, large bed, wide stylish wash basin in the toilet, separate toilet and bath area, rain shower... Excellent room amenitites really.

3. Good TV channels (Starhub cable TV available. Has Korean channel , HBO and stuff.)

4. AMAZING ESPRESSO machine! I love that very much because I love a good cup of coffee and it's really very easy to make yourself a good cup of thick, authentic espresso!

5. A beautiful pool if it's not crowded with more than 4 people.

6. Well equipped gym.

7. Comfortable rooftop lounging area (no sale of food/drinks)

8. Nice towels provided by the pool for drying off.


NEGATIVE POINTS:

1. Upon entering the lobby, there wasn't any security standing at the door or anyone who was willing to help us to carry our stuff. It will be nice if they have someone to offer their service for patrons.

2. The check in staff wasn't very friendly and she made me feel very uncomfortable with her looks when she said, "1 night?" Like, what the hell is wrong with that? Can't I stay over in an APARTMENT for JUST ONE NIGHT? She even forgot to return my identity card after filling up the details! I had to remind her.

3. The room is too dim. As my room 's windows are facing another building, we got NO SUNLIGHT at all. Basically, with the blinds down, we probably will never know what time of the day is it.

4. Instruction manual for washing machine will be good.

5. No supermart anywhere nearby. Closest eating area will be LAU PA SAT which is a good 10 min walk away.

6. Kitchen area too small. You can't even put a bottle of oil on the table, and cut something on the cutting board. It is extremely cramp.


Basically, the whole stay was pleasant except for the 6 negative points I pointed out. Checking out was a breeze although the lady was also not really friendly and just said, "ok, you can go now." Like, what the.... There was nothing like, "thank you for staying with us." Nothing like that. Felt unwelcomed when I meet the staff.

I would actually recommend friends to live in another hotel with the same price or lower. This apartment is way too expensive for such service and a dark room.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gaeul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2010

Great Stay at the Ascott.

Wonderful Modern Rooms.
Big Studio, very well designed layout.
Top Class Equipment: Frette Linens, Bisazza Tiles, Gaggenau Oven, even Hunter Douglas shades.
Comfortable Bed, nice pillows. Good Sleep.

Nice Bathroom, with enough space for all your things.
Loccitane Amenities.

Amazing Pool on the Top Floor.

Great Security.
Very Good Service.

Location at the Center of the Business District.
There's a food market 2 blocks away. Great for a 'local' meal.
Wish there were more places to eat nearby. Must see places are still a subway or taxi ride away.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wallyQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2010

I stayed in Ascott for about a week and must admit that it is situated in scenic background with a very cheerful and polite staff.
They have good spacious rooms with modern furniture and fittings. Best part is that the rates can be negotiated depending upon the length of stay.

Stayed: November 2009
Thank Pakman1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
An Agoda Traveler
Reviewed January 24, 2010

  • Stayed: January 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank An Agoda Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed January 23, 2010

The Ascott was excellent, large studio styled room with beautiful bathroom and quality fittings. having a kitchen & laundry was very good and made breakfast convenient. Location was good - so close to taxi stand, and train station made it easy to get to everywhere. Staff totally helpful we really enjoyed our stay!!

  • Stayed: November 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mollycat123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
1.8 mi away
Ascott Orchard Singapore
Ascott Orchard Singapore
#85 of 317 in Singapore
158 reviews
0.2 mi away
SO Sofitel Singapore
SO Sofitel Singapore
#27 of 317 in Singapore
1,784 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Westin Singapore
The Westin Singapore
#30 of 317 in Singapore
1,456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Fullerton Hotel Singapore
0.5 mi away
PARKROYAL on Pickering
PARKROYAL on Pickering
#24 of 317 in Singapore
3,175 reviews
1.3 mi away
Pan Pacific Serviced Suites Beach Road, Singapore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ascott Raffles Place Singapore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ascott Raffles Place Singapore

Address: 2 Finlayson Green Ascott Singapore Raffles Place, Singapore 049247, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#42 Family Hotel in Singapore
#49 Business Hotel in Singapore
#54 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#89 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Price Range: $222 - $375 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Ascott Raffles Place Singapore 5*
Number of rooms: 146
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ascott Raffles Place Singapore is a paragon of cultured living set in the heart of Singapore's financial cityscape. The heritage building restored from its 1950 splendour, is a distinct and exclusive residential experience with its Art Deco architectural facade set against the modern cityscape. The prime location grants immediate access to the multitude of business and financial institutions in the CBD area. Also close are the renowned entertainment and shopping districts, international restaurants and cultural destinations unique to Singapore.Each of these serviced suites at Ascott Raffles Place Singapore is designed to articulate sheer luxury and ensure absolute peace of mind. Be lavished with unrivalled personalised services and extensive business support in the comfort and privacy of an elegant, fully-equipped home. With a commanding view of Singapore and designed for optimum luxury, Ascott Raffles Place Singapore provides the extravagant comfort, elegant suites and the supreme privacy desired in a luxurious serviced suite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Ascott Raffles Place Singapore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ascott Raffles Place Singapore Hotel Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing