We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Food” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Raj

Raj
Ranked #854 of 10,421 Restaurants in Singapore
Cuisines: Indian, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget, Kids, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
67 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Good Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

Tired of Murugan Idli, you can try out Raj. Its good an extensive Menu, you have both north and south Indian options. Quality of food is good and the service is also good.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Priya S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    38
    14
    2
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
51 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Vegetarian curry heaven!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

Came here with my wife and honestly we were really lost with what to order as they had a large list of curries (or gravy as they call it). The waiter gave us some good recommendations and we had a mixed vegetable curry and another one that was a dry-type curry.

The food was excellent and very authentic! I wish I could go there everyday !

Service was good too as the waiter who took care of us was friendly and polite.

The restaurant does take credit card and we didn't make any reservations in advance.

Would love to come back here again!!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank kirinlager007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi
Level Contributor
53 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great Vegetarian fare”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2012

The food was excellent. The ambience is very basic and the service can be somewhat indifferent but the food - WOW ! This place does chaats, north indian and south indian and is very good in all three areas. this is rare even in India. the dosas were some of the best we ate anywhere. om food taste and quality they would be considered very good even in India, you can imagine outside India this would be brilliant. the location is very good and right next to mustafa - this made us go to this restaurant twice in our 5 day trip :-)

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank DevNewDelhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore River, Singapore
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“VERY VERY VERY BAD SERVICE STAFF I FACED”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2012

9 June, 2012
HI gUys i want to warn you to do not go such a stupid place there we paid higher price but we getting terrible service then a food court,

no doubt they have very good food but the service wise they continuously going down worst and worst the attitude of staff very bad specially the manager who wearing specks and a bit fatty man

we used to go there regualarly since last 4 years but since last 5 to 6 month we stop to go therebecause we had a bad exeperiencein january so we stop to go there but my daughter loves raj food its force me to come back but unfortunately the same things happen again and even worst experience happen this time.

last time we regualarly go there because that time also a fatty manager its look like gujarati he has attitude but he is more better than this and that time they have good service staff. but now i warn to to all of you pls dont go there. people going restaurant for celebrating a special occasion but if you going this restaurant your good occasion became worst i had 2 exeperience and even my few friends also told me the same thing
thanks

  • Visited June 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank pure_patel143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
65 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Awesome Indian Vegetarian”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2012

This is one of the BEST Indian vegetarian places to eat in Singapore. It has two types of Indian cuisines - South Indian and North Indian.

On the south Indian side: The Ghee Rava Masala Dosa is to die for. The podi idli is a personal favorite of every south Indian (I think). They have an extensive array of dosas and each one of them is worth tasting. I really like their sambar. Yum. The south Indian menu is mostly tiffin food like dosa, idli, but they do a decent (and reasonable) south Indian thali for lunch. A FAB culinary experience.

On the north Indian side: This place is NOT your home-cooked healthy light vegetarian food place. Very much on the heavier side of North Indian vegetarian food. Truly indulgent, decadent, stomach-expanding, soul-satisfying, meal with oodles of cream and cashew gravies. Super YUM. Paneer Kalimirchi, Dal-e-Raj, Haryali Kebab, Corn Kebab, Palak Paneer, I could go on...

Food is chilli, but you can ask for non-chilli suggestions, there are lots of non-chilli dishes in the menu.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank shobs76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Raj also viewed

Singapore, Singapore
Singapore, Singapore
 
Singapore, Singapore
Singapore, Singapore
 

Been to Raj? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing