We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very lacklustre hotel, bad service, HAUNTED!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Orchard Grand Court
Ranked #133 of 316 Hotels in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 21, 2013

Sorriest hotel ever! Extremely budget service, the buffet waitresses spoke cantonese loudly while munching on buffet's cereals! And rude too! Chased us, screaming away, for my little daughter for taking out a small pack of cereal, as she was munching on it. Heck, even the lady employee herself was munching on cereals, why can't we, paid patrons, take out a tiny box while munching on it??!!? Hotel policy, her reply. Was throughly embarassed by the shout (cantonese speaking lady on the buffet restaurant)
What's worst of the worst, this very old hotel is HAUNTED!!! Got touched and presence swirling the entire night and keep hearing voices while I close my eyes, I cannot sleep!
And very fussy/arrogant patrons, hotel guard knocked on our door because our tiny laptop speakers were too 'loud'. No pool towels, no gym towels, all facilities, sauna etc powered off!! Super duper budget. Don't believe CHECK IN!!! And AGODA cheated us of providing with 30sq room, but when arrived it was 16. Had to topup more $. Room consisted 2 rooms joined.
Next morning, asked for an extension on checkout, was rudely replied that it was 'full'. Heck there was only 3 tables eating at the buffet! And 1 person at the pool. Full? That's the sorriest excuse!
Asked the front counter to book us a cab. He told us cabs are for hotel patrons... as we had checked out! what audacity!
Very bad experience. Believe me my room was really haunted!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
29  Thank cherigal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (260)
There are newer reviews for Orchard Grand Court
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

180 - 186 of 260 reviews

Reviewed July 25, 2013

this hotel is a not the best hotel in singapore, but it gets the job done, i was here with a colleague for a business trip, it was a okay hotel, a bit under maintained, bfast and staff was average as well.. i might consider staying here again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mommekra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

While the hotel is quite dated, it strives to serve its clients with good, efficient service. Its location is a good walking distance to Orchard Road and is on the quiet side of town. The buffet choices for 3 breakfasts had good variety and really considerate of cultural tastes and likes. There is a Fair Price grocery store below and also a Watson's branch.

Room Tip: Book your room early.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank NktM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

I was here accompanying my partner on a business trip. The hotel is old and the staff not particularly friendly at all. Our room had a mildew smell. Cleaning staff were lovely but nervous about supplying me with an extra towel and tea for the room. I would not pay to stay here there are many many better options for the money. It is handy to Somerset Station.

Room Tip: go elsewhere.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Msgillies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Nice Room, Clean. But does not have a view of Singapore.
Located in the middle of the business districts, well connect the to the Orchard Road and the malls around.
However the television channels options wasn't good enough.
Food was good, the options though was not enough!

Room Tip: Value for money !
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Travel_along_Vikram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

Whilst here on business we had the unfortunate experience of staying here, as the company pay for it.

Rooms are very large and very clean, although a bit out dated and dark and felt like a 'gentleman's executive room'. I didn't find the hotel staff to be particularly friendly or helpful either. Breakfast was okay, lots to choose from (if you are not a vegetarian) and they vary it day to day which is good. We were working very early most days, before the breakfast was open, and the staff would not provide us with any other breakfast alternative, which was not very helpful.

Swimming pool lovely, but couldn't enjoy as so much construction noise all around. We ate in the restaurant one evening, and the service was awful there too, they were hoovering and making us pay for the food whilst we were still eating!!! Food was very greasy and bland and we did not eat there again after that.

The main reason i would NEVER stay here again however, is because the cleaner accidentally washed my gold, diamond necklace down the sink. I was working late that day, and had a call as soon as i came back to the room, asking to check my belongings as the cleaner heard a clinking noise in the sink. It was my irreplaceable necklace! The security staff at the hotel tried to imply that I had lost it myself and it was nothing to do with the hotel, which is unbelievably insulting and really awful customer service. On the last morning (on checkout!!) the hotel gave me a fruit bowl, ( their weird way of apologising??!) which i couldn't eat as was leaving the country. Lovely!!

AVOID!!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Riaroxanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

I've stayed in many Singapore hotels; this is a favorite. It is not glamorous; it has no awesome lobby or atrium; but it gets the job done. Spacious rooms; buffet breakfast next door; easy 10 minute walk to Orchard Road. Friendly staff.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BallBounces
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Hotel Innotel
#91 of 316 in Singapore
425 reviews
Orchard Road
Orchard Parade Hotel by Far East Hospitality
Somerset Bencoolen
#116 of 316 in Singapore
245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Orchard Road
Concorde Hotel Singapore
Concorde Hotel Singapore
#78 of 316 in Singapore
3,172 reviews
Lloyd's Inn
#60 of 316 in Singapore
811 reviews
The Quays
Somerset Liang Court Singapore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Orchard Grand Court? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orchard Grand Court

Address: 131 Killiney Road Cgh Building, Singapore 239571, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #133 of 316 Hotels in Singapore
Price Range: $133 - $257 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Orchard Grand Court 3.5*
Number of rooms: 203
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Orchard Grand Court is located 8 minutes walk from the Orchard Road Shopping Malls & Somerset MRT Station. It is only 25 km or a 30 minutes drive from Changi International Airport and 0.5km from Orchard Road It has easy accessibility to the Suntec City, Marina Bay Sands, Clark Quay, Boat Quay and other major tourist attractions. The 203 guestrooms are spacious, brightly lit and air-conditioned with private bathrooms. All rooms has amenities, bedroom slippers, iron & ironing board, safe, hair dryer, coffee tea making facilities, flat-screen television with cable channels. Free Wi-Fi access is available in all rooms. Other facilities include a café, an outdoor swimming pool, gymnasium, sauna and a 24 hours supermarket within the same premises. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Orchard Grand Court reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orchard Grand Court Hotel Singapore
Orchard Grand Court Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing