We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (320)
Filter reviews
320 results
Traveler rating
79
150
73
8
10
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
79
150
73
8
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews somerset mrt station house keeping service food shops breakfast included good size stayed here for a week every morning convenient location nice pool little india supermarket orchard cooktop housekeeping
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
238 - 243 of 320 reviews
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We were on a business trip and stayed in this hotel for 2 weeks. The rooms are huge but very old. The house keeping staff not so friendly. There is also complementary break fast but since I am vegetarian..all i can have is juice and some fruit. Only stay at this hotel if you can't afford the other hotels on orchard road. Since the only plus point is its proximity to the orchard road.

Date of stay: August 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ak2931
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2012

The hotel is very central near Somerset station. Rooms are quite big but very old. Service is so and so.
It's cheaper than other hotels in the same area so you get what you pay. The air conditioning is quite difficult to set because when you leave your room it goes back automatically to the pre-set temperature and when you're back it seems like you're changing from summer to winter at the north pole.

Date of stay: August 2011
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Min g
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2012

I was warmly greeted by the front desk upon arrival!

The best thing about the location is that you are a few blocks away from Orchard Rd and its legendary shopping. We found a great happy hour at an Italian steakhouse on Killiney in the first block toward Orchard with a great happy hour and surprisingly extensive menu, so you don't have to go far for food. When we needed a taxi the concierge would call, and we never had to wait long. The room was spacious and had enough room to sit and bathroom big enough for sharing for a couple. The bath was nice, but sometimes hot water was scarce.

Breakfast is adequate, but repetitive.

My main comment, though, is about the gym. The treadmill is not suited for running, there is no elliptical trainer at all, no warm up or yoga mats, no water cooler, etc. In short, it did not appear that the exercise room was expected to be used. That was a disappointment because the closest gym is on Orchard and charged 55 sg dollars per day for use. At that price I should have just checked into a more expensive hotel that had a decent gym.

Date of stay: February 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Cindy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2012

Good location. A lot of food stalls nearby and walking distance to Orchard Road. Peaceful location with a supermarket and pharmacy nearby. Good front office service. Very efficient.

Date of stay: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bennie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2011

We stayed in 2008 and it was an OK hotel. For an orchard hotel, OGC has (sometimes) better rate thatn the others around. However, on our Dec 2011 trip, the hotel looks really old.
Our room was nothing like a SGD260 room at all.
1. The lighting was very limited. All the furnitures are really outdated.
2. What made it terrible was the non-smoking room was full of smoke during 10pm-3am. A complaint through the front desk didnt result anything.
3. I requested a power adaptor 3pcs (one for laptop, the other one for boiling water and another to charge my camera). The front desk just declined the request and said that they only limit one per each room. They also ask you to sign a form when receiving the power adaptor

Room tip: Just nice for a single traveller. With family, I would suggest you getting a rather expensive hotel just to make it worthwhile
Date of stay: December 2011
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Namipra
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews