We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oily than Thai version”

Tian Tian Hainanese Chicken Rice
Ranked #28 of 561 Quick Bites in Singapore
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Takeout
Neighborhood: Maxwell
Description: Celebrity chef and host Anthony Bourdain once said that the rice here is so good that you can eat it on its own. One of the most famous Hainanese chicken rice stalls in Singapore, Tian Tian Hainanese Chicken Rice is located in the Maxwell Food Centre, with long queues forming in front of the stall every day.
Reviewed August 22, 2016

As Hainanese chicken rice are fond of around the world, it's a pleasant to have a chance to savour the original one in China Town, Singapore. The waiting line is not that bad, it takes me only 15-20 minutes to get an order. Hainanese people are very well-known as the best food makers, the original chicken rice here is not disappointed. It's just a lot more oily on both chicken & rice than our Thai style though. Another big difference from Thai's descendant is that the chicken here is served cold.

Date of visit: August 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank DahnW
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (1,460)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

464 - 468 of 1,460 reviews

Reviewed August 21, 2016

It's definitely worth the trip. I personally don't like the rice, nothing wrong with it, but find it a bit dry. I ordered 1/2 chicken and small serve of the rice. One of the best meal I had during my visit.

Despite the long queue, serving was relatively quick and organised.

Date of visit: June 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank bomberseven
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed August 21, 2016 via mobile

The rice is very good, better than the chicken. Can't say if it is better than others shops because this is the only Hainanese chicken rice I had. In terms of chicken dishes in general this one is good. The plate I had only cost $5, really can't complain.

Date of visit: August 2016
Thank JC13542
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed August 19, 2016 via mobile

They're famous for their Hainanese chicken rice (chef and tv personality Anthony Bourdain has been one of the visitors), but I think it's so so.

The food is good, but I might have had high expectations when I visited it last year.

As it's popular and mentioned in a lot of guides, expect long queues.

Date of visit: October 2015
Thank nelis_one
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed August 18, 2016

OMG I am so jealous of the lucky people of Singapore to have such a fantastic dish let alone a fantastic restaurant/stall that can make it so perfectly. I wish I could eat this dish at least twice a week. When we arrived at Maxwell Food Court looking for the stall all we saw was the queue to buy the dish, it was long but in less than 10 minutes we were sitting down to an absolute delicious meal. Obviously the locals know which one to go to as there are two stalls but only one had the queue of about 20-30 people at any given time. The chicken was so moist and succulent and the rice was so flavoursome, you might want to watch out for the chilli paste-it’s bloody hot and I like hot food. Oh man this was so, so good. It was a perfect meal for a perfect day.

Date of visit: August 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Shinboner_18
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travelers who viewed Tian Tian Hainanese Chicken Rice also viewed

 

Been to Tian Tian Hainanese Chicken Rice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in the United States. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.