We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Diamond!!!”
Review of Akanoya

Akanoya
Ranked #1,185 of 10,791 Restaurants in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $100
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighborhood: Orchard Road
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A Diamond!!!”
Reviewed May 17, 2012

Without doubt the best Japanese restaurant in Singapore. Best to book, only about 40 covers but with two chefs per serving table (3 tables) its a memorable experience.
All the fresh produce is laid out in front of you and cooked to order.
Amazing sashimi, great seafood, wagu beef and great selection of sake and soju. I'd recommend this place to anyone!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mikeogles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    25
    6
    2
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Complete sensory experience”
Reviewed April 30, 2012

Firstly, the quality of the produce was faultless. And the food was cooked right in front of your eyes by BBQ chefs. with fresh produce and minimalistic cooking, the result was honest original unadulterated food. The high lights were crab legs, wagyu, and bamboo shoots in season. Tasty they certainly were, even better washed down with copious amount of sake that we shared with the chefs.
The place was noisy, quite like eating in a market place. The price was anything but market place though. All foreign experiences being manmade, and this being in Singapore, the robatayaki experience within the 4 walls of akanoya was as authentic as it could be outside Japan. Yes, it is a place that I would like to return to with family and friends.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PandamaniaSGP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great, if you don't mind cockroaches . . .”
Reviewed April 1, 2012

The food was terrific, if overpriced. 330+ Singaporean Dollars for 2 people - didn't have any idea how much it would cost given the way it works. Food was terrific - all on display in front of you for the cooks to put on the grill. Half way thru the meal was disturbed to see cockroach crawling on the bottles in front of the cook. Tried to tell waitress discretely, but she thought I was trying to order something. Finally, another diner went up to cook and pointed it out - he made a half-hearted, unsuccessful attempt to catch it. The other guy explained to a waiter, and to a manager, none of whom seemed to understand or care. I looked up the word for "cockroach" on iphone and tried to explain. Then, as we were getting ready to leave, a flying ant of some kind, rather large, was crawling on the vegetables - I caught it and took it to a waiter who seemed to instantly understand what was going on as he had a napkin ready to take it. No offer of any compensation to me or the other diners - again, no air of concern whatsoever. We just tried not to think about it but will definitely not go there again.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank subdude57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
32 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Fabulous food, only downside is the price”
Reviewed November 1, 2011

A fun place, fairly rowdy in a fun way, food quality was outstanding. It's a bit overpriced in my opinion. There's no menu with prices for the food that is layed out before you, but I can give some examples from my bill - one lamb chop, SGD$12, one order scallops (a single fairly large scallop in the shell) $22, pork stomach one skewer $8, large shrimp (kuruma ebi) $18 a piece. We ate a lot, two adults & one child total came to over $650. That aside, the preparation was perfect and the foot was extremely tasty. It's a fun place too, very alive. If you dont mind a major hit to your wallet, you'll have a good time and tasty food. Mostly Japanese people were there, a few tourists like ourselves were in the minority.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank someflipster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
indonesia
Level 5 Contributor
37 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Take out the price, this restaurant score perfect for me!!!”
Reviewed October 23, 2011

This is the 5th time I eat here, everytime I come to singapore nowdays, I feel incompleate if I don't eat here. The food is amazing, the way the robatayaki is served is like no where else. I haven't found any restaurant like this yet. And definately not in my country. The taste is great, try the wagyu, pork, fish, king crab.. All very tastefull. Just the price is a bit pricy, but hey, some good food just cost that much :)

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank humblefisherman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Akanoya also viewed

Singapore, Singapore
Singapore, Singapore
 
Singapore, Singapore
Singapore, Singapore
 

Been to Akanoya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing