We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“disappointed!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Fragrance Hotel - Oasis
Ranked #184 of 316 Hotels in Singapore
Reviewed December 27, 2012

My stay with this hotel this time is horrible. The air-con in my room went off automatically for more than 10 times a night (just imagine you have to wake up to on it every 30min!). Despite my complaints on the 2nd morning, the air-con still didn't work well for the next 2 nights. The staff kept apologizing and promised would get it fixed asap but nothing had been done until i left. Very disappointed. Also could hear kids running whole night and early in the morning- some rooms had 4-5 guesses although stated max is 2. No peace, couldn't rest.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank milkasue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlobalPremiumHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Fragrance Hotel - Oasis, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2013

We are sorry to hear that the hotel stay fell short of your expectations this time round. The reason for the air-conditioner failure was due to an unexpected breakdown of the main compressor unit. As the unit can be serviced only with the arrival of the new parts on the following day, we had provided alternatives by advising our affected guests to relocate to our nearby sister outlet, Fragrance Hotel - Classic, which is situated about 80 metres away. We deeply regret for the inconvenience caused as a result of this malfunction and we sincerely apologise for this unforeseen circumstance.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (314)
There are newer reviews for Fragrance Hotel - Oasis
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

175 - 181 of 314 reviews

Reviewed November 29, 2012

If you plan to explore Singapore for the whole day in a short 1 - 4 days trip, this is a recommended hotel. The room is very small but quite comfortable and clean. No refrigerator, TV cable channel, and Free WIFI in the room but the water kettle and hair dryer is provided.

If you're a claustrophobic person, please choose another hotel with a guaranteed reservation for room with windows. All room reservation special requests (windows, twin bed/one bed) based on availability upon check in, even though you made reservation months earlier.

The hotel is located in Balestier Area which is not very far from Lavender MRT. Besides MRT you can always take the bus anywhere since the bus stop is located in front of the hotel. You can check to gothere.sg for bus/train route to explore Singapore. In the area you can always find 24hr convenience stores, restaurants that open till pass midnight too.

II you're a budget traveler with friends, I recommend you to stay here rather than hostel. More comfortable, safety and privacy with more or less the same price.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank jawajawir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2012

A reasonably priced option.

PROS:
- Located a short bus ride ($1.20SGD) away from the Novena subway/MRT station. Bus #21 or #131
- Air conditioned
- Ensuite bathroom
- A variety of convenience stores within walking distance
- Close to a number of restaurants, the best option being the Whampoa Market/Hawker Centre

CONS:
- The room was freakishly small with the bed taking up the entire room
- TV really only has 2-3 working channels

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank o0_cipher_0o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2012

We knew that Fragrance Hotel offers a varriety of room. From big ones to small ones but it didn't really matter since the room was very comfortable. We can barely hear the sounds of the busy streets and it was close to food shops, restaurants, convenience store and just everything we need. We were able to sleep soundly. The front desk employees were friendly. The location was near to every place we visited. Bus stop is in front of the hotel so it's very accessible. There's no free wifi so you need to deal with their internet package. Overall, it was a good small hotel, very comfortable and I would definitely go back someday.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mishiane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2012

I know hotels in Singapore are pricy. But spend a few extra dollars if you can and avoid this one please. Reasons why: the room is small, buts whats worse is the lack of window in most rooms. Very stifling. Also the beds don't have duvets,they have sheets with itchy blanket over. Not comfortable at all. The front desk staff were all pleasant,we didn't ask much but they were always smiling. And the other major downside is shower directly over toilet. Very wet. Very uncomfortable. Position of hotel is convenient in that bus stop is right outside and mrt 1.3KM away, a 10min walk. But in Singapore most places are near a bus stop! I would not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank NKhanfromSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2012

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
3  Thank ManilaSocorro
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed June 1, 2012

Stayed 2 nights in a no-window room at price RM460 (incl GST). There are 3 Fragrance Hotels along Balestier Road and the taxi drivers get very confused with them every time i hired a taxi. Tell them this hotel is opposite the famous Soy Bean shop, or the one near/ same row with famous chicken rice shop Boon Tong Kee.

Neither Novena nor Toa Payoh MRT station is near to this hotel, so you may want to hire a taxi every time you go to the town. There is a bus station right in front of the hotel- but i never know how to read/understand how the system goes.

Taxi from airport to this hotel is around SGD25, and to the flower market at Thompson Road is around SGD4. Going to Bugis Juction or Orchard Road is just few bucks.

Wifi charges: SGD5 for 2 hours, SGD10 for 10 hours, SGD18 for 24 hours.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with window
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank milkasue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Value Hotel Balestier
#178 of 316 in Singapore
657 reviews
Value Hotel Thomson
#203 of 316 in Singapore
1,375 reviews
Joo Chiat
The Fragrance Hotel (Joo Chiat)
The Fragrance Hotel (Joo Chiat)
#156 of 316 in Singapore
374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Joo Chiat
Venue Hotel
Venue Hotel
#125 of 316 in Singapore
470 reviews
Geylang
Fragrance Hotel - Ruby
Fragrance Hotel - Ruby
#123 of 316 in Singapore
822 reviews
Aqueen Hotel Balestier
#120 of 316 in Singapore
364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fragrance Hotel - Oasis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fragrance Hotel - Oasis

Address: 435 Balestier Road, Singapore 329816, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#15 Best Value Hotel in Singapore
Price Range: $47 - $90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Fragrance Hotel - Oasis 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Travelocity, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Fragrance Hotel - Oasis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fragrance Hotel - Oasis Singapore
Fragrance Hotel Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing