We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Budget Hotel with Excellent Location near MRT Lavender”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Fragrance Hotel - Imperial
Ranked #189 of 316 Hotels in Singapore
Reviewed May 28, 2014

We 2 Indian families stayed at Hotel Fragrance Imperial at Lavender Singapore during our short trip in the month of May 2014. Had booked 2 hotel rooms online as they offered good rate of 100 SGD per night for Deluxe AC room which included Breakfast and Taxes. Main reason for selecting this hotel was location.There is compact swimming pool on 4th floor and lift facility which are basic plus points. Though the room size was very small and below expectation (we understand room size is common issue in all budget hotels in Singapore), the location was best and served our purpose as we were out for sight-seeing for all 3 days and visited hotel just for bed and breakfast.They served only 1 item in Indian veg breakfast which they should improve on as lot of people from India visit Singapore. Overall it was good deal and we enjoyed our stay at Hotel Fragrance and will surely visit next time. Regards, Ashish Gujarathi

Room Tip: Insisit for room with window on 4th floor near the pool..
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ashish1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (346)
There are newer reviews for Fragrance Hotel - Imperial
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

137 - 143 of 346 reviews

Reviewed May 26, 2014

I was a bit apprehensive to stay in a budget hotel. Having a Holiday Inn membership card, we would usually stay in this hotel, especially when we travel to HK. "But this is antiseptic Singapore", I thought. So I agreed with my travel agent to stay for 3 days & 2 nights in Fragrance Imperial on Penhas St., about 100 meters away from the Lavender MRT station.
On the day of our arrival, the hotel shuttle left us after we failed to show up on time at the Changing Airport information area. Blame goes to the family, who was just ahead of us in the line to the immigration counter. They did not properly fill up their immigration forms. So we bought Nets FlashPay cards and we took the MRT to the hotel. You can use this card to pay for the MRT, bus, and taxi fare. Just load up the card at the nearest 7-11. Fortunately, Fragrance Imperial is located near the Lavender Station of MRT East-West Line that ends at the Changing Airport.
At the hotel's front desk, we were greeted by an almost all-Filipino hotel staff. They're very friendly, which is very comforting to a tired, hungry, and sleep-deprived traveller. Wifi is 3 Sing dollars for 2hrs and 10 Sing dollars for 24hours. Take the latter, obviously.
The triple room is small. But it is very clean, the hot shower is good, there's a hair dryer, complimentary bottled water which they replenish daily, and the air conditioning is cool. There's a flat screened TV but it has limited channels. The towels are clean and fresh. The bathroom is small but clean. There is no glass enclosure in the shower, instead there is a shower curtain. I wish they would spruce it up with a basic enclosure. And provide foot towels too.
I remember there are 7 set breakfast choices. A set breakfast includes 2 pcs of toast, potato hash, butter & jam, juice & coffee. It's up to you if you would want eggs, sausage, ham, turkey bacon, porridge, noodle soup or cereals to go with the toast and beverage.
Late checkout is at 12:30 but they will allow you to stash your luggage in their holding area if you want to further explore Singapore prior to your departure.
Their front desk officer Lee Aquino, the kind & handsome man blessed with the names of 2 heads of states (Singapore's Lee Kuan Yew and Philippines' Noynoy Aquino), will make your stay better than expected.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank CarminaRomero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2014

hotel is short walk from mrt so its covenient also fewer stops to changi airport. place safe, left my laptop bag at lobby, front staff got it and secured it for me. saved me from great. highly recommended

alex
manila philippines

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank galatep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2014

The place is old and not very clean. Rooms are cramped. There is nothing fragrant about it at all. In fact it did not smell very well, some floors worse than others. Frontdesk staff very friendly and helpful- they are the only reasom I rated this hotel poor instead of terrible. Cafe staff are a nightmare. Seriously you can tell the cafe staff hated their jobs. Food was shocking. Spend a few more and get a proper hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank crank868
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2014

Visited recently and was very impressed with the hospitality. Mark the front desk staff was very professional and other staffs were also extremely friendly. The housekeeping uncle who always handled the 3 Rd floor was very nice and should be given a raise or something. He always would be very considerate in cleaning my room, ie only clean when I'm not in the room or prearrange the cleaning with me.

I would give a 5 star if it was not for the cafe. The staffs in the cafe are very arrogant. The management should look into the staff seriously as I was often bullied by the staff and forced into doing things that I didn't want to. I believe I'm not the only one.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kelvintanme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2014 via mobile

I stayed there during 1-4 May, 2014 and totally it was good. Staffs are so helpful to assist. At first we booked the two single beds but the first night they gave us one big bed. So, at the other two nights, they moved us to the room with two singles. It was a good service.

However, for breakfast, we did not enjoy much as it was not so tasty.

Finally the room is small but clean. Only it doesn't have the window which I prefer to have. Totally it was good.

Stayed: May 2557, traveled with friends
1  Thank Nat S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2014

While staying at the Fragrance Imperial ,I found I felt like I was at home. The staff were very helpful and friendly. Gave us great sightseeing advice , and took an Interest on how we felt about our experiences. Shanti was so welcoming and warm and assisted in our every need.
I would stay with the Fragrance Imperial again. When we first arrived in Singapore we stayed at the V Lavender and did not feel comfortable at all , so we moved to the Fragrance. best thing we did . love the place and Shanti.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank genine75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Fragrance Hotel - Bugis
#170 of 316 in Singapore
437 reviews
Fragrance Hotel - Selegie
#215 of 316 in Singapore
5 reviews
Fragrance Hotel - Rose
#180 of 316 in Singapore
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kampong Glam
Santa Grand Hotel Bugis
Santa Grand Hotel Bugis
#123 of 316 in Singapore
1,011 reviews
Fragrance Hotel - Lavender
#271 of 316 in Singapore
64 reviews
Little India
Sandpiper Hotel Singapore
Sandpiper Hotel Singapore
#154 of 316 in Singapore
267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fragrance Hotel - Imperial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fragrance Hotel - Imperial

Address: 28 Penhas Road, Singapore 208187, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #189 of 316 Hotels in Singapore
Price Range: $75 - $123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Fragrance Hotel - Imperial 3.5*
Number of rooms: 74
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fragrance Hotel - Imperial reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fragrance Hotel - Imperial Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing