We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Ambassador”
Review of Ambassador Hotel

Ambassador Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ambassador Hotel
Ranked #231 of 316 Hotels in Singapore
An Agoda Traveler
Reviewed September 2, 2009

  • Stayed: September 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank An Agoda Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review
Reviews (18)
There are newer reviews for Ambassador Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

9 - 15 of 18 reviews

Reviewed January 2, 2009

Would NOT recommend this hotel. Booked a family room for 140 SGD (Can't believe they would price their rooms as such). Luckily we had not paid as when we got to the room it was without functioning air conditioning (90F), it was dark despite lighting, it had no windows, exposed electrical wiring/cords were noted taped to the walls and it had a very dirty looking bathroom. The front desk staff were very unhelpful and appeared surprised that we may point out these deficits. We were able to walk around the corner to the Parklane hotel which for 40 more SGD were able to find us a room on a Saturday night. Little India itself is a fantastic place.....Post Ambassador hotel all was well.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
5  Thank SalleyW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2008

Hotel is not how i would describe this disgraceful property. It is absolutely filthy, and in need of URGENT refurbishment. The staff are unhelpful , disinterested and appear to regard guests as an intrusion. Our "ROOM" if that is the correct term was tiny, perhaps 5 meters X 3 meters with the bed crammed into a corner to allow access to one side. No table,chair or room to put a suitcase - i refused to hang clothes in the free standing wardrobe. The bathroom was like a galley, my knees were up against the wall while seated on the toilet, had to sit to one side. No ventilation / window in the shower cubicle, which was dirty and smelly. The hot water lasted all of 60 seconds, and there was precious little room to dry yourself with a towel that had holes in it. On returning to the "room" in the evening we were greeted by scurrying cockroaches over an inch long. on close inspection we found other dead ones presumeably dispatched by previous guests. After our first night the TV had no reception, i reported this to staff who advised it was a network problem. A quick visit to the nearby Mustafer center confirmed many different channels working including one of the two provided in our room. A second complaint failed to produce the promised maintenance man and we retired early, bored with little else to do. I rarely if ever use in room mini bars and did not do so here. However on checkout the reception claimed we had used one bottle of water and demanded payment . i refused ! Our stay was during the Singapore Grand Prix and we had little or no choice of hotel. All acceptable establishments either booked out or beyond a resonable budget. Had i not already paid i would have gone back to the airport and spent the night at the AMBASSADOR TRANSIT HOTEL, - a very different proposition.
Travellers beware this Doss house is DISGUSTING ! !

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank pomkitanner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2008

My friend had pre-reserved this hotel from Japan, we turned up at night 3 girls and they turned us away saying the hotel was full but that we could go to their sister hotel - the Aspinal's hotel.
On arrival the place looked like a flea pit! so bad that i requested to see the room before payment.
I wouldn't let an animal stay in that hotel ( I will review the Aspinal and attach picture), surfice to say we left and luckily found a clear new hotel (also in little India) called Hotel 81 - basic but clean and good service.

Pearl, Yoshiko & Yumiko

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank pearlo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Надежда З
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2011
Google Translation

Room Tip: 更にお安いトイレ、シャワー共同の部屋もありますが、こちらは予約が埋まりやすいようですから、早めに予約を入れる方がいいです。
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Down_Town_East
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2010
Google Translation

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zemeuh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Little India
Santa Grand Hotel Little India
Santa Grand Hotel Little India
#166 of 316 in Singapore
335 reviews
Little India
Broadway Hotel Singapore
Broadway Hotel Singapore
#229 of 316 in Singapore
193 reviews
Little India
PARKROYAL on Kitchener Road
PARKROYAL on Kitchener Road
#99 of 316 in Singapore
2,967 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Little India
Hotel 165
Hotel 165
#232 of 316 in Singapore
67 reviews
Classique Hotel
#200 of 316 in Singapore
56 reviews
Little India
Hotel 81 Rochor
Hotel 81 Rochor
#198 of 316 in Singapore
197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ambassador Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambassador Hotel

Address: 75 Desker Road, Singapore 209598, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore > Little India
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #231 of 316 Hotels in Singapore
Price Range: $67 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Ambassador Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Ambassador Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambassador Hotel Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing