We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average”
Review of Din Tai Fung

Din Tai Fung
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Chinese
Restaurant details
Macau, China
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Average”
Reviewed November 28, 2013 via mobile

My parents and i went here out of curiosity because everywhere around singapore this franchise has always been stuffed with people queueing for seating. We ordered pork chop, beef noodle, seafood fried rice, and crabpork-filled-dimsum. The dim sum is overrated, everything else is just.. average, which lead to conclusion that it's too pricy. You can get better tasted exact kind of food with cheaper price at kopitiam or foodrepublic.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank chekalangi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    86
    86
    27
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
156 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Over crowded Over rated!”
Reviewed November 18, 2013

Much like Crystal Jade chain of restaurants, one will always find a queue during peak hours waiting for their seats. The soup dumpling is what makes this restaurant from any others. The rest of the cuisine are average in presentation & taste.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank firefox11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taguig City, Philippines
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Three times in four days!”
Reviewed October 31, 2013

Loved the Truffle Xiao Long Bao. Service wasn't bad, considering it was a Chinese restaurant (and we were brown-skinned, hehehe). It was very good, actually. Very family-friendly! Kids get their own funky plates and utensils, which was cool. Food was impeccable in all three times we were there. My picky 3-year old even said, as we were walking out the restaurant the first time: "I love the food here." For her to say that (and she is the pickiest eater in the world) is something.

Heard the lines at the other DTFs can be long, but this branch in RW Sentosa didn't have the long lines (thank God).

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lizanne886
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Best Dim sum in SG”
Reviewed October 28, 2013

we spent a day on Sentosa island and planed for long time to visit this restaurant.
And we haven't been disappointed... Every thing was excellent... The Dim Sum obviously but also the soup and the bums...
Every thing is prepared on site, just under your eyes.
Make sure you try a bit of every thing they serve...

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gautier75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
47 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Love the dumplings”
Reviewed October 26, 2013

I went to Din Tai Fung in Shanghai years ago and had been wanting to taste their Siao Loong Pao ever since.

We ordered the large basket, 10 pieces, at S$9.80, and it was as great as before. The trick of a making a good dumpling is that the skin must be thin but resilient enough to contain the soup and meat inside. And Din Tai Fung did not disappoint.

You bite a tiny hole to slurp the soup inside and then dip the whole dumpling in the vinegar and ginger sauce. Superb!

We also ordered a chicken soup and another dish of prawns fried with vegetables and taufoo.
Both were also great.

Will not hesitate to go again during my next trip to Singapore.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Josephine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Din Tai Fung also viewed

Sentosa Island, Singapore
Sentosa Island, Singapore
 
Sentosa Island, Singapore
Singapore, Singapore
 
Sentosa Island, Singapore
 

Been to Din Tai Fung? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing