We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb hotel - mediocre dining experience” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of W Singapore Sentosa Cove

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
W Singapore Sentosa Cove
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Sentosa Island
Certificate of Excellence
Switzerland
Level Contributor
120 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Superb hotel - mediocre dining experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2014

We live in Singapore and stayed overnight on a "Staycation". We had one of the suites overlooking the marina. The bedroom, bathroom and sitting room were very spacious and very well appointed. Unlike some of the W hotels I've stayed in, the furniture etc. was funkily attractive and functional! The gym was well equiped and the outdoor pool of a reasonable size and well designed - giving you the sense that you were more on a beach resort than a short distance away from a busy city. The hotel staff were very efficient and friendly. Breakfast was excellent - both in the variety and quality of the food offered.

The let down was the main restaurant, Skirt. In theory this should have been a highlight of the stay and the menus (meals and wine list) and the need to book supported that idea. However, reality was a little disappointing. The vast majority of the wines under 200 SGD/bottle were unavailable and the manager required some encouragement to order some other wine (at 125SGD/bottle) down from the excellent hotel bar upstairs. We both ate steak - it was certainly tasty, but cold and overly dry - not what you'd expect from the high-end price charged.

In terms of location, the architects have ensured there is a real resort feel to the hotel. However, being on the island and in the cove area does mean that you probably add at least 20 min to most journeys into the city's malls and sites versus staying somewhere more central such as Orchard Road, Clarke Quay or Marina Bay Sands. I'd be tempted to stay here and then some other location if in Singapore for a week or so.

Overall though, it was a superb hotel. We will definitely return in a few months but will go to one of the numerous restaurants around the marina. Note to self and others reading, there's clearly a need to book at the local restaurants - probably a function of the relative isolation of the marina, its restaurants and cafes and the numerous condos around Sentosa cove.

Room Tip: Overlooking the marina - a great view and quieter,
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Angliskai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephaneFabregoul, General Manager at W Singapore Sentosa Cove, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Hello Angliskai,
Thank you for your feedback. I am glad to know you had a blissful time here with us! I am especially happy that you found our team to be friendly and cooperative! I will share your comments at Skirt with our Executive Chef. Please feel free to directly approach our chefs for your future visits, as we would like the chance to do it right for you and bring you an enjoyable meal!
Look forward to welcoming you back.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,739 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    947
    457
    185
    76
    74
See reviews for
546
573
45
216
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (374)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
melbourne
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2014

GOOD
The hotel is exciting to look at and is situated in a very chic part of sentosa, lovely boardwalk and great looking restaurants, you will feel like your amongst the rich and famous. Everything is lit up of a night and the hotel appears to be full of life, music pumping and people on the move. It all feels rather glamorous. The rooms are well equipped, the bliss range of bathroom ammenities are awesome, in room coffee with plunger and condensed milk is almost heaven. Now if what I've described is enough for you then don't bother reading on.

BAD
The "wow" of the place is really only skin deep. I'd prefer less quirky statements (whatever whenever) and less light effects and more of return to traditional good old fashioned service. In particular the pool area where service was non existent! Big area, 1 "talent" (staff) who disappears frequently retrieving orders for those who got lucky enough to place them! Don't get me started on the wait for a towel. Ahhhhhh this area needs at least 3 talent.

UGLY
Breakfast theme in one word - COLD. Cold eggs benedict, cold mini omelette, cold bacon, need I go on. This meal is going to cost you a fortune for a family of 3, if it were not included in my room tariff I would have been livid, although thinking about it now I've still paid for it one way or another.
The toast station is run by what I'd call the toast "witch" horrible lady, can't describe just how unpleasant this woman was.

Overall would I stay again? it would have to be a darn good rate special!

Room Tip: Room categories very confusing
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tessymelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephaneFabregoul, General Manager at W Singapore Sentosa Cove, responded to this review, January 12, 2014
Hello Tessymelbourne,
Thank you for your review. I am very sorry and disappointed to know you did not enjoy your stay to its fullest. I will share your comment with my team and we will certainly look into it, especially at the Wet bar and breakfast area. Thank you for letting me know and please be rest assured that this is not our usual W standard and I do hope we can show you our true W service on your next visit.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
203 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2014

We had a week at W. We stayed in a Fabulous room and it was truly fabulous with marina and sea view from the balcony. Huge room and wonderful bathroom. Enjoyed watching the ships from the comfortable day bed on the spacious balcony.

The breakfast array was outstanding, we had a magnificent meal at Skirt, also an enjoyable meal at the Kitchen Table. On our last night we had room service, which was beautifully served.

The holiday was to mark a milestone birthday for me. The hotel sent up a delicious cake. The cocktail vouchers were also appreciated.

There's a whenever/ whatever button on the phone. These people really mean it. Every single request we made was met cheerily and promptly.

I cannot speak highly enough about W. Loved the swim up cocktail bar.

We will definitely be back.

I would also highly recommend the top quality cuisine at nearby Chinese restaurant, The Blue Lotus.

Room Tip: Fabulous rooms are truly fabulous, worth the extra cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lizziebackcourse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephaneFabregoul, General Manager at W Singapore Sentosa Cove, responded to this review, January 12, 2014
Hello Lizziebackcourse
Thank you for your lovely feedback. It is uplifting to know that every aspect of our hotel exceeded your expectations and brought you a memorable stay! Look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2014

Had a memorable time at W last December where I proposed to my girlfriend. We stayed in the Away Room, which was spacious and exclusively located at the Away Spa. The feel of the room was very different from our first stay in the Wonderful Room, which has a trendier room design. We are very impressed with the rooms and the many amenities that come with it. The private plunge pool in the Away Room is a good place for a dip, though the water jet could be a little stronger.

Any review of W would not be complete without heaping praise on their outdoor pool WET. The many floats around the pool is an ideal way to gaze at the stars at night! We also appreciate the fact that the gym and pool are open 24 hrs. It makes it so convenient for guests to explore the hotel and try out the facilities as and when they like.

Dining at W is simply awesome. Skirt is highly recommended if you are into steaks! It was certainly a gastronomical experience for us and we will be back for more.

Service throughout our stay was great and I would like to extend our thanks to Cara who made our stay fuss free and memorable. She was accommodating with our requests and we appreciate her dedication in enhancing the experience of the guests. The staff is professional and exudes warmth when interacting with guests. Would also like to commend Nasil who contributed to our W experience with his friendliness and cheerful personality. Excellent service I believe is one of W's strongest point because we experienced the same quality of service in both stays.

We have many good memories of the hotel and would definitely return to relive the W experience.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jas0nchen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephaneFabregoul, General Manager at W Singapore Sentosa Cove, responded to this review, January 12, 2014
Hello jas0chen,
Thank you for your wonderful review. please be rest assured that Cara and Nasil will be receiving your good words and my recognition as well. I am very pleased to know that you found our team friendly and helpful. We will keep working hard to keep it up! I personally feel that Skirt is one of the best steak houses in Singapore and we are thrilled to hear that you found everything to your liking here. It is definitely a terrific encouragement for us! Thanks again and hope to see you again real soon.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2014 via mobile

Stayed 3 nights and found our room on the 5th floor to be comfortable where there were 2 Queen size beds. The bathroom was a good size without the feeling of being cramped in as with some hotels. The lights however were way too dim and cast shadows which was most unhelpful when trying to apply makeup. Complimentary newspapers are provided upon request and mention could perhaps be made of this at check in. The overall service should be complimented as the staff were very polite and happy to assist, whether it was to quickly send maintenance to fix a faulty phone or housekeeping with extra hangers. The wait staff at The Kitchen Table where we had breakfast were most attentive and the buffet spread was adequate although its selection can definitely be further improved.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Sue C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephaneFabregoul, General Manager at W Singapore Sentosa Cove, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Hello Sue C,
Thank you for your comments. I am glad to know you enjoyed staying here with us! Please accept my apologies for the faulty phone in your room, hopefully it did not spoil too much of your stay here. I will share your comments with my team for improvement.
look forward to welcoming you back.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sentosa Island, Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2014

My fiancé and I stayed at The W Singapore during January 2013 and we thoroughly enjoyed our time at this hotel. Being only just over 1 year old it is clean, fresh and really has the WOW factor. Certainly the highlight of the hotel is the amazing pool!!
We were after a quiet getaway and this hotel being slightly isolated from other parts of Sentosa Island had that feeling. For those wanting to be closer to restaurants, attractions and night life may not necessarily like the location as it is not within easy walking distance. There are free shuttles around the island - thou we found that they perhaps could run a little more frequently that they currently do. We did get a taxi from the hotel to the resorts world (universal studio, aquarium, casino) and this cost just under $15 Singapore dollars - so this is another option.
The staff are all very friendly and welcoming at this hotel as you would expect for a 5 star hotel.
Our only issue with this hotel was on 2 occasions we requested our room be serviced in the afternoon and it wasn't done. On the second occasion it took 1 phone call and two face-to-face presentation to the staff in the lobby till the room finally got serviced. The room was finally ready by 7pm which seemed quite late - we noticed that the housekeeping seemed to still be making rooms up late in the after (like 6pm) which we found quite odd for a five star hotel - perhaps they need more house keeping staff?? We were given a free drink at the bar on the second occasion as we waited for the room to be serviced which was nice.
Never the less - we really enjoyed staying at this hotel and everything was amazing from room service, staff, spa and gym facilities and pool to the large buffet selection in the mornings for breakfast.
Definitely staying here again!!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Harry12389
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephaneFabregoul, General Manager at W Singapore Sentosa Cove, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Hello Harry 12389,
Thank you for your lovely review. Glad to know that you were Wowed by us! Hearing that you found our team friendly and responsive is the best compliment we could ever ask for. Have no doubt that my team will definitely hear your good words.
Last but not least, apologies for the late check in as we were running very high occupancy during your last stay. We were unable to make up the rooms on time, as some of our departing guests checked out later than the official time.
Thank you for your understanding in advance and hope to see you again soon.
Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2014

The 2-night stay was meant to celebrate our anniversary so I wrote in earlier to make some arrangements to ensure that we have the best of time. The reservation team was very polite and prompt in their reply. As far as possible, they try to accede to my requests.

Front desk staff is equally friendly and warmth. Checking in was quick. True to their service standards, whatever the reservation team can promise was materialised when we enter the room. As we had booked a Fabulous room, the view is fantastic - we can see the pool, the sea as well as the marina. Chamber maids and chamber men greeted us along the corridor. Down to the F&B staff at the kitchen table, the same friendly standards were also experienced.

Overall, W Hotel Sentosa Cove gave us a wonderful experience. From the chic designs of the hotel rooms, lobby, and furniture, to the person-to-person friendly interaction, it is certainly a place to go to wind down and an escape from the busy city life of Singapore.

Room Tip: Choose W Hotel Sentosa Cove if you do not mind its location as it is far from the Sentosa attraction...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank melvinhgf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephaneFabregoul, General Manager at W Singapore Sentosa Cove, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Hello Melvinhgf,
Thank you very much for your lovely review. There is nothing more rewarding than knowing you as a guest had such an amazing stay here with us! Do hope to welcome you again in real soon!
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sentosa Island
Hard Rock Hotel Singapore
#9 of 13 in Sentosa Island
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,921 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marina Bay
Marina Bay Sands
Marina Bay Sands
#33 of 309 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 20,726 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to W Singapore Sentosa Cove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W Singapore Sentosa Cove

Property: W Singapore Sentosa Cove
Address: 21 Ocean Way, Sentosa Island 098374, Singapore
Phone Number:
Location: Singapore > Sentosa Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Sentosa Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — W Singapore Sentosa Cove 5*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on a resort island with sparkling sea views, W Singapore - Sentosa Cove is Asia's new tropical playground and the perfect destination to sip, play and flirt. An oasis of modern luxury for discerning business travellers, vivacious staycationers and sophisticated globetrotters. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Starwood APAC, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your W Singapore Sentosa Cove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing