We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Underwhelmed” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of W Singapore Sentosa Cove

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
W Singapore Sentosa Cove
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Sentosa Island
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Underwhelmed”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012 via mobile

Underwhelmed

Having stayed in W Taipei and W Paris earlier, frankly the expectations were high on this one.

But...this property just lack the magic. It tries hard to be cool and chic but sometimes good taste and cheap is a very fine line and I am sorry to say Singapore just doesn't make it.

The furnishings are low grade. The colour scheme is horrible. The jacuzzi didn't work...and bits off the tub were already falling off. It is already starting to look dated. If I compare this to the Fabulous Suite I stayed in W Taipei which was similarly size and priced....that had a far better view, the tub was a slab of marble and all the finishings were nicer including the nice and very functional toto toilets.

The hotel has just been opened for a week and I can forgive the many teething issues. Food ordering at the pool took 45 minutes. Room service took 30 plus minutes and the food was lukewarm when arrived. Request for missing pair of slippers took 40 minutes. Asked to fix the light in the bathroom...no one came. The champagne that came with the package did not arrive until 945pm after again a 40 minutes wait...which I was told should arrive in the afternoon without the need for me to call.

I booked the Marvelous Suite; was expecting the L shape balcony as per the description but no...the room had only the normal balcony and the light was poor. Tip - avoid the marvelous suites with room number ending in 21...eg 321,421,521...requested for a change to the "02" which was much much better.

Food was okay....Tried the Skirt...nothing special. Breakfast was decent and staff there eager to please. Food at the pool was crap and expensive.

Location is a pain if u plan to go out anywhere. Taxis were scarce and there is nothing nearby.

Even at check out...the bill was wrong...all the stuff that was suppose to come with the package (breakfast...airport transfer....complimentary drinks) were all charged.

Oh W I expected so much better!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cheuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,739 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    947
    457
    185
    76
    74
See reviews for
546
573
45
216
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (374)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
singapore
Level Contributor
44 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

We stayed at this brand new (1 week old) W Hotel in Sentosa in preference to our usual Capella Hotel for our annual retreat....wish we hadn't now! We'd been upgraded to one of the ground floor rooms with its own plunge pool so we were expecting something nice... So where do I start....actually finding our way to the room was a problem...I was told to go to Level 1 to find my room but on level 1, there was a spa, a gym, a business centre and a glass door to go out to the swimming pool..no signages at all to say where the rooms were. What was worse was that the people working there didn;t know either!. Eventually a helpful employee disappeared for 5 minutes and then returned to say that the room was IN the spa!!
You know how you go "WOW!" when you walk into a truly nice room? Well we went "WOW!" last year at the Capella but when we stepped foot into this room at the W....it was like...er..this is special? felt like a damp squib...the room looked a litle like a hostel room with fancy light fittings. First problem encountered was that the wardrobe doors opened in a weird sliding manner and cos it was stiff, took me ages to open it. The sliding glass doors to the patio and pool had such a tight locking mechanism that embarrassingly, we had to call maintenance to fix it. The airconditioning was not working and the neither was the fancy concealed TV in the bathroom. Called maintenance who came and said I needed a special remote for the TV, then brought the wrong one and I had to wait for another..when they finally brought the correct one, they still couldn;t get the TV to work and finally confessed that the wiring was a problem and they couldn't fix it. They said the aircon would be OK after they fixed it but it still wasn;t.
As I had a business meeting at 4pm, I told them to fix the TV and Aircon while I was out from 4-7pm...of course it wasn;t done by the time I got back and I had to call them yet again to come and fix it. Finally Aircon fixed at 8pm and TV still not fixable. Oh...and a request for sandwiches and snacks for our small buisness meeting of 5pax was met with a 'Not possible' and we were asked to make do with biscuits.
Finally, the water pressure in the showers was poor. Oh..and one more thing...there isn;t a desk where you can sit at to work on your laptop...
There was an attempt at service recovery by a nice lady who was unable to change us to another room and gave us 2 bars of chocolate...
Well, there were a few nice things...the internet worked well and easily and was free, the staff in the breakfast area were enthusiastic and the bikes for riding around sentosa cove were nice. Lots of nice art around too
To be fair to the W, it was brand new but we shouldn't really be asked to pay for and 'beta' test a new hotel...I think it was form over function....

Room Tip: Don't take the ground floor rooms with the plunge pool unless you get it for no extra charge...a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wbsailor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
37 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights rather than at our usual hotel in Marina due to the GP road closures . Pool and general location are brilliant. If you accept the W " style" then its very good indeed. BUT the breakfast was bizarre - they run a fixed price breakfast buffet for Friday through to Sunday at SGD 68 ++ ! when all we wanted was a piece of toast and some fruit. The justification was they are overrun and the chefs cant cope - given they have only been open for 4 days this was puzzling and frustrating. The rooms were spacious and very quiet which was pleasing but what was dissapointing was to find the vanity unit in the bathroom was stained and marked. Given the useage these rooms will have this doesnt auger well and i am sure that such poor quality fixtures will always give you the feeling of cheap anmd nasty fitouts when the rest of the property didnt have that feel.

Room Tip: ask them to clean the bathrooms well and maybe scrub out the vanoty before you arrive!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maddie1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
30 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2012

We decided to avoid the city during the formula 1 weekend in Singapore, so we picked W Sentosa Cove where is rather isolated from the main island. If you are trying to get away from the hassel-buzzel of city life, this is the place to be. The hotel has just opened less than a week so there are still some last minute work going on, some of the facilities were not fully operational yet when we got here.

The room is spacious, which is a luxury in the space-restrained Singapore. And of course it has hip design that you can expect from W Hotel brand. The pillows were too soft and had no support, if you can look into that and change to better feather pillows, the room would have been awesome.

We booked an Away room but it was not ready so they upgraded us to a suite, much to our disappointment because we really wanted our own plunge pool. However the swimming pool at W will probably made up the disappointment we faced, the staff Sarimah at WET was all smiles and helpful. And if you want to meet W's version of RAIN (no kidding that's his real name), go to the WET bar and you'll find him there happily mixing your cocktail.

We had dinner at Skirt, food was truly delicious, don't forget save some space for desert. Yanti, our server did well recommending the dishes and all staff at Skirt were very polite and attentive. I must point out that the ventilation of the restaurant gets worse as more orders come in, we were initially seated by the grill but it was too hot so we requested to move. The cooking or grilling should be done elsewhere to cut down the smoke and smell. We came out smelling like grill.

Since it is a brand new hotel, I suppose the staff did all they can to compensate for what is not functioning. I have no doubt it can only get better if they fixed all the renovation issues and hire more staffs for to cater for expanding crowd. Can't wait for the next opportunity to stay at this hotel and hopefully in the Away room we did not get to stay.

Room Tip: The room facing the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Per5ephone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2012

Despite I arrived the opening day, all went smoothly and professionaly: efficient check in, upgrade, staff is always smiling, welcoming and friendly with the unique w touch!. The room is large, well appointed and perfectly clean. Room service is rapid too. The swimming pool is huge, clean, and you can really swim not only plounge.
Woo bar serves great cocktails, perfect music at night.
Wet bar serves refreshing fruit cocktails directly in the pool and the staff ( like to mention Mrs. Sarima) is efficient, smiling and friendly.
One minor notice: AC system in the room is noisy also at low power level.
W hotel Singapore: a relaxing oasis on Sentosa Islanad , not far from the city, to enjoy the luxury and welcoming style made of Singapore.

Room Tip: Pool view is a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank marco c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2012

Stayed there for 2N at W Sentosa Cove on its grand opening with my wife and our toddler.

The hotel looks surprising bright as compared to other W Hotels like W Hong Kong. It was pretty well-designed and spacious. Quite like the peacefulness around the cove area and pool area is great.

On the other hand, as expected on its 1st day of operation, glitches and on-going renovation works were noticeable.

Though its was in its 1st day of operation, we were told to wait till 3pm to check-in as our room was still not ready when we arrived at about 2pm. Front-desk crew was busy trying to process our booking and also forgotten to mention anything about our complimentary WiFi access code, Cocktail for two at Woo Bar, Sentosa Island pass, which were listed in our package.

Besides that, we were having a hard time opening the wardrobe sliding doors (probably it was not seasoned), adjusting the tv volume (still didn't manage figure out), getting very slow response to have a baby cot bed (highlighted in our booking and during check-in) and another set of toiletries (after 2 calls to Whenever/Whatever and about 2 hours of waiting).

Our morning breakfast at Kitchen Table were good with decent selections of fresh-cooked food (though you may have to wait a while esp for dim sum and noodle). While we were enjoying our breakfast outdoor, we were irritated by some presistent flies and a guy who was unaware that smoking is prohibited in the restaurant.

The one-way shuttle service from W to RWS, Vivo City and ION looks weird too. The whole journey is about 1 hour. Private transport is more desirable.

As a fan of W, I hope that W Sentosa Cove will improve and give us the real "Wow" soon.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dragonballz96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2012

Now it might be we just got unlucky having decided to stay on opening weekend but for all the hype this is very disappointing. The hotel itself is vey isolated and without a car your options are very limited - there is an hourly shuttle (except not every hour) that will take you to 3 other locations, but is 1 way only, there is nowhere to walk to and currently taxi drivers have never heard of it ( although this will change). Luggage took 30 mins and 3 phone calls to arrive in room - great after a 15 hour flight! Room is over engineered, needed assistance to work out tv and even shower! If you like pink ambiance lighting and butterflies then its great, air con is noisy but essential, bed pillows long with no support. Restaurant trying hard but staff very inexperienced and food distinctly mediocre for the price. Needed to wash hands after dinner due to oxidising stains from cutlery - again looked good but not fit for purpose. No concierge facility, but again very eager staff who smile all the time but generally not effective - no taxi at time ordered. So on balance all looks and no substance would be our summary - avoid if you desire a truly 5 star hotel experience.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
7 Thank Ana C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephaneFabregoul, 總經理 at W Singapore Sentosa Cove, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Hi Ana,
First of all we would like to thank you for taking the time to write this review. Guests’ comments are very important to us, especially at this stage, only 3 days since we’ve opened. Your suggestion tells us immediately we have a lot to improve and a long way to meet a wonderful guest’s expectation. Indeed, we are sorry of what you have gone through.

The transportation issue you have experienced, we will adjust the shuttle schedule and route in order to accommodate majority of guests’ needs, and yes, we have held various events in terms of publicizing our hotel’s location to the taxi drivers. More effort will be take in action to ensure the wide known of our property among taxi’s.

All the matters encountered during your stay, are all addressed to each departments and under discussion for revisions. We understand the frustration you have had. However, we still hope we can see you one day back in our hotel to see our changes after your feedback. And you’d notice, we take your suggestion seriously, because it does mean a lot to us.

All the best,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sentosa Island
Hard Rock Hotel Singapore
#9 of 13 in Sentosa Island
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,921 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marina Bay
Marina Bay Sands
Marina Bay Sands
#33 of 309 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 20,724 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to W Singapore Sentosa Cove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W Singapore Sentosa Cove

Property: W Singapore Sentosa Cove
Address: 21 Ocean Way, Sentosa Island 098374, Singapore
Phone Number:
Location: Singapore > Sentosa Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Sentosa Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — W Singapore Sentosa Cove 5*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on a resort island with sparkling sea views, W Singapore - Sentosa Cove is Asia's new tropical playground and the perfect destination to sip, play and flirt. An oasis of modern luxury for discerning business travellers, vivacious staycationers and sophisticated globetrotters. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Starwood APAC, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your W Singapore Sentosa Cove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing