We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Great for families, singles go downtown” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sofitel Singapore Sentosa Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sofitel Singapore Sentosa Resort & Spa
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Sentosa Island
Certificate of Excellence
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
62 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great for families, singles go downtown”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2014 via mobile

This hotel is a bit pricey. The rooms are very nice and with free WiFi it's a nice family hotel. The pool is rundown. Our room ac was set to 21C but I'm sure it didn't get down there until after nightfall. Breakfast caters to Chinese, as most guests are from China. There is a wide variety of different foods so no one will go hungry. The hotel is the farthest from the city. Sentosa has great free bus service on Sentosa Island

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_VincentLelay, General Manager at Sofitel Singapore Sentosa Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 3, 2014
Dear John P,

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. Please be informed that we will soon be renovating the entire resort to offer better facilities and services to our guests. The resort will then be rebranded as a Sofitel property.

Besides the complimentary Sentosa buses that bring guests around the island, our hotel also provides complimentary two-way shuttle buses every 30min from the hotel to VivoCity Shopping Centre / Harbourfront MRT. In addition, a two-way shuttle bus from the hotel to Orchard Road is available every 2 hours.

We look forward to have you and your partner back at our resort at your next visit to Singapore.

Warmest regards,
Vincent Lelay
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,215 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    708
    317
    101
    42
    47
See reviews for
458
425
47
93
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2014

Location wise the resort is well connected to the shuttle buses where we can explore sentosa.There are peacocks,hens and chicks which roam around the resort grounds with pride is a sight of joy.The wellness ends here,the resort bears a tired look and service is not up to the mark.The buffet breakfast is very well laid with food suitable for every palate,but we found the lunch and dinner a la carte to be very disappointing,the restaurants also close very early at night,that you have to settle to room service(not much choices) after a tiring day exploring singapore.The rooms are modern but cramped,the views from the room are not great.Improvements should definitely be made from service to dining facilities.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Prashanth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_VincentLelay, General Manager at Sofitel Singapore Sentosa Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 3, 2014
Dear Prashanth S,

Thank you for sharing your feedback on your recent stay with us. The resort will soon be undergoing refurbishment in the upcoming months to rejuvenate the entire property. We will also continually send our ambassadors for training to upgrade themselves.

We look forward to welcome you and your partner back to The Singapore Resort & Spa Sentosa in the near future.

Warmest regards,
Vincent Lelay
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
104 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2014

This is an average hotel in need of some renovations. The rooms are tired with the furniture damaged and the beds rock hard. The bathrooms are not cleaned daily and the hotel generally could do with a good clean. The breakfast is varied and good with sea views from the restaurant. The shuttle bus to the nearest MRT runs reliably making this hotel a good location away from the hustle and bustle of Singapore. The shuttle will also drop you off at Universal studios. If you want a hotel to come and go but not spend a lot of time at, it is a good option for Singapore.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pilotcoupleBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_VincentLelay, General Manager at Sofitel Singapore Sentosa Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Dear pilotcoupleBrisbane,

Thank you for your comment. Refurbishment of the resort will start in the upcoming months to spruce up the entire property. Indeed, our 2-way shuttle buses available every 30min offer guests the convenience of going to VivoCity and Universal Studios. There is also another shuttle bus that brings you to Orchard Road every 2 hours.

We look forward to welcome you and your family back with a rejuvenated look next year.

Warmest regards,
Vincent Lelay
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HongKong
Level Contributor
97 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2014

I've stayed here at least 5 times over the past 14 years through several name changes too! It's got some lovely plus points, such as "resort" feel but close to central Singapore and attractions of Sentosa, free roaming peacocks are great, my 2 year old loved them! Nice pool and staff on the most part are great. Super live singer on Saturday night as well. Downsides are, breakfast quite frankly is sub par for 3* resort let alone a 5*. I've stayed in multiple Singapore 5* hotels and this was the worst by some margin. Annoying as am trying to wean my family off big brand names on to more boutique resorts and this doesn't help my cause! Rooms are adequate but very tired now and in need of refreshing as are the bathrooms. TV....child proof but also almost adult proof. Seriously, the controls on 2 remote controls are ludicrous! Housekeeping, we requested a room clean at 11ish but even when we returned at 2.30pm nothing had been done. Complained and response was pretty standard. Overall I really wanted to love this place again and hoped my family would too but it falls short in too many ways to warrant another visit.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MatthewC655
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_VincentLelay, General Manager at Sofitel Singapore Sentosa Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Dear MatthewC655,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback which we take very seriously.

Firstly, we apologise for the inconvenience caused by our Housekeeping team. The resort will soon be undergoing refurbishment throughout the property and we can't wait to present our guests with a rejuvenated look! I will also look at the breakfast offering with my culinary team.

We hope you will still give this resort another chance and choose to stay with us again when you next visit Singapore.

Warmest regards,
Vincent Lelay
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2014

Nice setting, nice rooms and nice pool area. Service needs some fine tuning. Our room was not ready when we arrived (had to wait until 340pm). English not well spoken by staff. Beds quite hard. Bathroom was nice.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank A T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_VincentLelay, General Manager at Sofitel Singapore Sentosa Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Dear A T,

Thank you for your feedback. We apologise for the inconvenience caused and will continue to work on improving our service standards.

We hope to welcome you and your family back at our resort when you visit Singapore again.

Warmest regards,
Vincent Lelay
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2014

On arrival, the lobby was busy and HOT!

We had 2 connecting rooms and shared bathroom. Rooms were nice.
As you open your front door it leads directly into the smelly toilet. Constant funky aromas arose from the toilet drain. Not nice.

Pool was lovely warm and spacious. Don't order cocktails though... You'll need a bank loan. 3 cocktails cost $77SGD++. Do order the club sandwich- You can share between 2.

Grounds are lovely and good access to Palawan beach.

Buffet breakfasts were good. Needs 2 live-station cooks though. The poor chefs were being slammed every morning with hoards of demanding guests.

Food at The Pavilion was atrocious. The waiting staff were slow and not trained. Crab cakes were delivered cold in the middle (obviously pre-frozen). Pizzas also, looked as though they were frozen and thrown in the oven.

This hotel seemed very tired and desperately in need of some money to bring it up to the 5 star standard which we expected.

Concierge staff need training- It seems their memories are relied upon for processing guest requests... Not good practice. Our 2 requests for transport were forgotten and we were left waiting (TWICE)! Although, Shakur gave us a great bar/restaurant recommendation.

Would I stay here again- Maybe, if they upgraded pretty much everything and hired new chefs and overhauled the menus. and don't increase their prices.

Room Tip: Book early to secure the 2 inter-connecting rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_VincentLelay, General Manager at Sofitel Singapore Sentosa Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Dear Angela B,

We appreciate you taking the time to share with us your feedback. I am disappointed to know of our service lapse which should not have happened. I have shared your comments with my team and we will be investigating on the areas you've mentioned to ensure this does not happen again.

Renovations for the resort will be happening very soon to spruce up the entire property in phases. We hope you will give us another chance and choose to stay with us again in the future.

Warmest regards,
Vincent Lelay
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
105 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2014 via mobile

The design of the room is really stylish especially the bathroom.

Ask for a ground floor room to be able to see the free roaming peacocks while enjoying a cup of coffee in the comfort of your room.

Location is near tanjong beach( just down a flight of stairs).

Only down side is the relatively high price and also some parts of the hotel( like the lift) is old and need some renovation.

However, the good location on sentosa island plus the stylish rooms and relax and tranquil surroundings make my stay an enjoyable one.

Recommended.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sun_TT1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_VincentLelay, General Manager at Sofitel Singapore Sentosa Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Dear Sun_TT1990,

Thank you for the lovely feedback. I am happy to know you have enjoyed your stay at our beautiful resort that is so close to nature. We will be undergoing renovations for our resort very soon and look forward to serving you again during your next staycation.

Warmest regards,
Vincent Lelay
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sentosa Island
1.5 mi away
Shangri-La's Rasa Sentosa Resort & Spa
1.0 mi away
W Singapore Sentosa Cove
W Singapore Sentosa Cove
#4 of 13 in Sentosa Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,634 reviews
1.1 mi away
Resorts World Sentosa - Equarius Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Resorts World Sentosa - Hard Rock Hotel Singapore
0.9 mi away
Resorts World Sentosa - Festive Hotel
2.9 mi away
Sofitel So Singapore
Sofitel So Singapore
#26 of 309 in Singapore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Singapore Sentosa Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Singapore Sentosa Resort & Spa

Property: Sofitel Singapore Sentosa Resort & Spa
Address: 2 Bukit Manis Road, Sentosa Island 099891, Singapore (Formerly The Singapore Resort & Spa Sentosa, Managed by Accor)
Location: Singapore > Sentosa Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Sentosa Island
#2 Luxury Hotel in Sentosa Island
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Sentosa Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Singapore Sentosa Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Singapore Sentosa Resort & Spa is the newest French luxury 5-star resort hotel on Singapore's favourite island. Situated at the top of a cliff rising above Tanjong Beach, it is a haven of tranquility and relaxation blessed with stunning views of sunsets over the horizon. Greeting guests upon arrival in the lobby is a dazzling bespoke lighting installation inspired by the Milky Way hanging from the lofty ceiling. The entire property is cosseted in lush tropical greenery and overlooks the South China Sea. The 215-room hotel includes luxury rooms, suites and villas, and offers an array of delectable cuisines from around the world at its various F&B establishments. Facilities include indoor and outdoor event spaces, a state-of-the-art gym, children's playroom, complimentary internet access and shuttle services. Completing the experience for guests is a spacious swimming pool deck and the world's largest Sofitel Signature So SPA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, ACCOR, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Ctrip TA, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Sofitel Singapore Sentosa Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sentosa Resort And Spa
The Sentosa Hotel Sentosa Island
The Sentosa Island Hotel
The Hotel Sentosa Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing