We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Service needs fine tuning” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel Singapore Sentosa Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sofitel Singapore Sentosa Resort & Spa
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Sentosa Island
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
1 review
“Service needs fine tuning”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

Nice setting, nice rooms and nice pool area. Service needs some fine tuning. Our room was not ready when we arrived (had to wait until 340pm). English not well spoken by staff. Beds quite hard. Bathroom was nice.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank A T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_VincentLelay, General Manager at Sofitel Singapore Sentosa Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Dear A T,

Thank you for your feedback. We apologise for the inconvenience caused and will continue to work on improving our service standards.

We hope to welcome you and your family back at our resort when you visit Singapore again.

Warmest regards,
Vincent Lelay
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,092 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    613
    302
    93
    39
    45
See reviews for
414
383
34
84
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

On arrival, the lobby was busy and HOT!

We had 2 connecting rooms and shared bathroom. Rooms were nice.
As you open your front door it leads directly into the smelly toilet. Constant funky aromas arose from the toilet drain. Not nice.

Pool was lovely warm and spacious. Don't order cocktails though... You'll need a bank loan. 3 cocktails cost $77SGD++. Do order the club sandwich- You can share between 2.

Grounds are lovely and good access to Palawan beach.

Buffet breakfasts were good. Needs 2 live-station cooks though. The poor chefs were being slammed every morning with hoards of demanding guests.

Food at The Pavilion was atrocious. The waiting staff were slow and not trained. Crab cakes were delivered cold in the middle (obviously pre-frozen). Pizzas also, looked as though they were frozen and thrown in the oven.

This hotel seemed very tired and desperately in need of some money to bring it up to the 5 star standard which we expected.

Concierge staff need training- It seems their memories are relied upon for processing guest requests... Not good practice. Our 2 requests for transport were forgotten and we were left waiting (TWICE)! Although, Shakur gave us a great bar/restaurant recommendation.

Would I stay here again- Maybe, if they upgraded pretty much everything and hired new chefs and overhauled the menus. and don't increase their prices.

Room Tip: Book early to secure the 2 inter-connecting rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_VincentLelay, General Manager at Sofitel Singapore Sentosa Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Dear Angela B,

We appreciate you taking the time to share with us your feedback. I am disappointed to know of our service lapse which should not have happened. I have shared your comments with my team and we will be investigating on the areas you've mentioned to ensure this does not happen again.

Renovations for the resort will be happening very soon to spruce up the entire property in phases. We hope you will give us another chance and choose to stay with us again in the future.

Warmest regards,
Vincent Lelay
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
104 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014 via mobile

The design of the room is really stylish especially the bathroom.

Ask for a ground floor room to be able to see the free roaming peacocks while enjoying a cup of coffee in the comfort of your room.

Location is near tanjong beach( just down a flight of stairs).

Only down side is the relatively high price and also some parts of the hotel( like the lift) is old and need some renovation.

However, the good location on sentosa island plus the stylish rooms and relax and tranquil surroundings make my stay an enjoyable one.

Recommended.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sun_TT1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_VincentLelay, General Manager at Sofitel Singapore Sentosa Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Dear Sun_TT1990,

Thank you for the lovely feedback. I am happy to know you have enjoyed your stay at our beautiful resort that is so close to nature. We will be undergoing renovations for our resort very soon and look forward to serving you again during your next staycation.

Warmest regards,
Vincent Lelay
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights prior to leaving for Europe. The grounds and the rooms were beautiful. We also loved having the Australia Network to watch the footy. The service was patchy though. Staff were friendly but often slow to respond to requests and the concierge staff never gave us maps to help show where we needed to go or wrote down the names of places the suggested

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_VincentLelay, General Manager at Sofitel Singapore Sentosa Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Dear Lisa B,

Thank you for sharing with us your review on your recent stay at The Singapore Resort & Spa Sentosa. We will work on improving our service standards and sending our staff for retraining.

We hope you will continue to stay with us at your next visit to Singapore.

Warmest regards,
Vincent Lelay
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

It was a nice and quiet stay, probably it was weekdays. There wasn't much people and check in was fast. The room is big but the furnishing is quite old. Looks the same as many years back when i last stayed in this resort. It will be good if there is some brochures for Sentosa or hotel information/directory provided in the room, all we have is the in room dining menu.

The air con in the room was noisy and the tv wasn't working. The technician came over very quickly to fix it eventhough it was already 10pm but the person who answered the call earlier was quite sarcastic asking if we know how to use the remote controls. I think the resort should do something about their tv system in the room, since it's confusing for guests to use their 2 remote controls for tv and i saw past reviews many people feedback about the tv in the room.

The hair dryer in the toilet was not working too. But I like the bath toiletries provided, it's has nicest scent among all the hotels that i had stayed before. I would suggest not to put the bar soap inside the shower area. Not everyone use that and the shower water spoil the soap wrapper, so it's a waste to throw away even when not used. Furthermore the cleaner didn't replace the soap that is why i can tell that it's left from the previous occupant.

The resort provides shuttle service to Vivocity which is very convenient as we can get out of Sentosa for meals. To get to the beach is a walk of around 100 steps down the stairs, walking back up to the resort can be quite tiring.

The buffet breakfast in the resort quite standard and I feel it's not worth to pay $35++ per pax. Luckily we have the accor card which entitled us to 50% discount, else I would rather take the shuttle bus out to Vivocity to have breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chocoraisin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_VincentLelay, General Manager at Sofitel Singapore Sentosa Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Dear Chocoraisin,

Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay with us. The resort will be undergoing refurbishment in the coming months throughout the property. We do apologise for the inconvenience caused as a result of the equipments that were not working. However, we are glad you have enjoyed your stay and like our Lanvin bath toiletries.

Once again, we thank you for your comments and for being a supporter of Accor Hotels. We look forward to having you back with us again at The Singapore Resort & Spa Sentosa.

Warmest regards,
Vincent Lelay
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

We stayed at the resort in July, the staff were lovely and the grounds and pool beautiful. The only negative and it was a large one for us, was the pricing of the food and drinks. We paid $37 SD for a bourban with soda and a rum and coke. Unneccesary pricing as far as we could see, we knew Singapore would be expensive but this and the restaurant pricing seemed extreme. We had planned on total relaxation and not leaving the resort but ended up emptying the mini bar and filling it with food and drinks bought from the shopping centre. Having said that as mentioned above, the staff were lovely. Rooms were a good size, shuttle service very handy. So we would recommend the resort, but either save up to enjoy the food and drinks or be prepared to stock the bar fridge.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DavKez5566
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_VincentLelay, General Manager at Sofitel Singapore Sentosa Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Dear DavKez5566,

Thank you for sharing your review on TripAdvisor. We are blessed with expansive lush greenery at our resort with a beautiful swimming pool.

We hope you will continue to stay with us when you visit Singapore the next time.

Warmest regards,
Vincent Lelay
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014 via mobile

So convenient, short taxi ride from airport, lovely staff, great relaxing resort with big pool and massage/ spa.
Have breakfast at golf club 2 mn walk down the road.
Maybe a little too many noisy Australians on our last visit!

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Harry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_VincentLelay, General Manager at Sofitel Singapore Sentosa Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Dear Harry H,

Thank you for your comment and for choosing to stay with us again!

I am happy you have enjoyed another stay with us and look forward to welcome you back at your next visit to Singapore.

Warmest regards,
Vincent Lelay
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sentosa Island hotels
1.5 mi away
Shangri-La's Rasa Sentosa Resort & Spa
1.0 mi away
W Singapore Sentosa Cove
W Singapore Sentosa Cove
#4 of 13 in Sentosa Island
4.0 of 5 stars 1,561 reviews
1.1 mi away
Resorts World Sentosa - Equarius Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Resorts World Sentosa - Hard Rock Hotel Singapore
0.9 mi away
Resorts World Sentosa - Festive Hotel
0.8 mi away
Resorts World Sentosa - Hotel Michael
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Singapore Sentosa Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Singapore Sentosa Resort & Spa

Property: Sofitel Singapore Sentosa Resort & Spa
Address: 2 Bukit Manis Road, Sentosa Island 099891, Singapore (Formerly The Singapore Resort & Spa Sentosa, Managed by Accor)
Location: Singapore > Sentosa Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Sentosa Island
#3 Luxury Hotel in Sentosa Island
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Sentosa Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Singapore Sentosa Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Singapore Sentosa Resort & Spa is the newest French luxury 5-star resort hotel on Singapore's favourite island. Situated at the top of a cliff rising above Tanjong Beach, it is a haven of tranquility and relaxation blessed with stunning views of sunsets over the horizon. Greeting guests upon arrival in the lobby is a dazzling bespoke lighting installation inspired by the Milky Way hanging from the lofty ceiling. The entire property is cosseted in lush tropical greenery and overlooks the South China Sea. The 215-room hotel includes luxury rooms, suites and villas, and offers an array of delectable cuisines from around the world at its various F&B establishments. Facilities include indoor and outdoor event spaces, a state-of-the-art gym, children's playroom, complimentary internet access and shuttle services. Completing the experience for guests is a spacious swimming pool deck and the world's largest Sofitel Signature So SPA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, ACCOR, Ctrip TA and Jetsetter so you can book your Sofitel Singapore Sentosa Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sentosa Resort And Spa
The Sentosa Hotel Sentosa Island
The Sentosa Island Hotel
The Hotel Sentosa Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing