We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Pleasant stopover in Singapore” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel Singapore Sentosa Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sofitel Singapore Sentosa Resort & Spa
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Sentosa Island
Certificate of Excellence
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Pleasant stopover in Singapore”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

We have enjoyed our stay here. There are some things that could be improved though. We found the restaurant expensive for what you got. I recommend going out for lunch and dinner as there is better value in town and it's not hard to get there. The rooms were very good though. The service was inconsistent. Some staff very helpful and others not as helpful. Sometimes the directions from concierge weren't clear - no maps given and highlighted to make it easy to follow. That said the hotel was very good overall.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LBNA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_VincentLelay, General Manager at Sofitel Singapore Sentosa Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Dear LBNA,

Thank you for taking time to share your review. We are glad you've had a plesant stay at our resort. I will look into the areas you've mentioned to improve on our service standards. I have also shared your comments with my team.

We look forward to welcoming you and your partner back at resort the next time you're in Singapore.

Warmest regards,
Vincent Lelay
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

952 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    507
    282
    86
    37
    40
See reviews for
351
337
32
77
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014 via mobile

Stayed in this resort for a night on 12Jul.
This is a wonderful resort with lush and serene surroundings, near the beach. 3 good quality restaurants-special mention is the Pavilion which is a relaxing place to chill on a lazy afternoon. Food is quite good from the a la carte menu.
I'm glad that Accor made a wise move to manage this resort.
Rooms are cosy, except that the shower room and restroom need refurbishment.
The improvement that I would love to see is the overall service at the resort. This resort is 5star and the service level has to match it. But from today experience, I would only give it a max 4 star, at times 3.
Reception takes ages to reach over the phone, sometimes, nobody pick up at all. When I feedback to the duty manager, he simply brush off the matter, and ask what he can help- no listening ear and not an attitude a guest would like to experience.
Service staff at the restaurant are ok but would be good to see them serve with a smile and sincerity and also more attentive to guests, be it ordering, refilling of water, etc.
They also don't really know the menu well.
Operator at the phone at times are not good in articulating as compared to what you would hear from a 5star hotel/resort.
I'm sure Accor as always would continue to make the necessary tweaks. I'm looking forward.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Foodie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_VincentLelay, General Manager at Sofitel Singapore Sentosa Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Dear Foodie K,

Thank you for your feedback. It was wonderful to read about your plesant stay with us. We will soon be starting refurbishment in various parts of the resort to present a rejuvenated property by next year.

We will continue to work on improving our service standards and send our staff for retraining more frequently.

Thank you once again for taking time to share with us your comments and we look forward to have you back at The Singapore Resort & Spa Sentosa soon.

Warmest regards,
Vincent Lelay
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
83 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

I have been to the Sentosa Resort and Spa for high tea and lunch at The Terrace restaurant before, and I had good impression on this hotel. The landscaping was nicely done, and the garden and the pond were very well maintained. The whole place feels very relaxing.

Last month, we decided to have a weekend ‘staycation’ in this hotel. I have to say that I was very disappointed with the room. There was litter left under the writing table, and the shelves were very dusty. The furniture was dated and is definitely due for refurbishment. The tea table had a permanent water mark, and the TV remote control had a missing battery cover (please see my photos). I did not expect this to come from a 5-star hotel. We called the reception to complain about this. The staff was very attentive, and he offered a change of room plus a late check-out of 4pm the next day. While I appreciate this good gesture, I would be happier if the housekeeping had done a good job in the first place.

The bathroom was the only thing I like about the room. It was spacious, has both bathtub and rain shower. A complete range of amenities are provided. The in-room WIFI was free and it worked well. The hotel provides free shuttle bus to Orchard road (Paragon shopping centre) every 2 hourly, and to Vivo City every 30 minutes.

If you drive/ take a taxi, the admission charge to Sentosa island will be waived if you show them a copy of your hotel confirmation.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Merlion42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_VincentLelay, General Manager at Sofitel Singapore Sentosa Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Dear Merlion42,

Thank you for sharing your comments. I am disappointed to read about the service lapse which should have not happened. I have shared your comments with the rest of my team so that they can improve in their work areas.

Thank you once again for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to stay with us at your next visit to Singapore.

Warmest regards,
Vincent Lelay
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

We stayed in the Singapore resort and spa in June 2014 for five nights en route to Europe. The hotel is lovely, with plush tropical gardens and easy access to Santosa beach. The amenities are very good, with a lovely pool and poolside bar. We stayed in the opera suite which met the needs of our small family of four well ( two adults and 2 children aged 9 and 5). The breakfasts very good and choice of restaurants in the resort good in terms of style (casual through to fine dining) price and quality.

The hotel however is not cheap and unfortunately there are a few downsides that would cause me to rethink staying there again. The first is the hotel is a little way off from the main Sentosa attractions. If your objective is to enjoy the Sentosa sites, eg universal studios etc then one of the resort hotels closer in might be better. Especially with small children. This hotels location does necessitate a cab ride. Most cab drivers did not know where this hotel resort was, largely due to a recent name change however telling them it was beside the sentosa golf course always got us home. This gave one the sense it is not one of the prime attraction hotels for tourists. A little off the beaten path.

The service at the e hotel is very patchy. We found the front desk and concierge to be particularly poor service, not rude just not particularly confident or competent with directions, suggestions etc however the terrace bar and pool staff were consistently good.

The resort is generally looking a little tied. The halls leading to rooms need a little upkeep and in the room some of the furnishings had seen better days. It gives the feeling it needs a little capital upkeep.

There is also an odd policy of not allowing guests to swim in the pool after 7 pm given no life guard. This is understandable with unsupervised children but is a little patronising for adults. In the topic heat of Singapore it would be nice to swim after dinner...lifeguard or not.

Also wi if is not free and so little patchy in places. For a hotel of this price it should be free and of far superior quality than that experienced.

Overall a good hotel. We had a pleasant time but will probably try another on our next trip. Not enough "wow" for the price.

Room Tip: The opera suite easily sleeps four
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rma123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_VincentLelay, General Manager at Sofitel Singapore Sentosa Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Daer Rma123,

Thank you for your feedback and I appreciate you taking the time to share your review on TripAdvisor. We are blessed with lush greenery at our resort where guests can busk in the tranquility and be close to nature.

I will look into the areas you've mentioned to improve our service standards. We will also be starting refurbishment in phases throughout the hotel in the upcoming months and we are excited to present a rejuvenated hotel by next year.

We look forward to welcoming you back to stay with us at your next visit to Singapore.

Warmest regards,
Vincent Lelay
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

Enjoyed the space of the family suite. Room had good facilities and hotel staff were friendly.
Shuttle bus over to Vivo City was good but movement around the Sentosa was not very good. We liked to eat at the restaurants around Resorts World and use Universal Studios but the #3 free bus is only half hourly and then 20 mins travel time. Taxi's were cheap but wait times were very long.
I think the hotel could do with a second shuttle that picks up from the restaurant area of Sentosa.
Would like to have used the pool in the evening after a hot day out around Singapore but it closes at 7:00pm.
Food and drink was very expensive but we ate out most of the time as there are so many places to eat at that are great.
Grounds of hotel were very nice, more like Vanuatu than Singapore and despite the costs it was great to have a hotel room in Singapore that actually had room for a family of 4.
We enjoyed out stay.

Room Tip: You pay for a suite but it makes the holiday relaxing. Was worth the extra money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_VincentLelay, General Manager at Sofitel Singapore Sentosa Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Dear Michael V,

I'm happy to read your review on TripAdvisor about your recent stay with us. We will also review the areas you've mentioned.

We look forward to having you back again at our resort in the near future.

Warmest regards,
Vincent Lelay
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

Stayed 3 nights in a junior suite. Booked advanced and got 30+%off. Was great value for the price. Shuttle bus service to Vivo and Paragon proved to be super convenient and saved us cost on transport. Pool is simply great and relaxing, got a free welcome drink due to our Accor status.

The only thing was that the Nespresso machine in the room seemed to have an issue and wasnt able to make coffee towards the end. Staff's level of service in general was ok, but there were some who were a bit inadequate, give 7.5 out of 10.

Overall experience was extremely positive and hope to visit again soon.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Makilua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_VincentLelay, General Manager at Sofitel Singapore Sentosa Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Dear Makilua,

Thank you for your feedback. I'm glad you've enjoyed your stay and we will work on the areas you've mentioned to improve them.

We look forward to having you back again at our resort in the near future.

Warmest regards,
Vincent Lelay
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

I had the pleasure to be a guest at The Singapore Resort & Spa on Monday 7th July 2014.
I was most impressed during my stay by the customer service provided by your staffs, especially Ms Yvette, who definitely went beyond the call of normal duty to make guest' experience very memorable.
My friend and me enjoyed every bit of our stay here, we will come back soon for sure!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mabel_Chin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_VincentLelay, General Manager at Sofitel Singapore Sentosa Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Dear Mabel_Chin,

Thank you for your wonderful feedback for our resort. We are proud of Ms Yvette and have shared with her your compliment. We look forward to be of service to you and your friends again at your next staycation at The Singapore Resort & Spa Sentosa.

Warmest regards,
Vincent Lelay
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sentosa Island
W Singapore Sentosa Cove
#4 of 13 in Sentosa Island
4.0 of 5 stars 1,487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marina Bay
Marina Bay Sands
Marina Bay Sands
#34 of 305 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 stars 18,064 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Singapore Sentosa Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Singapore Sentosa Resort & Spa

Property: Sofitel Singapore Sentosa Resort & Spa
Address: 2 Bukit Manis Road, Sentosa Island 099891, Singapore (Formerly The Singapore Resort & Spa Sentosa, Managed by Accor)
Location: Singapore > Sentosa Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Sentosa Island
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Sentosa Island
#3 Spa Hotel in Sentosa Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Singapore Sentosa Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Singapore Sentosa Resort & Spa is the newest French luxury 5-star resort hotel on Singapore's favourite island. Situated at the top of a cliff rising above Tanjong Beach, it is a haven of tranquility and relaxation blessed with stunning views of sunsets over the horizon. Greeting guests upon arrival in the lobby is a dazzling bespoke lighting installation inspired by the Milky Way hanging from the lofty ceiling. The entire property is cosseted in lush tropical greenery and overlooks the South China Sea. The 215-room hotel includes luxury rooms, suites and villas, and offers an array of delectable cuisines from around the world at its various F&B establishments. Facilities include indoor and outdoor event spaces, a state-of-the-art gym, children's playroom, complimentary internet access and shuttle services. Completing the experience for guests is a spacious swimming pool deck and the world's largest Sofitel Signature So SPA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Booking.com, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Sofitel Singapore Sentosa Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sentosa Hotel Sentosa Island
The Sentosa Resort And Spa
The Sentosa Island Hotel
The Hotel Sentosa Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing