We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A fantastic family holiday” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sofitel Singapore Sentosa Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sofitel Singapore Sentosa Resort & Spa
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Sentosa Island
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A fantastic family holiday”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2014

We had a fantastic stay. The staff were polite and helpful from the reception, concierge, restaurant to the housekeeping and room service. The resort gardens were beautiful. The buffet breakfast was amazing every morning with lots of variety. The shuttle buses to Vivo City and Sentosa attractions was very convenient too.

Room Tip: The two bedroom suite was perfect for a family.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Avi70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_TonyChisholm, General Manager at Sofitel Singapore Sentosa Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 4, 2014
Dear Avi70,

Thank you for sharing your wonderful feedback with us. I am delighted to know that you and your family had a fantastic stay at our resort. I will be sharing your compliments with my ambassadors to encourage them for their great job.

At The Singapore Resort & Spa Sentosa, it is our endeavour to strive for excellence in all that we do and I'm heartened that we have achieved that with you and your family.

Once again, thank you for your kind words you've shared. We look forward to welcoming you and your family back at our resort during your next visit to Singapore.

Warmest regards,
Tony Chisholm
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,367 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    807
    349
    113
    45
    53
See reviews for
518
475
54
104
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (198)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2014

We checked in for the Easter weekend at Sentosa. It's quiet, peaceful and away from the hub of activity of Resorts World. Not so close to Universal Studios. There's a free shuttle, but you'll need to take note of the timing.

We get 'morning calls' from the resident peacock. The staff are very friendly. Rooms are comfy, amenities are there and what you can expect for a 4.5 star property. The hotel looks a tad tired, cos it's among the oldest on Sentosa. But heard that a new management is taking over and will be sprucing up the hotel. So expect renovation inconviences if you're planning to visit within the next year.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ChingWee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_TonyChisholm, General Manager at Sofitel Singapore Sentosa Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Dear Ching Wee,

Thank you for taking time to give us your invaluable feedback. I am delighted that you and your family have enjoyed your recent stay with us.

I will share your compliments with my ambassadors to affirm them for their friendly service. As you are aware, we will be renovating various parts of our hotel in phases very soon and can't wait to present a rejuvenated look to our guests once refurbishments are completed.

Once again, we thank you for your comments and look forward to welcoming you and your family back at The Singapore Resort & Spa Sentosa at your next staycation.

Warmest regards,
Tony Chisholm
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2014

20 years ago this would've been an impressive hotel, but not now.

At check in we were left waiting while a free receptionist busily ignored us. When her colleague drew her attention to us, her excuse was that she thought we were with the people in front of us. A reasonable excuse, but: they were there well before us, we were standing nowhere near them, they were leaving, and their age/dress/ethnicity made us being together hilariously unlikely.

Then she pointed us in the wrong direction, which ordinarily wouldn't be a problem at most hotels, but you can walk around for a fair while around this place if you don't know where you're going. Which is a real treat after a long flight when you've got a tired and hungry child who desparately needs to defecate.

As others have mentioned, the rooms are tired. Which you'd expect given the hotel's age. But age doesn't justify mould between the tiles in the shower. And the shower takes forever to heat up, which makes the "please re-use your towels to save water" exhortation pointless. So if you're environmentally conscious, look forward to a bracing shower.

The room had an adjoining door to another room which was occupied. The adjoining doors are poorly insulated. The neighbours could be heard when speaking normally, and I couldn't tell the difference between their doorbell and ours.

The food is typically priced for such a hotel. But it was average. This wouldn't ordinarily be a problem but the hotel isn't convenient to alternative restaurants.

Getting transport wasn't great. When ordering a taxi on the first day, the concierge confidently assured me that the taxi I had ordered was on its way. He eventually accepted that in fact I wanted to order one, and he was confusing me with someone else.

The pool is quite pleasant. But bring goggles as it is overchlorinated.

Pay a bit more; I wish I did.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else. But otherwise reject rooms that adjoin others.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_TonyChisholm, General Manager at Sofitel Singapore Sentosa Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Dear David S,

Thank you for taking time to share your thoughts on your recent stay with us. We sincerely apologise for the service shortfall you've experienced. Please be assured that I will personally speak to my team to work on the issues you've mentioned.

The hotel will soon be undergoing renovation in phases, and we look forward to presenting a rejuvenated hotel by the end of 2015.

Thank you once again for your valuable feedback. We hope you will give us another chance to stay with us at your next visit to Singapore.

Warmest regards,
Tony Chisholm
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2014

In general I loved the resort! It is a good location and made for a relaxing few days. We had booked three rooms online. On arrival the rooms weren't ready, and once ready the booking was all mixed up, keys were given to us in wrong names, and keys given to the wrong rooms. Our grandson's room key didn't work, and once inside he found a welcome note for someone else. Getting this sorted was very stressful and took considerable time, by way of a peace offering our son and daughter in law were upgraded to a fantastic suite and given a late check out, however we were all inconvenienced. The three rooms were spread throughout the resort and the reception staff were hopeless at best. My husband and I had a Junior Suite, the DVD player was missing, the TV only worked two of the five days and the plumbing in the shower was blocked. The staff in the Terrace Restaurant were pretty average, the food there was great, however some people at our table finished their meals before others even got theirs. Surely meal orders could be coordinated to be brought to the table at the same time. One time our order didn't reach the kitchen and everyone else was ready to leave the table before two of us received our meal, we had to question three staff to resolve this. There is no information in the rooms with regards to hotel facilities. Housekeeping staff do the minimum, they do not even bother to replace the pillows on the bed, leaving them stacked on the cupboard for the duration of our stay. Sometimes the cups were not washed properly and they were never put away, always left sitting next to the TV with a few sachets of coffee. There was a utility room of some kind close to our room and the housekeeping staff talked very loudly there every morning waking us up. If they spend less time talking and arguing and more time working they may do a better job. Room service was excellent! the bar staff were excellent and the laundry service was excellent except it was very expensive. I would go back and stay again, but I would hope that there is some improvement with their staff issues at reception and housekeeping in particular.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 722Sandy1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_TonyChisholm, General Manager at Sofitel Singapore Sentosa Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Dear 722Sandy1950,

Thank you for taking time to share your valuable feedback. I am disappointed to hear of your experience during your stay. Please be assured we take guest feedback very seriously at the hotel. I will discuss your areas of concern with my team and work hard to improve our service standards.

I am heartened that you enjoyed our room and laundry service as well as the service of my ambassadors at The Pavilion.

We look forward to welcoming you back at The Singapore Resort & Spa Sentosa during your next visit to Singapore.

Warmest regards,
Tony Chisholm
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2014

We had booked two rooms adjoining as we are a family of 2 adults and 2 children. No adjoining room was available to us, although there was a room available, but because our "online" booking that came through to the hotel from Expedia did not have a comment about adjoining rooms included, they would not give us the adjoining rooms on the first night. We asked to speak to the Manager Mr Alan Tan and he could not arrange adjoining rooms on the first night, but offered to move us to adjoining rooms for the second night of our stay and he offered late check out which was appreciated.
Hotel badly needs renovation, the rooms are tired and the facilities are looking shabby. There was no tourist information provided by the hotel. If you don't ask, you don't get any information. We asked about getting to the beach and was told there was a beach tram so we walked down the 100 steps from the hotel to the beach tram stop, only to find the beach tram wasn't running that afternoon so we had to walk. The communication about access to the island facilities was poor. My young son wanted some cold water before going to bed and it took 5 phone calls and over 45 minutes to get a bucket of ice to the room. The first 10 minutes the room service phone just "rung out". I then called reception who said they would organise it. 20 minutes later I called reception again,they were surprised it had not been delivered. It took another two calls to get the ice, it was really poor service. When we called to get our baggage collected to check out of the hotel, the phone rang out a few times and I had to call reception to arrange for the bags to be collected. The Hotel is open plan and quite a walk from reception to the rooms in just covered walkways, not air conditioned. Maybe nice for some, but fo those affected by Singapore heat, chose another hotel with airconditioned facilities like reception and bars and walkways. The Spa was closed for renovation, we only found out by a note in the room. There was no compendium in any of the four rooms we stayed in, so I guess they dont supply these. A map of the resport would have been nice showing where the bars and restaurants were located. I had to access this information through the Hotel TV system as nothing else was offered or provided. The location of the hotel is isolated from the attractions on the island and the bus services only runs every 30 minutes to this hotel where other free bus services run every 10 minutes to other hotels on the island. If you are going to stay on Sentosa, stay at "Resort World" or "Sentosa Cove" where you have more options for dining than just your hotel.

Room Tip: Confirm direct with the Hotel if you weant an adjoining room, asl for a room on level 3, same level...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank OzGazman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_TonyChisholm, General Manager at Sofitel Singapore Sentosa Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Dear OzGazman,

Thank you for your honest feedback and we would like to sincerely apologise for the service shortfalls that you have experienced during your stay with us.

I have noted your points on better communication and will ensure that measures are put in place in order to avoid such situations in the future. Regarding the renovations, I'm pleased to inform you that the hotel will be undergoing extensive renovation in phases, and will be ready to launch as a Sofitel in end 2015. Please be assured that we will be improving our standards of service to mirror the French luxury hospitality that Sofitel represents.

We hope that we can welcome you back to our resort again in the future to experience the transformation in product and service.

Warmest regards,
Tony Chisholm
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
148 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 190 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2014

My family and I stayed at The Sentosa Resort and Spa (before it was renamed) for two nights during a weekend retreat.
The hotel is located in a quieter part of the island, and is fairly secluded - good for those seeking a tranquil getaway from the crowds and hustle & bustle of the city. There is a complimentary shuttle bus running every 30 minutes that will bring you to other parts of the island. This is not a beach front hotel - a (public) beach is accessible down a rather long flight of steps and across a small road.
The rooms are spread out over a fairly large area, so it can take 5-10 minutes to get to the pool/restaurant/lobby from your room.
The rooms are overdue for some upgrading. We stayed at this same hotel a couple of years ago and thought it was due for upgrading then. Since then, there's been more wear and tear.
The plumbing system is a little cranky - the water changes from cold to warm and back to cold again during our showers over the 2 days. The choice of cable channels is also rather limited compared to other 5-star hotels.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_TonyChisholm, General Manager at Sofitel Singapore Sentosa Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Dear Richard C,

Thank you for taking the time to send us your feedback and for choosing us once again.

We have noted your feedback on the need for upgrading works, and we sincerely apologise for the unpleasant experience with plumbing during your stay. However, we're pleased to inform you that the hotel will be going through extensive renovations in phases from the second half of 2014, and will be ready to be launched as a Sofitel in end 2015.

We hope to welcome you back to stay with us again and hope we can exceed your expectations the next time round.

Warmest regards,
Tony Chisholm
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2014

We decided on this hotel for the last week of a month long trip. The location on Sentosa is very peaceful with beautiful lush surroundings, koi carp swimming in ponds and lots of fountains all creating a feeling of tranquility. The unfortunate thing for us was that the hotel had just gone through a change of ownership, the result being that the Garden Restaurant and Spa were closed immediately for future refurbishment. We had been looking forward to using both facilities and were disappointed that this hadn't been mentioned at the time of booking. The room we were given was adequate but very average and slightly tired/dated. There is a beautiful pool, at a perfect temperature and most days only a handful of guests were using it which was a shame. We felt that the hotel was concentrating largely on it's corporate guests as there were many conferences during the week we were there. The service away from the front reception was sometimes lacking but everyone working at this hotel was lovely, and always happy to help. We were given a lovely suite after mentioning to a receptionist that our room wasn't quite what we had hoped for. The new management very keen to make a good impression. Whilst the location is possibly one of the most peaceful on the Island, I personally felt a little isolated at times. There are busses though that will take you around the island FOC and also across to the city. I would recommend getting times and services as soon as you arrive so that you can plan outings. Don't expect to get a taxi unless you book one, and when coming back from the city be prepared to spend time locating a taxi who will take you to Sentosa as most will avoid it if they can. We found that if we got into the car first, then gave the location, they had no choice but to accept us! Overall a good experience, once the promised improvements and refurbishments are finished I'm sure it will be a fantastic choice - just be aware that major works are about to commence.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_TonyChisholm, General Manager at Sofitel Singapore Sentosa Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Dear Sharon C,

We are extremely pleased that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. We have noted your positive feedback and will be sure to share it with our staff, who will be delighted to know that their efforts are appreciated.

We want to also apologise for the lack of prior information regarding the closure of Spa Botanica and The Garden, and hope it did not mar your experience with us. The brand new So Spa will be opening at the end of June, and we sincerely hope that you can enjoy our spa services during your next visit.

We like to thank you for taking time to leave us your kind comments and hope to welcome you back to our resort again soon.

Warmest regards,
Tony Chisholm
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sentosa Island
W Singapore Sentosa Cove
#4 of 13 in Sentosa Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,739 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hard Rock Hotel Singapore
#9 of 13 in Sentosa Island
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,921 reviews
Marina Bay
Marina Bay Sands
Marina Bay Sands
#33 of 309 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 20,724 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Singapore Sentosa Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Singapore Sentosa Resort & Spa

Property: Sofitel Singapore Sentosa Resort & Spa
Address: 2 Bukit Manis Road, Sentosa Island 099891, Singapore (Formerly The Singapore Resort & Spa Sentosa, Managed by Accor)
Phone Number:
Location: Singapore > Sentosa Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Sentosa Island
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Sentosa Island
#2 Luxury Hotel in Sentosa Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Singapore Sentosa Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Singapore Sentosa Resort & Spa is the newest French luxury 5-star resort hotel on Singapore's favourite island. Situated at the top of a cliff rising above Tanjong Beach, it is a haven of tranquility and relaxation blessed with stunning views of sunsets over the horizon. Greeting guests upon arrival in the lobby is a dazzling bespoke lighting installation inspired by the Milky Way hanging from the lofty ceiling. The entire property is cosseted in lush tropical greenery and overlooks the South China Sea. The 215-room hotel includes luxury rooms, suites and villas, and offers an array of delectable cuisines from around the world at its various F&B establishments. Facilities include indoor and outdoor event spaces, a state-of-the-art gym, children's playroom, complimentary internet access and shuttle services. Completing the experience for guests is a spacious swimming pool deck and the world's largest Sofitel Signature So SPA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, ACCOR, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Ctrip TA and Jetsetter so you can book your Sofitel Singapore Sentosa Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sentosa Resort And Spa
The Sentosa Hotel Sentosa Island
The Sentosa Island Hotel
The Hotel Sentosa Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing