We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasant hotel stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Shangri-La's Rasa Sentosa Resort & Spa
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Sentosa Island
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
“Pleasant hotel stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

My hubby and I just spent 10 days at shangrila sentosa and had a lovely time was a bit worried after reading how kid friendly it was but didn't bother us at all there is an adult only part of the pool and was very peaceful never had trouble getting deck chairs the pool was fabulous the breakfast was ok they never change their menu round so got a bit bored with it after a few days the rooms were fine for us the bed was very hard hubby back started playing up after a few days its a nice resort could do with a bit of updating the corridors are looking very tired service was very good be prepared to pay very high prices for drinks soft drink from bar and pool $7.50 singapore they have a shuttle bus that takes you to vivo city and there's a beach tram and buses for free to take you around sentosa taxis are very cheap as well I went from hotel to orchard rd for $14 all up had a lovely time the resort is very spacious staff are very nice would stay again

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sue F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,538 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,929
    1,057
    344
    131
    77
See reviews for
2,076
688
72
221
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (881)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013

The rooms are a little older, but well appointed for families. If you are travelling with 2 kids though make sure you get 2 adjoining rooms as we got a surprise to see the sofa bed in our room which was to fit our 2 kids ages 8 & 10 was Bly the size of a king single. Beside that absolutely everything was at the resort to make a relaxing holiday for all, fabulous kids facilities to let them just roam free in safety. Very expensive though for family meals and found ourself waking Bly minutes away to one of the many Sislo Beach Restaurants to feed the family.

Room Tip: Level 7 suites are great for families with 2 separate rooms, separate beds for 2 kids, roof top gard...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kylie282
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2013 via mobile

Am staying at this hotel now, with my partner and a 1 year old. here's my take after a few days.

Pro's:
- buffet breakfast has a great variety. We're there at 6:30am with a jet lagged toddler so there is always heaps of seats and food.
- food overall is very good. Room service and restaurants we've tried have been great.
- rooms are comfy. We're in a king size ocean view room, not massive but not tiny either.
- the pool is great, huge and plenty of sun loungers available
- facilities for kids are very good. There is a kids club (ages 5 - 12) with great amenities and as we have a toddler there is a free toddler room which he loves
- got sent up some free birthday cake when it was my partners birthday which was a nice touch

Cons:
- the photo of the beach is a fake. The water is not that blue or the sand that white. The photo of the beach and hotel must have been taken from one of the 37 massive oil tankers that sit about 500m off the shore and dominate the "sea view" which also includes a bonus oil refinery or some such industrial nightmare. Not the hotel's fault but the awful haze caused by bush fires in Indonesia makes for a somewhat depressing backdrop. It looks likes some smoky hazy industrial Armageddon going on rather than a peaceful ocean view.
- when our son went paddling up to his knees at the beach, he came out with oil on his legs. I am not joking. The beach is a health hazard and swimming should be banned, not encouraged!
- seriously not a 5 star hotel when they charge extra for milk (!) even when they have tea/coffee facilities. It costs $5 + service charge to get wine glasses sent up to your room. Honestly, like wine glasses are some rare luxury item in the 21st century.
- whilst the hotel has plenty to offer, it's isolated without any amenities near by. There is no supermarket on the island ( problem when you have a child who needs nappies, wipes etc), the nearest ATM is a good 15min walk or tram ride away.
- rooms don't have a bath. A BATH. Surely a bath is a pre-requisite for 5 stars? For $425 a night, really you expect more, you really do.

Overall. Ok but massively over-priced and I wouldn't come back.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
7 Thank Louisa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, England
Level Contributor
59 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights in early June 2013. We booked a Deluxe sea view room using British Airways Avios points. These rooms do NOT have bathtubs and we therefore upgraded to a Panorama room (the next grade up) upon check-in. The additional cost was only SIN$20 per night and there was no problem in doing so.

The hotel has been completely refurbished in the last year or so and is still in very good condition. The breakfast buffet is an absolute feast, but a fairly stressful experience with lots of children running around chasing the birds, large queues at the egg station and mediocre coffee. However, the extensive range of breakfast items is very impressive, but you seem to spend more time choosing than sitting at the table eating!

The pool area has a mixture of sunny and shaded spots (which is good for both sun and shade lovers) and the hotel is located right on the beach. Complimentary chilled water is provided by the pool on a self-serve basis.

It's a very child friendly resort, with a children's pool and flumes. There is a kids club and plenty for them to do during the day. The main pool gets very busy, but we never had a problem getting sun loungers.

Whilst we enjoyed our stay, we are sad to say that we probably wouldn't return due to the general level of hustle & bustle, which detracted from the peaceful end to our holiday that we were looking for. That said, seeing wild monkeys on our 10th floor balcony one morning was a real highlight!

Room Tip: Sea View Deluxe rooms do not have bathtubs - you need to upgrade to a Panorama room if you want a ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Henny52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013

We visited Singapore from 24 May - 2 June 2013 and decided to stay 6 nights on Orchard Road at the Mandarin Orchard (reviewed separately) and the final 3 nights at the Shangri-La Rasa Resort on Sentosa Island (room 915). Bottom line is that, despite some flaws noted in other reviews, we enjoyed this Sentosa hotel the most and would stay here (or elsewhere in Sentosa) on our next visit to Singapore.

We personally found Ll the staff very friendly and helpful. On arrival, the receptionist booked us into a sea view room on the 9th floor with a fantastic view of the pool area, beach and lagoon, notwithstanding that our Flight Centre travel agent had failed to tell the hotel that our booking had been upgraded from the original hill view reservation to full sea view. She kindly undertook to tie up all the loose ends with the travel agent rather than trouble us any further, and we were most appreciative of her assistance. Likewise, the gentleman who cleaned our room each day was always smiling and offering us more towels, water etc. and the doorman was very kind and reassuring. We felt very welcome and in fact relaxed to a totally new level as soon as we walked into the reception area, with its glimpse of the pool below.

Yes, the hotel is one of the oldest on Sentosa and despite its renovation the decor is a bit tired, the rooms have a shower but no bath, and we were disappointed that there were no in house movies.
It is therefore more 4 star than 5 star.... But we loved it anyway!

The hotel provides a free courtesy bus which goes to and from The large Vivocity shopping complex with its delightful harbour front promenade every 20 minutes. As Vivocity contains the Harbourfront MRT (Singapore awesome subway - if only Perth had one!) the Sentosa blurbs encouraging tourists to stay there and pop across to the city proper to shop are actually quite realistic and this is what we will do next time.

Ladies and dedicated shoppers - have pity on your non-shopper partners and book your Singapore getaway on Sentosa! You will both relax so much more, and they can linger there and chill out while you pop over to Orchard Rd, Little India, Raffles Place etc via the MRT.

Just down the driveway from the Shangri-la are bus stops for Bus 1 and 2 which will take you free all around the island, including to Universal Studios (a must visit). Underwater world is also there, while while also now rather dated, is where you can book a swim with the oink dolphins ($170Sing)' review follows separately.

Finally, breakfast was good though not as good as we may have expected from a Shangri-la hotel.

There were many families enjoying the resort and these never impinged on our own enjoyment.

Taking a realistic view, we were satisfied that this was value for money, loved the location and will definitely return.

Room Tip: You are on Sentosa to relax and soak up the natural beauty, so spoil ourself and book a seaview room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AustraliaShaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2013

excellent hotel.
All transport on the island is free frequency of buses is 30 minutes).. so i guess location is not too important
Large rooms & well designed.
Bathrooms spacious and well stocked.
getting the right adaptor for an indian plug is a problem & it took ages to arrive
Staff is courteous but a little business like for a resort ..did not see too many smiling faces like the other hotels i stayed in at singapore during this visit
Cycles are available free at the hotel and the beach is nearby..so a good ride (umbrellas available for a 10SGD deposit, cycle locks at 50SGD deposit !
Peacocks freely roam around the hotel and is a pleasant experience

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ASA321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SENGM1, General Manager at Shangri-La's Rasa Sentosa Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear ASA321,

Thank you for sharing your feedback on TripAdvisor.

May I please request that you contact me at ben.bousnina@shangri-la.com as I wish to address your concerns.

Yours sincerely,
Ben Bousnina
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

Free wifi and carpark. Helpful reception. Cozy room and comfy bed. Clean and tidy room. Nice balcony with excellent beach view. Excellent swimming pools with kid pool and slides. Was able to see peacocks and lizards during breakfast :p

Business centre not quite user-friendly as both me and my husband failed to login to our email account with their computer. Buffet breakfast was nice but could better for a 5-star resort hotel. It took me quite a bit of time to get my baby cot.

Room Tip: to secure the offer, book the baby cot in advance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YELLOWSQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SENGM1, General Manager at Shangri-La's Rasa Sentosa Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear YELLOWSQ,

Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding your recent stay with us.

Please contact me direct via email ben.bousnina@shangri-la.com as I wish to address your concerns.

Yours sincerely,
Ben Bousnina
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sentosa Island
W Singapore Sentosa Cove
#4 of 13 in Sentosa Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,775 reviews
Hard Rock Hotel Singapore
#9 of 13 in Sentosa Island
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,948 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marina Bay
Marina Bay Sands
Marina Bay Sands
#35 of 306 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 21,038 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La's Rasa Sentosa Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La's Rasa Sentosa Resort & Spa

Property: Shangri-La's Rasa Sentosa Resort & Spa
Address: 101 Siloso Road, Sentosa Island 098970, Singapore (Formerly Shangri-La's Rasa Sentosa Resort)
Location: Singapore > Sentosa Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Sentosa Island
#3 Luxury Hotel in Sentosa Island
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Sentosa Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La's Rasa Sentosa Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 454
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shangri-La's Rasa Sentosa Resort, Singapore's only beachfront resort, is situated at Sentosa Island. Far from the hustle and bustle of the city, yet close to major attractions like Orchard Road, Little India and Clarke Quay, the resort is conveniently linked to mainland Singapore by a causeway. It is next to numerous attractions including the Universal Studios, Underwater World and Dolphin Lagoon. The business district is a mere 15 minutes away by car. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Shangri-La's Rasa Sentosa Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri-La`s Rasa Sentosa Hotel Sentosa Island
Rasa Hotel Sentosa Island
Shangri La Sentosa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing