We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Shangri-La's Rasa Sentosa Resort & Spa
Nearby Hotels
Capella Singapore(Sentosa Island)
$794
$571
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Resorts World Sentosa - Hotel Michael(Sentosa Island)(Great Value!)
$331
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$565
$496
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$282
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Resorts World Sentosa - Equarius Hotel(Sentosa Island)(Great Value!)
$428
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
W Singapore Sentosa Cove(Sentosa Island)
$311
$289
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Amara Sanctuary Resort Sentosa(Sentosa Island)(Great Value!)
$381
$303
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Le Meridien Singapore, Sentosa(Sentosa Island)(Great Value!)
$252
$227
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$319
$308
Cancelon
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
bedfinder
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (3,967)
Filter reviews
3,967 results
Traveler rating
2,189
1,162
383
148
85
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,189
1,162
383
148
85
Show reviews that mention
All reviewskids clubsilver shellwater slidescool zonevivo citycasserolefamily fun packageprivate beachsea viewunderwater worldlife guardspool areabuffet dinnerfree busgarden roomsiloso beachgreat for families
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
2,533 - 2,538 of 3,967 reviews
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Pre- booked and pre-paid 3 days, on arrival we were shocked to see the doorman was dressed as an elf, and not even a smart one. Reception was a mess, open air, noisy and confusing. Not at all the marble floors and crystal chandeliers that seem to be standard in 5 star hotel. We were shown to our room and the hotel corridors were shabby and badly in need if a makeover. Our ocean view deluxe room was tiny, and smelled musty. We went to check out the restaurants and were very disappointed with the lack of ambience and fine dining, they were more like cafeterias. Determined to make the most of our stay, we went to the beach area and tried to settle on the sub standard mattress free sun beds but after a short while we knew we would not enjoy this hotel. So we explained to the management that we were checking out and our travel agent would be in touch to arrange refund. 3 weeks later they are still ignoring all correspondence but we won't give up. This was our first experience of the Shangri La chain, and because of their poor customer service, it will definitely be our last.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lynda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2013

My wife and I returned to this hotel for a second time, and discovered that it had been fully renovated - rooms, restaurants and bars - all got a good facelift. We stayed for 4 nights in a nice room on the 9th floor.

The rooms are tastefully appointed with all the necessary modern amenities, and an especially nice treat is the complimentary WIFI internet access, it is available even at the beach.

The hotel is a resort type facility, popular with families with young children as it has all kinds of facilities for the little ones, even separate places for toddlers and bigger kids where parents can leave their little ones while they are entertained by expert staff.

The pool area has loads of lounge chairs and shades so everyone can have their place under the sun. The beach is very nice as it is a small man made bay, lots of palm trees and small thatch roofed huts to take cover from the tropical sun.

Breakfast bufet is a scrumptios combination of european, chinese, malay and indian specialties - reflecting the major culinary influences in Singapore, it is simply not possible to taste it all, there are so many delicious dishes to choose from, and it is included in the room rate.

When visiting Singapore, this hotel is a nice choice as it lets you escape the bustle of downtown but you are still not far from an MRT station that will connect to to any place you want. The hotel offers a free shuttle bus to Vivo City, where the MRT station is located.

Room Tip: Getting a suite with a terrace will enchant anyone who wants an unobstructed view of the bustling harbour and beautiful sunsets
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Affe28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Pros:
Great location if it's not the best among all Sentosa hotels. Many attractions around you can easily reach them either by having nice walking through the walkway, or using the free trams or buses, such as Siloso Beach, Flying Trapeze, rent cycles, Skyline Ride...ect.
The hotel is very clean with natural atmosphere all around. Nice and cool atmosphere at night with splendid lighting. There are also many restaurants and the Shell Cafe is one of them which offer the International breakfast buffet. The breakfast has many options and wide range of foods and juices. The hotel has large and nice swimming pool and small water playground area for kids and outside beach and calm Spa. The staff some of them has great attitude such as Michelle; she is a great young lady and assisted us alot. Once we entered the room which was in the 8th floor, we went directly out in the balcony to see the wonderful sea and pool view!! The room is so clean with fresh and nice smell atmosphere. Few minutes later the hotel sent us a complimentary Singaporean sweet box as a welcoming for us. The room also has Iron and iron board, LCD TV, Fridge and complimentary water. The wifi is free and has strong signals without any password.


Cons:
The check-in service and staff services need more improvement, at least a smile in their faces because it is a resort for relaxing and entertaining and it needs such attitude. We booked Sea View room and in our booking we requested to have quiet room but they gave us a room with connection door and located in the 8th floor which is directly over the suites which are in the 7th floor with large patios in front of us and outside Jacuzzi, so we asked the reception to change the room for higher floors. The receptionist told us that all the rooms are reserved and the Sea View rooms are only till the 8th floor!!! So strange!! How it come?!! She offered us to have another room in the other wing of the same floor which was free of the suites. We had a look to it but it was so far from the lifts and small with bad smell and not sunny as the first. So, we returned back to our original room and thank god that no one reserve the connection room or the suites for the two nights we spent. Staff needs more to be trained and to tell the truth or at least logic responses to their guests.
There was no DVD, which is an essential for 5 stars resort.

Room Tip: Ask for sea and pool view and higher floors 9-11.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ourdream2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2013

Location: the best.
Arrival: by car - no one to assist - no "hi", no greeting, no porter, nothing.
Check-in: slooooooooooow
We came in with 3 small children (3-6-7) we were assigned a room at the 5th floor with furnishings on the balcony. Any parent understand the combination of high floor - balcony with chairs and tables and small children is a cocktail for disaster. I requested a "safe" room on the ground floor (as I had requested during my telephone reservation). I was told I had to pay an additional XX$ for this "upgraded" (safe ?) room. No negotiations - take or leave it. For the sake of my kids, I took it and agree to pay for a safe room.
After 55 minutes of "check-in" we moved to the room. Horror smell - terrible. Greatly embarassed they moved us to a suite and we were told that we did not had to pay for the XX$ upgrade anymore. We noted the room had not been used for a longer time and was not very clean.
Since the Aircon did not work properly, we or frooze or steamed, nothing in between resulting us to wake up every 2 hours. Next day the maintenance replaced the valve of the bedroom AC.
Half a day later we called again and they adjusted the AC of the living room.
We made an immediate U-turn when we saw the huge amount of people lining up and waiting in front of the breakfast restaurant. The hotel was not able to handle the amount of guests at that particular time. The restaurant itself was completely overcrowded and chaotic. We ordered room service (greatly offered by the hotel because of the overcrowding in the restaurant). We were promised a delivery in 20 minutes. It came after 45 minutes and a good portion of the items was missing or they delivered the wrong items.
At day one we ran away fromt the pool which was a construction site and the machines made a lot of noise. Nothing was mentionned on their web site and this is NOT correct.
I ordered a 25$ salad for lunch. What I received was small and not worth half the price. The staff told me that at least the plate was large. yeah right. The dressing tasted terribly and the chef told me that they had problems in finding good cooks.
I asked to see the "boss". I met Michel whom clearly gave instructions to insure the rest of our stay would be smooth. Well it did and we were happy until check out but had wasted allready 50% of our time.
During check out the staff forgot to gave us a card to leave the car park and we were stuck there until they walked over. We also saw people having to carry their luggage and load the taxi's themselves during check out. There is obviously a shortage of staff.
Positive things to remember: the kids club is good - the Indian food is absolutely fantastic (breakfast - dinner) one of the best biryani's I've ever eaten. great location. Does it justify a 1350$ bill for 2 nights ? probably not.

Room Tip: You want the view - take the high floor rooms with sea view. You have small kids - take the groundfloor rooms.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rybremnazoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2013

Just catching up with my TA updates

Four of us stayed at the hotel during the Singapore Grand Prix last year. This was my second visit back to the hotel and this time was after the renovations. As usual the staff at the Shangri-La were very friendly and welcoming. It is always a pleasure to stay here.

We chose the hotel as it has it's own beach and large pool area but is also close enough to the city to grab a taxi.

We booked a sea facing room and the room was typical Shangri-La quality. As Golden Circle members we were upgraded to the Horizon lounge where we ate breakfast, which was a great touch as this ment we missed the buffet.

We ate dinner at Barnacles, which is an amazing seafood restaurant within the hotel complex. Make sure you order one of the platters, divine.

We always choose this hotel now when we are in Singapore for business or pleasure. Please feel free to contact myself for more info.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a sea view. 100% worth it
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jame5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews