We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel and super for kids”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Shangri-La's Rasa Sentosa Resort & Spa
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Sentosa Island
Certificate of Excellence
New Delhi
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Great hotel and super for kids”
Reviewed January 18, 2013

Great hotel and super for kids, it has an excellent splash pool area near the pool with lots of fun activities and slides as well as a large multistoried play area. the restaurants are perfect for kids as well. the rooms spacious and extremely comfortable with option for interconnecting rooms.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank skhemka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,665 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,012
    1,090
    350
    136
    77
See reviews for
2,170
711
73
223
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (905)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2013

I called Shangri-La's Rasa Sentosa the day prior to our arrival and explained we were likely to be arriving before the check-in time of 3pm. I understand early check-ins aren't always possible, but I thought I'd do the right thing and at least try in advance, rather than rocking up to Reception. I was told it shouldn't be a problem, but they can't guarantee it. Imagine my surprise when we actually arrive at 2.45pm to be told "your room isn't ready - you'll need to come back" - no apology, no smile, nothing. I say "that's ok we're happy to wait until 3pm" to be told "you're room hasn't been cleaned yet, come back around 4pm." I ask whether this means we can have a late checkout and we're advised we can have a 1pm checkout (1 hour extra). Fortunately I was talked out of further exchanges by my partner, but needless to say,
Rasa Sentosa and I weren't off to a good start.

From there, we came back at 4pm to be given room 960 on the 9th floor. "Great" we think, hoping the staff may have given us a nicer room in line with the delay. Not even close - it was the first room next to the lift lobby, at the beginning of a coridoor where the occupants of 60 rooms got to walk past all day. We were too tired to bother making further complications however the noise of children running and shouting down the hallway was not exactly what I'd hoped for. Part of me still thinks the original staff member at reception intentionally gave us the loudest room.

The resort itself was fine - similar to the many beachside resorts of Fiji. The property is in desperate need of an adult pool - the current roped off section of the main pool seems to mean nothing to kids, despite the multi-lingual signs saying it's a quiet area.

This place is all about location, which is pretty good. Would I go back there? In the absence of alternative beachside resorts in Singapore, I wouldn't have any choice - but I wish I did.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LMANDO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the hotel for two nights to break the journey from Australia to UK, a good decision. We were looking for a peaceful respite and found it, despite it being a family hotel. The facilities were very good and the service excellent. We took advantage of the spa and would highly recommend the Thai massage to release the kinks from the flight. Shopping is close to hand with a free shuttle bus, but prices are rather high.
We left in much better shape than we arrived

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SheepsMKtoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2013

Arrived at the front desk with four persons (two adults and two kids) and was informed are booking was cancelled by the travel agent, then informed us that they had two bookings under mine and my wifes name on different floors, when we asked for ajoining rooms. The long and the short and raised voices, we eventually got what we booked. The air con kept blowing hot and asked to have it repaired four times, my wifes PJ's went missing when they changed the sheets, which followed by a denial from the hotel staff, then asking daily three days later they found the top half with the lower half the next day ( The Hotel sent chocolates as a sorry), the cleaner droped my wifes perfume bottle and cracked it, the place was full of unhappy mafia looking Russians, meals and drinks expensive and service lacking.

We recieved a phone call on the third day at 4.00am and 4.12 to say my transport was awaiting, which I hadn't ordered and when questioned the hotel staff in lobby, nobody could identify who this person or company was and finally the booked transport to the airport did to not turn up leaving us later for the flight. We were on the 11th floor with great views of over 200 tankers, freighters, cargo ships or all sorts and dimensions resembling D-Day and then when a gap appeared views of industrial plants belching smoke into the antmospher. The pool is too small for the number of guest and does not accommodate for couples or kids in a five star way. We will not be returning!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Antony L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2013

We stayed at the Shangri la sentosa in early january 2013 , and I have to say its very nice place to stay , the view from the deluxe ocean view rooms are a nice view even its part of the main shipping lane it still looks resort , and the building itself is looked after quite well as are the grounds .



The city of singapore is easly accessible , only 10 min by taxi and there is a free bus service which stops at the end of the resorts driveway that takes you around the whole island of sentosa and main attractions.

All in all a very nice setting and a very nice resort great from familys and couples alike.

Room Tip: Go for the deluxe ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anton L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2013

We have just returned home from a 9 night stay at Rasa Sentosa and left with very heavy hearts. I travelled with my partner and our 8 yr old daughter and chose Sentosa for a warm tropical relaxing destination yet with plenty of family attractions and things to do and it certainly fitted the bill. We loved the beaches and rainforest of Sentosa, altho found the views between tropical "islands" of large cargo ships bemusing! The resort itself is beautiful having only been refurbished a couple of years ago, and all staff very pleasant and attentive. Concierge were wonderfully helpful and advised and organized activities for us when needed. Room service was prompt and delicious, and Kids Club was a huge favourite with my daughter who was begging us to go out exploring the sights of Singapore so she could be left there to play. The Kids Club staff were great and after a few trial runs we had no concerns leaving her there from when it opened at 9.30am, and finally getting her to come back to us only at 9pm when it shut! There were numerous Kids Club staff so I was very comfortable leaving her there, and she loved being taken on little outings and into the restaurants for lunch and dinner - all included in our accommodation package. Breakfast was an amazing buffet catering to Chinese, Indian and Western tastes, and during the first few days of our stay a 2nd venue was open to cater for the large occupancy over the New Year period so queues were not an issue. The pool was wonderful and my daughter loved the waterslides. The staff calling the kids into the main pool for impromptu games of kayak tug-o-wars was fun too. The pool area was busy during the first few days of our stay but quietened off after the New Year busy period. Although it was busy it was still pleasant and plenty of room to splash about in or to just laze beside. The safe sheltered beach is right beside it if that is more to your taste, and kayaks etc are available to paddle on. Loved the free resort shuttle bus which runs regularly to Vivo City shopping centre where there are some nice restaurants and from where you can easily and cheaply catch the MRT out to explore China Town, Little India and other areas of interest. Also loved the Sentosa free buses and beach tram which leave every 10 minutes from the bottom of the resort's driveway and take you around the island. The resort is also an easy walk along the beach track to other attractions on Sentosa yet without being amongst the noise and "hussle and bustle". The Missing that comfy king sized bed already!

Room Tip: We had room 305, not high enough for an ocean view but a nice view of the pool. The room is nearly a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank n s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
183 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2013

We,have stayed at alot of hotels in Singapore having been there about 18 times,we stayed on this island one which is beautiful,the rooms are lovely and the views are over the sea and their swimming pool/gardens and the lovely lagoon is wonderful.The restaurant we ate in was abit expensive and l couldnt really get the food l would like being English food only person,but my husband likes anything.The pool is nice ,with a bar and you walk through the pool area right onto the lagoon and beach,and palm trees,its lovely. The sea is just behind aswell and you can just walk a few yards and look out at all the ships.There are more hotels on the island now,when we started going this was the only one and the whole Sentosa Island has been spoiled in our eyes from tranquil gardens ,water features,fountains,bird shows,oh beautiful,now its Universal Studios,in our eyes we wont be going on that island again.depends what you want isnt it,to us its been ruined having been there so many times now we couldnt even get our bearing from the Merlion,thats about all we reconized.Hotel though smashing.

Room Tip: front facing the sea,back are fine,we have had one looking into alot of lucious vegetation,so its a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JEANDALBY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sentosa Island
W Singapore Sentosa Cove
#4 of 13 in Sentosa Island
1,867 reviews
Hard Rock Hotel Singapore
#10 of 13 in Sentosa Island
2,014 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marina Bay
Marina Bay Sands
Marina Bay Sands
#37 of 312 in Singapore
21,813 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La's Rasa Sentosa Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La's Rasa Sentosa Resort & Spa

Property: Shangri-La's Rasa Sentosa Resort & Spa
Address: 101 Siloso Road, Sentosa Island 098970, Singapore (Formerly Shangri-La's Rasa Sentosa Resort)
Location: Singapore > Sentosa Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Sentosa Island
#2 Spa Hotel in Sentosa Island
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Sentosa Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La's Rasa Sentosa Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 454
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shangri-La's Rasa Sentosa Resort, Singapore's only beachfront resort, is situated at Sentosa Island. Far from the hustle and bustle of the city, yet close to major attractions like Orchard Road, Little India and Clarke Quay, the resort is conveniently linked to mainland Singapore by a causeway. It is next to numerous attractions including the Universal Studios, Underwater World and Dolphin Lagoon. The business district is a mere 15 minutes away by car. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Shangri-La's Rasa Sentosa Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri-La`s Rasa Sentosa Hotel Sentosa Island
Rasa Hotel Sentosa Island
Shangri La Sentosa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing