We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Standard shangri-la resort in Asia”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Shangri-La's Rasa Sentosa Resort & Spa
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Sentosa Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 25, 2012 via mobile

I have been to Shangri-la in cebu and penang. This one is newly renovated so it is ok but room size is a bit small. But for this price range included free wifi, buffet breakfast and kids club and water slide for kids and beaches too. How can I compliant? I would say value for money.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HongKongTrojan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,899)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,619 - 2,625 of 3,899 reviews

Reviewed October 23, 2012

My family and i stayed in the family room (garden. Rm 107). We had a very good stay in the resort. The room was spacious, bed was comfortable and the toilet was magnificent! My two kids enjoyed the kids club activities. They had lots of fun and even refused to part from the friendliest 'uncles and aunties' who entertained them. The swimming area was superb and the kids' pool was really nice! We enjoyed our breakfast as the spread was superb and we had gd fun watching the peacock at the outdoor area of the restaurant.
Overall, an impressive resort and i'd definitely recommend this resort to families with children.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fiztan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Me and my partner stayed here for 3 nights at the end of our Singapore holiday. We really liked the hotel, good size rooms, on the whole friendly staff, only one person was a little bit short with us and she was the check in person. Beds were comfortable, nice sheets, good aircon. The swimming poole was a good size and clean.

At check in we were told breakfast was not included even though we had booked a room with breakfast. Not sure if it was our travel agent or the hotel who made the cock up. We called our travel agent who managed to sort it out without too much hassle. She did say that if she couldnt arrange it we should pay for it and she will reimburse us. For 3 days of breakfast buffets for 2 people it was going to cost 260SGD. That is an expensive breakfast!!! The range of food was good, western cooked, cereals, yoghurts, Asian foods like dumplings, sticky rice, Indian and Arabic foods. Peacocks also come out for breakfast trying to pick up dropped scraps.

The hotel has a Refresh room which we made use of, it is a locked room near the lobby, just ask for the key. There is a nice clean shower room and a good sized dressing room. We used it as we were getting picked up late and wanted showers before getting out airport transfer.

Also has a very good gym, my partner said it was one of the best hotel gyms he has used.

The only irritation for us was at check in, the check lady was a little short but not too bad, we did book a king size bedroom, at check in she would only offer us two king singles. This was our second hotel room and the same happened there. We did feel it was because we are two gay guys, they seemed really cagey when we asked for a kingsize bed, it worked out ok in the end as we just pushed the two beds together making a superking and the next morning the room service guys put a superking sheet on the bed making it one big bed. Singapore is a very conservative country, I think they are still getting used to gay people, it might also be bacause we are not flamboyant queens and dont make our sexuality a major issue, but it was irritating.

Room Tip: We had a hillside room, I think the sea view rooms have clear windows from the bathroom looking out...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank davepoole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

This was a return visit after some years, and we were pleased to find that the facilities had be updated and extended. We received a very warm welcome on our arrival from both the receptionist and the Executive Chef Glen Roberts, and as part of the welcome we received a pass enabling free entry to Sentosa Island from Singapore for three days which was renewable free of charge when required. After completing the check-in procedure we were escorted to our room by the receptionist. Our room was a good size and overlooked the sea from the balcony. It was clean, comfortable and fresh smelling, and remained that way throughout our two week stay. The bathroom was well appointed, and had a good supply of toiletries which were frequently replenished. Complementary bottled water was supplied twice a day, and there were water and ice dispensers on a number of floors. Tea and coffee facilities were provided in the rooms as was a complimentary newspaper each day. For those requiring it there were also washing machines available for guests use. The hotel also made available three computers for guests use.
The pool was busy most days, yet despite this there were always plenty of sun loungers to go round. There was however some noise from passing boats, but this did not detract from the pleasant surroundings of the hotel. The was a troupe of roughly six monkeys that visited the hotel balconies some evenings (see photographs), and a group of Peacocks in the hotel grounds.
In addition to Sentosa's free transport network the hotel provided its own complimentary shuttle bus to the HarboutFront Centre and the adjoining Vivo City Centre (both with access to the HarbourFront MRT), which ran daily every 20 minutes from 0900 – 2340. This was a very convenient service, and a plus point for the hotel. Overall we had a great stay at this obviously popular hotel, and would suggest it as an alternative to a city centre hotel mainly because of the attractions on its doorstep and the ease of getting to the city.

Room Tip: Worth paying the little extra for a sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Molesey19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Overall a pleasant stay, the concierge and luggage staff are outstanding - nothing is too much trouble, front desk staff a bit robotic but the hotel was very busy. Rooms are a bit small and the whole place while pleasant just looks a bit tired. The pool is the best part of the hotel if you like swimming. Location is fine but needs a bus ride to the main beachfront. The only issue I have is that we were emailed to ask if we want to pay 1/2 price for a late checkout to 4pm which I replied to saying yes as we were flying out very late. Received an email confirming late checkout was arranged. When I rang to double check the day before leaving, we were told that late checkout was to 1pm- this is a major error on their part and just wasn't good enough, it was up to me to go and see the concierge to sort things out. Apart from that the house keeping staff were all lovely. Bed may be a bit firm for some but was ok for me.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BluebirdPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2012

I can really say it is a resort hotel. It just don't have that mood. there is a big Container Terminals some where opposite. You can the big big cargo ship there.

The hotel is a bit old and shabby, facility is so-so. Not very good but acceptable.

Sentosa is far away from the city centre. it take a long and expensive if you want some city tour.

everyday's breakfast buffet are offering the same food and same combination, it is boring because everybody will stay a few days in the resort and eat the same food again and again. Also breakfast room is always have a long queen to wait for table, for peak hour you have wait up to half an hour!!! that means the breakfast room is too small compared with the total number of the hotel guest.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EllieChan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2012

A family of 2 adults and 2 chuldren 2 & 6 we stayed for 2 nights to have some luxury at the end of our holiday. We wish we had stayed an extra few to soak up the pur luxury of the resort. Service is excellent in every facet, front desk, concierge,cleaning staff, restaurants,pool towel station.just everything about Shangri-La Sentosa was a delight to experience. The beachside tram makes it extremely scenic to travel to the monorail to get to Universal Studios and the boardwalk. But there is also a bus stop right outside the front of the resort if you prefer a more quicker direct route to your particular outing on Sentosa. The resort provides a pass which allows you free travel on these during your stay which made moving around the island extremely easy with 2 small children. The beakfast was part of our package and was a smorgasboard of the world. Providing food which would satisfy any dietary requirements wants or needs. Even satisfied our 2 picky eaters with a dedicated low to the ground childrens section where they could get their own food and drinks.:-) The pool is so inviting with a dedicated childrens waterslide/water funpark area. So much fun and well supervised by staff to prevent unwanted injuries. We ate at the beachside Italian Restaurant.. it closed at 9pm and as we didn't arrive til 8.30pm we felt a little pressured to eat quickly as they closed up around us and a few other guests. Special attention is made to detail with soft pillowtop coverings on the beds to make them more inviting for sleep, fluffy pillows which suited us exceptionally well. Mood lighting in the room, great swivel television so the kids could see it from their beds and could also be turned to see it from the bath. A lovely touch was a few pieces of fruit,nuts and dried fruit in the room on arrival and comlimentary bottles of water replaced each day.The resort is tasteful and stylishly decorated and has a wow factor when you walk in through the entrance and view the poolside from the top of the staircase leading down to the pool. Stunnning view out to Singapore Harbour full of ships. It looks like it's own city at night. We loved the Private beach complete with deck chairs.Our own little piece of the South China Sea beachfront. We indulged in a drink from the Poolside bar but found it extremely expensive, but there is a 7 to 11 store 50m from the resort so that is very convenient for buying icecreams etc for the children. This was a wonderful place to take full advantage of what's on offer on Sentosa but with luxury and we looked forward to returning to the resort each day to relax poolside before dinner. We will definately be returning but next time we will make sure we stay longer. :-)

Room Tip: Poolview rooms have the best outlook. Overlooking the entire resort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shellyonholidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sentosa Island
W Singapore Sentosa Cove
#3 of 13 in Sentosa Island
2,066 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hard Rock Hotel Singapore
#10 of 13 in Sentosa Island
2,179 reviews
Orchard Road
Shangri-La Hotel, Singapore
Shangri-La Hotel, Singapore
#10 of 319 in Singapore
5,249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La's Rasa Sentosa Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La's Rasa Sentosa Resort & Spa

Address: 101 Siloso Road, Sentosa Island 098970, Singapore (Formerly Shangri-La's Rasa Sentosa Resort)
Location: Singapore > Sentosa Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Sentosa Island
#4 Luxury Hotel in Sentosa Island
#4 Spa Hotel in Sentosa Island
Price Range: $288 - $514 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La's Rasa Sentosa Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 454
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shangri-La's Rasa Sentosa Resort, Singapore's only beachfront resort, is situated at Sentosa Island. Far from the hustle and bustle of the city, yet close to major attractions like Orchard Road, Little India and Clarke Quay, the resort is conveniently linked to mainland Singapore by a causeway. It is next to numerous attractions including the Universal Studios, Underwater World and Dolphin Lagoon. The business district is a mere 15 minutes away by car. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Shangri-La's Rasa Sentosa Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri-La`s Rasa Sentosa Hotel Sentosa Island
Rasa Hotel Sentosa Island
Shangri La Sentosa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing