We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very disappointed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Shangri-La's Rasa Sentosa Resort & Spa
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Sentosa Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 25, 2007

We had to queue for at least 15-20mins to check-in which i though it's a waste of time. When we got into our room, we realise the boiler flask is broken and leaking. Tried calling housekeeping, but no one ever picks it up. So we had to grab any hotel staff from the corridor. The quality of the hotel's service is absolutely terrible and unbearable. For the price that we are paying, I would say it's not worth it.

The cleaniness of the hotel was terrible as well, we had a open drain trap choked with tissue paper residue at the balcony. The hairdryer was an antique. It seems like they've been using since the day they started.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank goose11111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,840)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,191 - 3,197 of 3,840 reviews

Reviewed September 25, 2007

MARVELLOUS Mexican cuisine, Mariachi music, sensuous dancers were not the only thing I enjoyed here recently. Coupled with colourful Tequila Sunrise cocktails and ice cold Margaritas, I could play it cool the whole night and more! The views and ambience of this resort hotel are so good, it can make you de-stress in a few hours. Attentive service is always family friendly and the little children are made to feel really welcome. This is especially so in Trapizza, the unique beachside pizzeria where the kiddies can sit at special low tables, and actually make their own pizzas, under careful supervision, of course. The other outstanding feature, that I have not seen anywhere else in he world during my extensive travels as The Travelling Gourmet, a Travel, Food & Wine Writer/Editor, is...a real TRAPEZE! So diners can do a Burt Lancaster a la Hollywood imitation, and fly on the Trapeze. For the uninitiated, Burt lancaster was a real trapeze artist in a circus, before becoming a Hollywood leading man, and he used to make lots of movies with a Circus theme, where he would do in the movies what he did before in real life. I respectfully recommend that you do this trapeze act before dinner, for obvious reasons. The General Manager , Ben Bousnina, who is French, is one of the most jovial gentlemen I have ever had the pleasure of meeting, with a slightly mischevious sense of humour. Stay here soon when you visit Singapore, and you may not want to leave, especially after you enjoy a slice or two of freshly baked Pizza Quatro Stagioni (my personal favourite) with some robust and macho Barolo Italian wine, and watch the sunset over the island of Sentosa in the Ruby of the Orient that is Singapore.....By Dr. Michael Lim The Travelling Gourmet, a renowned Travel, Food & Wine Writer in Asia.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank TheTravellingGourmet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2007

We were apprehensive after reading some poor reviews on TripAdvisor but were very pleasantly surprised. We stayed in the executive seaview rooms which were very freshly done up, with excellent aircon (some other reviews said the aircon didn't work). Rooms were clean and comfortable (a little small but most are these days). Great for kids - brilliant pool area.
Sentosa has loads of stuff to do. Overall we were pleased with our stay and would go back. May not be for honeymooners or people without children.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank ahendo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2007

We stayed here for a long weekend. Sentosa is a great place for kids and this pool was the icing on the cake. We had ajoining rooms - a suite and a regular room with 2 twin beds and a pull out bed. The suite looked as if it had been redone but the regular room was a bit tired. My husband stays at different Shangri-La hotels in Asia so we were upgraded to this more deluxe suite. The patio off of both rooms had beautiful views and were a great place to have a relaxing drink at the end of the day or a coffee in the morning. The breakfast was good but very crowded. The other meals we had and room service were not very good - with the exception of Trapizza (pizza place on the beach) which was GREAT. They have 3 water slides that even a 2 year old could go on. My 10 and 7 year olds loved the slides although technically the 10 year old was too tall.

Sentosa has a lot to offer also. Do not miss going on the LUGE ride. You can get there by the complimentary beach shuttle. My kids loved it and so did we. There is also an aquarium across the street and you can go and swim with the dolphins (make reservation early though because we tried 2 weeks early and they were all booked.) We also took a taxi to Singapore's Night Safari which is also not to be missed!

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Tokyomcqs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2007

After spending the best part of 3 weeks touring Hong Kong and Australia the last leg of our journey was 9 nights in Singapore. We chose the Rasa Sentosa Resort as it appeared family friendly, was close to attractions without being on top of them and that it also had a beach. It delivered on all of these and we had a fantastic time. There were 5 of us, 2 adults and 3 children, 7,10 and 12. We had 2 inter-connecting rooms with sea views which were larger than I expected. The rooms were a little dated but were clean and serviced daily by friendly staff. The pool area and gardens were fantastic, the kids really enjoyed it even when they were sharing it with the 4 foot iguanas or peacocks that patrolled from time to time.
The restaurants were good, the pool bar excellent although drinks can be expensive.
Getting around is easy with regular free shuttle buses taking you to other parts of Sentosa or to the harbour front where you could then take the MTR (underground) to down town Singapore. The staff were excellent and we got invited to a cocktail party by the manager as we were treated as longer stay guests (over 7 nights I believe). I would go back tomorrow and it was a fabulous end to our trip.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank bevyboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2007

While I would have to agree with some of the previous reviews regarding musty rooms, poor air-conditioning etc., for those looking for a resort-style hotel within striking distance of central singapore (15 taxi-minutes), the Rasa Sentosa is hard to beat.

I stayed for three nights recently with my six and nine-year old daughters, both of whom spent most of their time playing in the well-kept yet relaxed pool complex. The room was no better than 3 star, but if you're in a exotic location to check out the inside of a hotel room, you either have a strange and unhealthy fetish or too much money in the bank.

The staff were unremittingly helpful, polite and efficient. There is a free shuttle to take you vivocity and the harbourfront complex when the joys of sentosa wear thin.

But for people with kids under 24, Rasa Sentosa is a fantastic place to stay- there is a free kid's club, two games rooms, reasonably priced (for a resort) food and the pools with slides edging on to the beach itself.

Opt for the ocean view rooms if the budget allows.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank mikebush99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2007

I totally agree with the review Aug 11 2007. We too were appalled to find ourselves eating breakfast with peacocks and wild birds. Not very hygienic not to mention the safety of guests. We were allocated a room only to find it damp, very musty with mildew on the curtains. The A/C was none existent and only blew existing air around the room. We asked for a room change which we got but were faced with same problems. Situation so bad we tried to get back into the Oriental- a real five star hotel! Unfortunately it was fully booked so decided to 'put up' with our room and spent as much time out of it as we could. Food okay -but could have had more variety especially during the evening sitting. Found the reception staff incompetant. They had no idea of who was staying in what room and if they were half board etc! Would I stay there again -never! Not worth the money we paid for it.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank butterflyCo_Durham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sentosa Island
W Singapore Sentosa Cove
#3 of 13 in Sentosa Island
1,995 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hard Rock Hotel Singapore
#10 of 13 in Sentosa Island
2,130 reviews
Marina Bay
Marina Bay Sands
Marina Bay Sands
#40 of 317 in Singapore
23,182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La's Rasa Sentosa Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La's Rasa Sentosa Resort & Spa

Address: 101 Siloso Road, Sentosa Island 098970, Singapore (Formerly Shangri-La's Rasa Sentosa Resort)
Location: Singapore > Sentosa Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Sentosa Island
#4 Luxury Hotel in Sentosa Island
#4 Spa Hotel in Sentosa Island
Price Range: $275 - $539 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La's Rasa Sentosa Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 454
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shangri-La's Rasa Sentosa Resort, Singapore's only beachfront resort, is situated at Sentosa Island. Far from the hustle and bustle of the city, yet close to major attractions like Orchard Road, Little India and Clarke Quay, the resort is conveniently linked to mainland Singapore by a causeway. It is next to numerous attractions including the Universal Studios, Underwater World and Dolphin Lagoon. The business district is a mere 15 minutes away by car. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Shangri-La's Rasa Sentosa Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri-La`s Rasa Sentosa Hotel Sentosa Island
Rasa Hotel Sentosa Island
Shangri La Sentosa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing