We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice hotel but is going down the curve”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Resorts World Sentosa - Festive Hotel
Ranked #11 of 13 Hotels in Sentosa Island
Sarawak, Malaysia
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“A nice hotel but is going down the curve”
Reviewed May 5, 2013

One of the cheapest hotel you can find in Sentosa island. But, it is still way pricier compared to other hotels in Sibgapore and they should do way better than this with the price that you pay.

The location is very strategic as it is close-by to all the attractions in RWS. Well, everything is close-by in RWS as this place is actually quite small compared to how the agents or the hotel staff describe it.

The staffs are friendly, although it feels like they are forced to do so since it is their job. It is better for you to ask as much information as possible from them as they will not tell you anything if you don't ask for it, and make sure you ask the right questions too....

The room is okay, as small as any other rooms in Singapore. The bed is quite comfortable. However, the internet connection is very expensive and there is no movie channel on tv. If you want to watch a movie, you have to subscribe to their pay-per-view.

The facilities like the shower, iron, etc. Are not well maintained.

For Muslim travelers, there is no halal restaurant around except for kfc and in USS.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mohammad_Mustapha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,864 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    364
    685
    510
    197
    108
See reviews for
1,346
153
15
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (407)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2013

After a long 19hr flight from LAX we were looking forward to staying at the Festive as they are only the few family orientyed hotel. Well the maze to get to the hotel the underground parking then to the hotel you need a GPS system. Check in was smooth, room was ok, Air con was warm and the room was medicore not a family oriented room. Luckily we spent the whole time out, when we checked out my wife left an expensive blouse called the hotel to see if it can be posted, they dont post things out. Well after the serviuce we got in US and then SG there was a vast difference. Free internet, mini bar was cheap etc. I know Festive people wont respond to this but that is RWS policy dont care. Do you self a favour stay outside sentosa much better.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PerthGuy2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Sentosa Island hotels

Shepparton
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2013

The Sentosa Island is a great location and the hotels in this group are all linked by a shopping mall. There is so much to do on this island in such a small space. Attractions include Indoor skydiving, beach side dining, shopping, monorails, theme park etc. The Festive hotel was the more economical hotel in the group and cost around $280AUD per night. The internet cost at $25AUD per day is a sting. The breakfast buffet was very good with a variety to suit all tastes. The pool is very nice with a kids wet play area. The reception was friendly and efficient.

The small crowded rooms are dated and very dark due to the wall and roof color and it is hard to see things as there is not enough lighting in the room. During the day you can open the curtains for more light. The balcony is unsafe for children and we kept these doors locked. The beds have bases much wider than the mattresses that we constantly knocked our shins on. The room had a bad musty cigarette smell. The extra bed for the kids was just a pull apart couch / mattress on the floor with limited bedding supplied.

We will definitely return to Sentosa Island but may try one of the other hotels next time.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2013

Stayed at Family Deluxe king room. D kid's upper deck bed its cushion wrapped wall look moldy. The family room has a sofa bed suitable for family of 4. But d room only provide 3 cups n 3 bedroom slippers (1 for child) D room i stayed d toilet seat need repair. Hotel has no free wifi.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cathryn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kununurra
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2013

When we checked in to the Festive Hotel we expected to be given a family room with the loft bed, as we had booked. Instead we were upgraded to a suite as there were no family rooms left. The suite was AMAZING! It had a living area, main bedroom (with the MOST comfortable bed EVER!!!!) and an amazing bathroom! It was very neat and tidy and the flowers on the roof were really cool! The kids slept on the fold out sofa bed in the living area which wasn't the most comfortable but did the job. The pool and gym were really good and we also had breakfast there which was really good as well. We are coming back in a few days and we are hoping we are upgraded again but also would love to try the family room so the kids don't have to sleep on a hard sofa bed for 3 nights! Very impressed with the Festive Hotel. :)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wags99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I wanted to stay at Resorts World Sentosa (RWS) and decided to give the Festive Hotel a try. We had a Deluxe King Room and we stayed between 21/4 to 24/4.

The Positives: Good location; USS, SEA Aquarium, Adventure Cove Waterpark and Casino at your doorstep and a short monorail ride to nearby Vivocity using the pink Sentosa pass (free issue to in-house guests, just ask reception). Getting a taxi is also easy, just make sure you bring the same pink Sentosa pass with you to verify you are an in-house guest for re-entering RWS. You can also purchase USS, SEA Aquarium and the Waterpark from the concierge. Generally, the staff were friendly and helpful.

The Negatives: It's definitely pricey and I expected much more for the price we were paying. The room we got was quite small and it smelled consistently damp, probably due to poor ventilation. When we arrived, we found that the toilet was not very clean, could still see handprints on the back of the door and it just smelled damp throughout. The TV channels were very limited, I personally think more English channels should be included. The safety deposit box was not working on the second day (it kept quoting "low batt") and the iron was not functioning well either.

To summarise, location is great, service is good but hotel standards could be further improved.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Suria_estlesoleil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2013

This hotel was just alright.....
We are 2 adults and 3 children (7,3 and 1yo) so room had sufficient bedding for us to stay together. I noticed some other reviews have said that they could get 4-5 children in as they sleep 2 in the loft bed. The loft bed is up very high, fairly secure - just put firm rules in place before bed! We wouldn't let 3yo down unless he called out, its quite a high ladder. There is no way our 2 boys would have shared this bed - its a single bed, maybe smaller children would have shared and been comfortable but our 2 boys would have ended up in tears at 1am!
Luckily the sofa bed folds out at the bottom of the loft area. But you have to make it yourself and it gets packed away every morn as part of housekeeping so you have to make it again every night. Also needed to ask for linen regularly - they never left linen for the sofa bed and we noticed that loft bed wasn't made either.
We stayed for 4 nights and had some concerns about cleanliness. Carpets were a bit grotty and smelly, loft bed was a bit smelly. Just felt a bit dingy and dirty. Toilet seat was broken - reported it twice, but never repaired. It seems to be a huge hotel and operates on a budget.
Breakfast was included but was quite disappointing. Cheap and cheerful. Always had to queue to get a table. Staff were super busy, there was never any bowls for cereal - I gave up on day 2 and used tea cups. We were always scraping the bottom of the dishes. It always felt REALLY busy and rushed, people rushing everywhere. Not a 5 star hotel in my opinion. Far from it. It was quite budget so would definately shop around for other hotels on Sentosa. It's not major but just little things like the dining tables often had odd chairs, some tables were outdoor tables with big metal chairs - like an outdoor setting. Others had nice dining chairs, but there were about 3 different styles. Didn't really matter at the end of the day, but not a 5star experience.
having said that - would definately stay on Sentosa! Especially with children, was great to be able to bundle back to hotel without queuing for monorail after Universal Studios. Its a HUGE island and you need to be able to spend the whole day - probably 2-3 days to see and do everything. Take advantage of the day passes packages, it was really worth it. At first we thought it wasn't, but bought them anyway and as we passed other attractions and realised they were included we were able to stop and do them too - like go up in the big revolving tiger tower for scenic views. Kids loved it.

Not many places to eat there (several fancy restaurants) and no supermarket, a few 7elevens but no baby food! The restaurant at this hotel advised they were closing as of Monday and would no longer offer a dinner service. Hard Rock hotel is right next door and we noticed that their menu is exactly the same as Festive Hotels...... not sure what the go is there.

The small coffeshop in the lobby offers good coffee and cakes - but service is terrible. Not sure what price you have to pay for a smile!
A disappointing stay after our first 4 days in Singapore at Swissotel on Stanford, Festive hotel was just alright. It had everything we needed but just not as nice as our first 4 days. And comparing two 5 star hotels, Festive doesn't quite meet the standards.

Room Tip: If it smells of smoke - ask to have it freshened up. Had a nice view of cable car. No tips really.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amandao352
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sentosa Island hotels
0.1 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Singapore
Hard Rock Hotel Singapore
#10 of 13 in Sentosa Island
2,014 reviews
0.6 mi away
Shangri-La's Rasa Sentosa Resort & Spa
0.2 mi away
Resorts World Sentosa - Equarius Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Sofitel Singapore Sentosa Resort & Spa
0.1 mi away
Resorts World Sentosa - Hotel Michael
1.7 mi away
W Singapore Sentosa Cove
W Singapore Sentosa Cove
#4 of 13 in Sentosa Island
1,867 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Resorts World Sentosa - Festive Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Resorts World Sentosa - Festive Hotel

Property: Resorts World Sentosa - Festive Hotel
Address: 8 Sentosa Gateway Resorts World Sentosa, Sentosa Island 098269, Singapore
Phone Number:
Location: Singapore > Sentosa Island
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 13 Hotels in Sentosa Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Resorts World Sentosa - Festive Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 447
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exuberant yet relaxing, and brimming with family and child-friendly facilities, Festive Hotel makes for the ideal family getaway. The Deluxe Family King room comes complete with a sofa bed and a loft bed to comfortably accommodate a family of four. For some splashing good time, make your way to the hotel pool. While the little ones have a blast at the separate kids' pool and wet play area, adults can relax by the poolside cabanas. For more family entertainment, Universal Studios Singapore®, S.E.A. Aquarium™ and Adventure Cove Waterpark™ are just minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Resorts World Sentosa - Festive Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing