We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location and pool - but shabby service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hard Rock Hotel Singapore
Ranked #9 of 13 Hotels in Sentosa Island
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great location and pool - but shabby service”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

We stayed over new year Dec/Jan 2012/13. My husband, myself and two 11 year old children, staying for five nights. Overall this hotel was a bit disappointing. We had interconnecting rooms on the 5th floor. The first odd thing was the awful (and I mean really awful) smell in the foyers, lifts and corridors. It smells like they used the fur of a million wet dogs to carpet the floors. I looked back on some Tripadvisor reviews and see that others have noticed it too. It was quite off-putting. My husband was annoyed at the $32 per day WIFI charge (especially as our previous hotel the Pan Pacific Singapore had been free and ultra fast). The service here was terrible - long waits, indifferent staff, rude staff etc. One evening at 10pm there was an abrubt knock on the door, the guy calls out 'maintenance' and walks (without hesitation) into our room, he said he had come to change our fridge because it wasn't working. I said it was working, however some of lights weren't (which we had called about and never had fixed) and I asked if he was here for that…. no, he said and then insisted on feeling the fridge. After checking it was working he then looked at his piece of paper and said.. 'oh, wrong room' and walked straight out without a word of apology! The buffet breakfast was horrible, very little choice, and poor quality.

There were a few things that were good about the Hard Rock namely:
- location, location, location… right next to Universal, right next to Monorail, right next to Adventure Cove, shops / restaurants, Aquariuim…. all within 5 minutes walk
- fantastic pool - really, really brilliant pool one of the best we have ever experienced
- funky rooms - cheap, but amazing looking

I would not stay at that Hard Rock again. Compared to the Hard Rock in Orlando florida (which was amazing) Singapore was very disappointing.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HRHWallis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,948 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    405
    717
    484
    184
    158
See reviews for
1,018
366
41
138
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (413)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
86 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013

We booked hard rock for our honeymoon as I love to go to the hard rock cafes when I go around the world.
After booking we were a little worried due to some of the bad trip advisor reviews.
Take it from me don't be worried! This hotel is cool, modern ,something different ,clean and close to everything you need at sentosa.
People complained about it being dark inside. Yes it is but that's the theme. Rock stars don't want bright lights in their eyes when they have been partying!
It's dark cause its trying to be like a rock club which is what its all about. If you don't like it take you and grandpa somewhere else.
The pool is huge and very good. The rooms were fine ,the only complaint I have is you can hear people in the hallway all the time.
The hotel has heaps of cool memorabilia throughout which I liked and plays music all day .we even had a huge live rock concert while we were here.
The breakfast is ok but nothing really special. The drinks are expensive $6 for a can of coke.
The prepay WiFi should be free as its not a cheap hotel.
Overall we enjoyed the place, nowhere is perfect but some of the bad reviews in my opinion are unjustified. We would recommend it here and so did our friends who stayed here a week before us.
Rock on!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bjotraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2013

We pulled up to the hotel and went WOW. As you walk into the reception you feel special. The room made you feel like a rock star. The hotel has an amazing pool complex and even a pool bar. The whole real world resort is out of this world. We stayed only 2 and a half days and we didn't get to see the whole area, just so much to do. Universal studios is only about 2 min away and is by far the best fun park I have been to. The transformers ride is amazing . My wife and I acted like 14 yr olds for a day and are still talking about it. Also the casino is a must ( we loved it , got back to the hotel at 3 am, great time). We will be back and spend maybe 5 days next time so we can enjoy more of this resort and Singapore.

Room Tip: We had a room overlooking the harbour. Great view at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Graeme O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2013 via mobile

This is the first time that I stayed at Hard Rock hotel. Overall, Hard Rock @ Sentosa is modern, nicely decorated and well maintenance.

The room is big enough for a family of four. 2 double beds are provided. We joined both the bed and my children were happily rolling from one end to another. There's a magnificent view from our room.

The bathroom is well equipped with separate shower, toilet and dressing area. It really give you a rock n roll feel.

Kids love the swimming pool. It's big enough for them to explore and it come with a mini slide. However, I hate the artificial sand around the swimming.

The hotel is slightly far from Universal Studio, 5 to 10 mins walking distance.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bihfang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

I booked three rooms at the hotel for a three night stay for six of us (myself and teen kids). The Hard Rock Hotel on Sentosa was a woeful disappointment. Some glaring improvements need to be made to this hotel -- from the attitude of the staff to the cleanliness of the rooms. My first encounter with the check in staff was the first disappointment. Sadly it was not to be the last. At 245pm I was told the rooms were not ready (official check in time is 3pm). I was offered one room for six of us to wait in while the rooms were prepared. Unreasonable to say the least. Hard Rock, this is how you SHOULD treat guests from whom you have already collected payment before they have even switched on a light. We ought to have at least been offered a welcome drink and seated comfortably somewhere rather than expected to stand and wait around for you to get your act together. The offer of asking us to wait six in a room was ridiculous. .The other disappointment was finding two of the rooms had not been well cleaned when we eventually got into them. I had to collar one house cleaning staff to polish mirrors covered in oily fingerprints. The final disappointment -- check out staff who copped one serious attitude with me when I requested a late checkout. I asked for a late check out o 2 pm. Late checkout is typically noon. The male staff member attendance said we could only have one room for the six of us again until 1pm.

When I complained that at check in we had been given two rooms late, he spent a great deal of time searching through our records and finally tried to negotiate the fact that since we had been given two rooms late then we could only have two rooms for late check out and he calculated that it meant we could stay till 1.30pm. I've never heard such posturing nonsense in all my years of staying in hotels. 5-star hotel? Hard Rock -- you wish.

Room Tip: Get a room with a balcony that faces the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kappascat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Sentosa Island hotels

manila
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights in this hotel in April 2013. I booked the package promotion ( 2night stay + Universal Studio tickets, Sea Aquarium tickets and the Waterpark tickets for 2) through hotel bookings.com

Check in was handled by Diana. She was very friendly. We were upgraded to a smoking one bedroom suite since they were informed that the trip was for my mom's 70th bday. We checked it first because I am not sure if the room smells. Luckily, upon checking the room, it was acceptable. We were also given a complimentary bday cake.

I found the room below my expectation. The dining table needs to be replaced. The double lock has to be fixed.. However, the bath and toilet is excellent. The room has 2 separate toilets. The toilet inside the bedroom has a separate cubicle from the tub and a separate shower.

The breakfast was good. However, the day before our stay at Hard Rock, we came from another hotel in KL which has an excellent selection so I find Hard Rock's breaksfast a little limited.

I find the lobby too dark at night time.. I don't know if its the same for all Hard Rock hotels but I find it a little bothersome.

It was the staff who made the difference. Aside from Diana, I was also impressed by Yudi who works as a lobby attendant. I worked at a hotel before and I know that most staff interact with the younger people. Yudi, however made an effort to interact with my elderly mom. I also found the in-room dining staff who delivered our cake very courteous but at the same time friendly. I, however failed to get his name.

The hotel wasn't what I expected it to be but there are staffs who made our stay pleasant.

Room Tip: If you have kids or with an elderly, better stay at Festive or Hotel Michael to avoid the long walk...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kindheartie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2013

booked a room at this hotel at the last minute as a anniversary staycation with the spouse and 1 yr old son. service was excellent. accidentally left a cellphone on the bench at the basement carpark just below the hotel and thankfully for us, it was discovered by one of the hotel staff. staff promptly texted a family member to get in touch with us to retrieve the phone! we really appreciated her honesty and integrity!

spent a day at the USS so we retired for the night with the little one. at breakfast, service staff was great with one staff even offering to help look after our son as we joined the buffet queue. went for a swim after and the pool was awesome!! my boy sure didn't wanna get out of the pool!

it was a short stay but a wonderful one. no doubt abt that!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kasfaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sentosa Island hotels
0.7 mi away
Shangri-La's Rasa Sentosa Resort & Spa
0.1 mi away
Resorts World Sentosa - Festive Hotel
0.2 mi away
Resorts World Sentosa - Equarius Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
W Singapore Sentosa Cove
W Singapore Sentosa Cove
#4 of 13 in Sentosa Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,775 reviews
1.0 mi away
Sofitel Singapore Sentosa Resort & Spa
0.2 mi away
Resorts World Sentosa - Hotel Michael™
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hard Rock Hotel Singapore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hard Rock Hotel Singapore

Property: Hard Rock Hotel Singapore
Address: 8 Sentosa Gateway | Resorts World Sentosa, Sentosa Island 098269, Singapore
Phone Number:
Location: Singapore > Sentosa Island
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Sentosa Island
#9 Luxury Hotel in Sentosa Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hard Rock Hotel Singapore 5*
Number of rooms: 364
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hard Rock Hotel Singapore offers uniquely designed accommodations with orchestrated service that delivers authentic experiences. Enjoy fashionable dining and entertainment options that combines both five-star service with a rock and roll edge only Hard Rock Hotel Singapore can offer. What’s more, being in a centralised location in the resort means you are minutes away from some of the region’s top attractions, such as Universal Studios Singapore® and S.E.A. Aquarium™, as well as Asia's flagship of the world-renowned ESPA. For those who need to host special events, take your pick from some of the best meeting and conference facilities, as well as an indoor exhibition space, including 30 function rooms and Asia's largest column-free ballroom that seats up to 6,500 guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Booking.com, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hard Rock Hotel Singapore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hard Rock Hotel, Singapore Hotel Sentosa Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing