We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice location - but definitely not a 5 star hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Resorts World Sentosa - Hotel Michael
Ranked #11 of 13 Hotels in Sentosa Island
Reviewed December 4, 2012

The Michael Hotel Sentosa advertises itself as a 5 star hotel. this it is not - but a good 4 star hotel. Location is good directly at Sentosa, close to restaurants, Universal studios, Sentosa Beaches and all the other attractions.

When you are a non-smoker make sure when booking a room that you book a non-smoking room. The smokers rooms and floors smell like an ash tray. This hotel is mostly booked by Asian Couples and families and they all seem to smoke, even though Singapore itself is nearly smoke free.

As nobody seems to be staying more than 1-2 nights check-in is always extremely busy, with people waiting in the lobby until their rooms are ready. Even though the reception staff is always nice and helpful.

We were lucky to get an upgrade to a suite room for the next night, as we had to stay the first night in a smokers room. The suite room was very spacious. The bathroom was also spacious with a free standing bath tub with a view - we did not use it, as it was so hot outside.

The bed was really big an comfortable, too.

As there are so many things to do on Sentosa, one tends not to stay too long in the hotel room, so I am not sure, if I would pay that extra to book a suite room.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fernweh3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (783)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

572 - 578 of 783 reviews

Reviewed November 29, 2012

staying in this hotel recently.Excellent and friendly service from check in to housekeeping. Great for family vacation eventhough the swimming pool small not suitable for kids. If there is swimming pool for kids it will be excellent ++. The room spacious, two single beds but like two double beds. One single beds can fit in two average size adult. Very clean room and decorative well. Location great if you want to go to sentosa and universal studio. Vivo city withinreach by using the tram and free ticket for the tram given by the hotel. So if you want to find cheap food just go to vivo city. Will definitely stay in this hotel again. To orchard by taxi at peak hours cost me less then $20, which is acceptable.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MRSZZ_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2012

I stayed here with my parents, aunties and cousins. Our itinerary included a visit to Universal Studios so it was very convenient to simply walk to the theme park, surrounded by food courts, restaurants, and convenience store, also just a train station away from Vivocity. The check-in was easy and quick. The hotel gave us two connecting rooms so, again, convenient for families to have this. The rooms are clean, bathrooms are well taken care of, and the amenities are great with the special tea i found in the room. However, during our stay, we feel somewhat out of touch of the personnel attentive and care. During our 3 night stay we only met a staff once in our room corridor and he did not even smile when we passed, seems like do not care at all. No staff also in the pool and pool reception. Very cold feeling, like we were on our own.

We bought the theme park tickets at the GRO who were on the other hand very helpful and nice. However, we enjoyed our stay, only miss out the human side of the hotel.

Room Tip: When you travel with family, good to have the connecting room, one with double bed, one with king-si...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fandy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2012

Stayed there with family over the Deepavali public holiday. The Lobby is off the shopping strip and has a zero arrival experience. The Reception area is just a transaction area, poorly lit where you are being processed.
The room was ok, decor is a matter of taste. General design pretty good with smart features to use space to the max such as a pull out table feature, sunken drawer for hair dryer with mirror etc.
The Pool and Gym seemed to be an after thought. The pool is small and wedged in between the building and huge Air Exhaust vents. The gym is small and uninviting. When we went there, there were no towels left just one huge pile of used ones on the floor. No staff to be seen around which is worrying on a busy public holiday.
Like many guests before us we ventured over to the Hard Rock Hotel Poolside which is a lot more child friendly and bigger. Service wise, there isn't any. No staff at all at anytime trying to sell you a drink or a snack.
We had the Brunch at the Starz restaurant at the Hard Rock Hotel. The buffet is priced at $55.-++ for adults and kids at 50%. As a hotel resident you also get 15% discount. Price value is not very good which was proven by the mere 20 people having lunch. The choices are very limited, food replenishment is very slow or not at all and quality is so so. For that price you can get a whole lot better buffets in Singapore any time.
All in all I would not stay there again. To go to Universal studios or any other attraction you do not have to stay at any of the RWS hotels. For the room rate you pay you will get better hotels with more memorable experiences in Singapore.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DT8888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

This hotel is a very good hotel to stay in because it is very artistic and has very nice rooms. The floor that we stayed in had a very beautiful view of the merlion, Crocksford Tower and more. The only tradeoff was that we were locked out of our hotel room due to a glitch. We were supposed to stay for three days two nights but they mistaken thought we were to stay for two days. All in all, we enjoyed ourselves very much.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tr1x1eNg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

I have stayed in Hotel Michael twice so far. The first time I was here, I did not quite appreciate the decor of the hotel which is mainly the modern art of Michael graves. The hotel's pool is also quite small and we had to walk quite a distance within the air-conditioned shopping alley to get to and from the more kid-friendly pool of Hard Rock Hotel. I always felt that we looked hilariously out of place walking amidst Chanel, Chopard and Hugo Boss in our wet swim clothes.

After staying at Hard Rock and Festive Hotel (twice), we returned to Hotel Michael this year. This time round, I appreciated the spaciousness and brightness of the room. I booked rooms for my parents and grandparents and felt that the bright environment was more pleasant for everyone.

The shower stall tends to flood - a common problem at all the RWS hotels. This is probably from all the sand (from the Hard Rock's beach) stuck in the drainage pipes.

We had rooms located quite far from the lift lobby. I was worried that my grandfather would tire from such a long walk but he managed just fine. The view from the rooms right at the end is of the large merlion statue which is either a good or bad (possibly scary at night) thing.

They were out of wheelchairs for loan during my 2 night stay there- thankfully my grandfather's walking stick had a little seat for him to rest during the long walks so it wasn't a problem.

None of the RWS hotels are really great but I would recommend this if you prefer a bright and clean environment.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Proudnewparents
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

This hotel located in Sentosa Island which is quite huge complex, so need to know the exact entrance when you first check in, otherwise you should walk quite far from one hotel to the others.
The room itself should be ok and clean, since I bring my 4 years old daughter, I want to get a non smoking floor, but I found it still have smell of cigarette when I entered the room. The housekeeping staff said they couldn't stop some guest who smoked along the corridor.

Hotel Michael located very near to the USS, so it's quite convenience when you bring young kids. It's just about 5 minutes walking and the surrounding is so beautiful with some nice design water fountain.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IndieJakarta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sentosa Island hotels
0.1 mi away
Resorts World Sentosa - Festive Hotel
0.3 mi away
Resorts World Sentosa - Equarius Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Singapore
Hard Rock Hotel Singapore
#10 of 13 in Sentosa Island
2,179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Shangri-La's Rasa Sentosa Resort & Spa
1.6 mi away
W Singapore Sentosa Cove
W Singapore Sentosa Cove
#4 of 13 in Sentosa Island
2,067 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sofitel Singapore Sentosa Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Resorts World Sentosa - Hotel Michael? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Resorts World Sentosa - Hotel Michael

Address: 8 Sentosa Gateway Resorts World Sentosa, Sentosa Island 098269, Singapore
Phone Number:
Location: Singapore > Sentosa Island
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 13 Hotels in Sentosa Island
Price Range: $128 - $1,349 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Resorts World Sentosa - Hotel Michael 5*
Number of rooms: 461
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A luxurious treat for art lovers, Hotel Michael is designed by one of America's greatest contemporary architects - Michael Graves. This boutique hotel bears the designer's elegant and distinctive touches, from lamps and crockery to furnishings and the decor. You will also enjoy a myriad of conveniences, and a short walk to the various attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Resorts World Sentosa - Hotel Michael reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing