We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very relaxing resorts”
Review of Capella Singapore

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Capella Singapore
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Sentosa Island
Reviewed November 13, 2013

Hotel staff will greet and personally bring you to the room and show you all facilities in the room. I was amazed when step into my room, it's very big suite with sea view. The bed is big enough to sleep in three persons and it's very clean.

Room Tip: The higher floor the better view you get
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank weeming
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alejandro H, General Manager at Capella Singapore, responded to this reviewResponded November 17, 2013

Thank you for leaving us this review on Tripadvisor. I am extremely happy to know of how much you liked the room and all its facilities, and especially the view. Located on Sentosa Island, we are very fortunate to be surrounded by 30 acres of lush natural greenery with beautiful views of the South China Sea.

I am very pleased that you enjoyed your time with us and I hope you will be back to stay with us again soon.

Best Regards
Alejandro Helbling
General Manager
Capella Singapore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,447)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

782 - 788 of 1,448 reviews

Reviewed November 12, 2013

Picked the one bedroom pool villa to celebrate my partner's birthday after a horrific hotel experience in downtown Singapore. I have to say, Capella Singapore has definitely raised the bar for the hotel industry. It is by far, the best stay i've ever had in Asia and Europe. Prior to arrival, the Personal Assistant called to confirm my early arrival request although i was not on a Singapore number. Not only the hotel staff, the staff in the restaurants were equally friendly, extremely helpful and patient. The hotel also arranged a nice little birthday cake for us to be served at dinner. The villa is beautifully designed, technology in the villa is impressive. The bed linen and plunge pool is hard to beat too. The Library is wonderful and we really enjoyed our afternoon tea with the variety of book and magazines available. Food is great in both The Knolls and Cassia. We had guests visiting us and the hotel staff was really nice to take them on the buggy to the carpark to collect the car. I will definitely come back again and spread the good words around. Please keep up with the great work!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank spotuv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alejandro H, General Manager at Capella Singapore, responded to this reviewResponded November 17, 2013

It was an absolute pleasure to read about the wonderful experience you had with us at Capella Singapore. We are very honoured to know that you consider us as one of the best experiences in Singapore.

At Capella Singapore, we make it our business to ensure that each of our guests have a very unique and memorable experience with us, whether they are celebrating a special occasion or just here to unwind and relax.

I am very happy that you enjoyed your whole stay with us, from the finishings in the room, to the services offered. Thank you so much for your support and recommending us to your friends. We will certainly do our best to maintain our service standards and experiences.

Best Regards
Alejandro Helbling
General Manager
Capella Singapore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2013

I love this hotel as you get the best service in the world.
You have your personal butler and the room is fantastic. High tech rooms with plenty of drinks and also snacks you need.
I love the Library they have. the infinity pool is just great.
Your personal butler will even show you around Capella with their small golf cart and show you different kinds of Villas. It was a nice experience.

When our friend visited they really brought them where we are and that time we were at the gym.
Spa is great. Although this place is a little expensive but you get the best anyway.

Breakfast bufffet is also a little pricey but it was good too.
Plue they have a free shuttle going to vivo city so its very convenient.

I will definitely come back to this hotel and I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frauessen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alejandro H, General Manager at Capella Singapore, responded to this reviewResponded November 17, 2013

Thank you for leaving us this lovely review on Tripadvisor. I am very pleased to read about how much you enjoyed your stay with us, from the facilities in the rooms to the service offered by our staff.

It is great that you were able to try out the award-winning Auriga spa and that you enjoyed the breakfast spread at The Knolls. Indeed Capella Singapore is located very conveniently just minutes away from city.

Thank you for recommending Capella Singapore and I look forward to welcoming you back for your next stay.

Best Regards
Alejandro Helbling
General Manager
Capella Singapore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2013

On our way to Bali, we chose to spend a week in Singapore. Prepared in advance with planned the trip all planned, we visited the two hotels . The first one was Capella hotel, where we spent four days, and having read all sorts of tourist reviews, booked two nights at the Marina bay hotel. At the end, visited a third hotel Four seasons, as will attempt to write about in order . As for the Capella hotel, we can confidently say that it is the best in Singapore and one of Asia's best hotels. It is located on the island of Sendosa and resembles not a city hotel , and the hotel is next to the Resort interesting animations for children and the attraction , within 15 minutes from the city center and 10 minutes by foot from the park 'Universal', with free scheduled shuttle that you can as well use. Gorgeous large rooms , impeccable service . Two restaurants, one Italian and second - Chinese, which is considered to be one of the best in Singapore. During these four days, my children, my wife and I got a lot of unforgettable experiences for both the island and the hotel. Although officially the hotel is considered as 5 star hotel, you can argue that it can be safely evaluated by six. The only thing that might be a bit upsetting is the price . The room in the Capella is twice more expensive than in four seasons. But at the same time , with all the good stuff, Capella is really worth the money and even exceeds its price. Since we do not often have a family vacation in Asia , we decided to read a lot of advertising and spend 2 days in the marina bay sands hotel. In order to truly understand the feeling of the hotel, you have to look at the railway station , such as Paddington. Huge hotel with a disgusting service. Lobby as a football field with a crowd of people. We waited for 40 minutes in the cue just to register ! At the end, we found that our rooms are not ready and we have to return in half an hour . Children were hungry, and it seemed reasonable to take them to lunch. Huge buffet which really reminded me of the army camp. A lot of people and the food is not tasty ! I can not rate the service because it was not when we are tired of looking for a manager who would have placed us at the table, we just occupied the first table we considered decent. And we clearly understand that the problem of our food is only our problem, we took plates, filled them with products, which they call food , found a table on where we found drinks and all that. It would not be true to say that the food was unhealthy, it just does not suit the five stars , it's like a huge fast food competing with Burger King at the supermarket and some kids like it, but the bill for the food you get is like in a chic restaurant ! ! After lunch, made ​​another attempt to get our rooms. It cost us another 30 minutes in line. As for the rooms , they are not bad. Not 5 stars , no worse and no better than fs (not possible to compare with Capella, different weight category ) . During the day, we visited the top floor , looked at the pool. Yeah, nice, but not wow . A lot of people , ugly service and so on. We were seven people: my wife and I, 4 kids from 5 to 20 years old and baby sitter for the youngest son . He's a hyperactive and he always enjoys huge crowds , parties , fast food outlets and all that. The opinion of others is from nothing good to disgusting ! It so happened that Singapore was a transit town to Bali. And on the way back home we had booked Marina bay hotel. We canceled the reservation and tried to move into Capella. Unfortunately Capella was fully booked, and so we settled in the Four seasons hotel. I can say nothing about the hotel of that name . It is expected to fs: nice rooms , service , food , location, . Everything is fine , everything is good . Summarizing if the hotel Capella estimate of 20 points , the four seasons I would have given 17 points, and the Marina bay -8.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Ivan793
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alejandro H, General Manager at Capella Singapore, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2013

Thank you so much spending the time to leave us a review on Tripadvisor. I am very happy to know that we, at Capella Singapore, were able to provide you and your family the best experience during your stay in Singapore.

It is great that you were able to enjoy the luxurious accommodation as well as the Mediterranean restaurant, The Knolls as well as fine dining Chinese restaurant Cassia.

At Capella Singapore we aim to create and proved the memorable experiences for all our guests and it is always a pleasure to read about wonderful experiences such as yours. I hope to be able to welcome you back again soon.

Best Regards
Alejandro Helbling
General Manager
Capella Singapore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2013

Capella is one the finest places to stay in Singapore, even if you have to travel to the city for shopping or going around - it just takes 15-20 mins to the mall, by taxi.

It was brilliant & luxurious stay, quite calm and surrounded with natural beauty all over. The view of the bay from the room was marvellous - as soon as we entered the room, both of us just said "WOW !!"

The large panoramic windows in the room, with full-length sofa, and the small balcony with a day-bed, and views also from the bathroom make it so much beautiful. Brilliant TV, music system, and other equipment in the room. Service and food were also to match - brilliant. Such a huge range of Gluten-free food was av'ble for b'fast, it was surprising.

Art pieces in and around the hotel are great.

Because of lesser time on hand, we couldn't take massages at the spa, which we really wanted. Next time.

Highly recommended !

Room Tip: Bay-view rooms / suites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MagicCarp8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alejandro H, General Manager at Capella Singapore, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2013

Thank you taking the time to leave us this review on Tripadvisor. It is wonderful to read about enjoyable time you had during your stay with us, from the luxurious rooms to the great views. It is a pity that you were not able to try the award-winning Auriga spa and all its facilities. I hope that you will get an opportunity to experience it on your next visit!

Thank you for your recommendation, I look forward to welcoming you back to Capella Singapore!

Best Regards
Alejandro Helbling
General Manager
Capella Singapore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2013

Having read so many good reviews about the hotel on TA and knowing this is part of the "Leading Hotels of the World" brand, we were very excited about our trip to Capella. Words like 'Oasis", "calm" etc, all conjured up the right image and just what we as a busy working couple in Asia needed to take a break from our regular hectic routines and to celebrate.

All started well enough with a call from the hotel the day before asking us all about our trip, were we celebrating a special occasion? (yes - engagement), did we want to check in early? (yes), any dietary requirements? (no) etc. Impressive. On arrival, the place is spectacular. The former Officers Mess building looking stunning set adjacent to Norman Foster's clever post-modern extension. But, then the reality...hordes of people, screaming children in reception, chaos at check in - this really is not what we expected or needed. Yes, it's Sentosa, but really - is this the sort of hotel for small children? We thought not. There are no facilities for kids and it is clearly aiming at the upscale, couples getaway market, but what we experienced was lots of families with plenty of money who demand boutique luxury with small children from 6 months- 8 years and hence lots of noise and children running around with no concern about others who do not have kids. We were asked to go to the Library area as the mesages about our early check in were not relayed at all, so we had to wait for an hour while the room was prepared - surely, there were other rooms available on a sunday? Anyway, cue more children running about and interrupting the calm and peace of the library (which offered free drinks and snacks - a nice touch). Once checked in, we were shown to the room which was indeed spectacular, complete with automated blinds when entering the room, floor to ceiling windows and a superb vista over the island (nice view of the oil refinery of course from Sentosa...), but no real insight into the hotel, how things worked, what was on offer in the resort etc. We were largely rushed through the process really. The outdoor area consists of 2 pools around a bar/restaurant - again, overrun by families complete with little ones in and out of the pool. As a couple, we sought solace in a more private area with a lane pool further away from the main hotel, and despite clear signs saying "no children under 12 to use this pool", it wasnt long before children descended. Service was patchy - our afternoon tea (another nice touch) was spoiled by the fact that we kept having to ask for really basic things like hot water and milk for tea, but also people deciding to come onto the verandah and rabbit on for ages using their cellphones - all too typical in Asia to be fair but it seems to be ok for people to ruin others peace and quiet and not disrupt their own family. When we went out to Sentosa for dinner we asked about transport and were told that the hotel had a shuttle bus every 45 mins - not ideal - we wanted to go there and then, by cab...so we did, but it was already 10pm so would have thought the hotel would have ordered a cab first of all. When we finally did get a cab, the driver completely ignored my request to go to Sentosa, by Universal Studios (ie youre already "on" Sentosa, but he decided to go into the city, causing us to have to turn around and of course, get charged even more....we live in Hong Kong and don't tolerate this sort of tourist rip-off behaviour).

The cost of the hotel is also very, very high - sure, its Singapore, and sure, it's upscale, but the costs of drinks and food plus room charges make this more expensive than Raffles - indeed, its probably the most expensive place in Singapore. So, be warned. Is it nice? Yes. Architecturally its stunning. Is it worth it? Nope. We didnt think so. One last tip - we took a very early flight from SIN, and the Mercedes cab that was provided by the hotel not only charged more than regular cabs but theres a 50% surcharge before 7am and that makes an airport run from Sentosa rather pricey too, ouch!....all in all, a real disappointment and having stayed in the city so many times before there are better options if VFM, great service and above all, some chill time are your requirements.

Room Tip: Rooms have external balconies with day beds, nice touch and lots of technology
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank BlueStarAir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sandyliw, Director of Sales & Marketing at Capella Singapore, responded to this reviewResponded October 27, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience on Tripadvisor. I am pleased to know that the room, along with its views of the magnificent South China Sea, was much to your liking and that you were able to experience some of the complimentary facilities offered at The Library.

It is disappointing to learn that the entire experience was not up to your expectation. With some of the largest most luxurious accommodation in Singapore, we do from time to time have a number of families with children who stay at the resort. However with 30 acres of lush landscape the “crowd” is often dispersed throughout the resort. Nevertheless, as you have mentioned a large proportion of our guests are also couples such as yourselves looking for a romantic retreat. For that, the resort also has many options to offer such as the award-winning Auriga spa, which has a selection of luxuriously romantic couples experiences and is nestled in a quiet corner of the resort. I do apologise for any inconveniences you encountered be it with other guests at the resort or with any of the service staff. I assure you we have looked into how we can continue to improve the experiences for all our guests.

With regards to the taxi surcharges, this 50% surcharge between 12:00 midnight and 6:00 am is a standard surcharge implemented for all taxi services across the island.

While Capella Singapore is indeed priced above most other hotels in Singapore, what we offer to our guests goes beyond that to include preferential tailor-made experiences along with a host of complimentary facilities and services. I do hope that you will consider returning to Capella Singapore again to and be able to enjoy the true Capella experience.

Best Regards
Sandy Liw
Director of Sales & Marketing
Capella Singapore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2013

For our 15th wedding anniversary my husband surprised me with a stay at the Capella! What an fabulous experience. From the moment we arrived it was 5-star service all the way. The tour of the facilities, the villa that we rented was dream like! The spa experience was incredible (though maybe because we didn't see another person at the spa at all that night) and the food was fantastic. It is such a great location on Sentosa Island, and allows for an easy walk down to the beach. Our private pool was refreshing. We honestly didn't want to leave. This was a perfect stay. Though this was a romantic get-away for us, there were plenty of families there as well, so don't be afraid to bring the little ones.

Room Tip: The private villas are worth the extra money!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michele B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sandyliw, Director of Sales & Marketing at Capella Singapore, responded to this reviewResponded October 27, 2013

Firstly, a belated happy anniversary to you and your husband. 15 years is certainly a wonderful milestone and it is an honour to know that we at Capella Singapore were able to share this memory with you.

I am thrilled to know that the service throughout your stay with us was much to your expectations, and that you were able to experience some of the facilities the hotel had to offer, such as the restaurants and especially the treatments at the award-winning Auriga spa. It is also a joy to know that you enjoyed the spacious villa with the private plunge pool as well as the tranquil location. Set on 30 acres of lush tropical rain forest, Capella Singapore is blessed with beautiful natural surroundings, including a private access to Palawan Beach.

Thank you so much for this lovely review. I hope that you and your husband will be back to stay with us again soon.

Best Regards
Sandy Liw
Director of Sales & Marketing
Capella Singapore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sentosa Island hotels
1.1 mi away
Shangri-La's Rasa Sentosa Resort & Spa
1.3 mi away
W Singapore Sentosa Cove
W Singapore Sentosa Cove
#3 of 13 in Sentosa Island
1,995 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sofitel Singapore Sentosa Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Resorts World Sentosa - Equarius Hotel
0.7 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Singapore
Hard Rock Hotel Singapore
#10 of 13 in Sentosa Island
2,129 reviews
0.6 mi away
Resorts World Sentosa - Festive Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Capella Singapore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Capella Singapore

Address: 1 The Knolls, Sentosa Island 098297, Singapore
Phone Number:
Location: Singapore > Sentosa Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Sentosa Island
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Sentosa Island
#1 Spa Hotel in Sentosa Island
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Sentosa Island
Price Range: $435 - $1,079 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Capella Singapore 5*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An ultra-luxury resort situated on Sentosa Island, Capella Singapore transports guests into a setting of ultimate peace and tranquility. Guests can enjoy its onsite, award-winning Auriga spa, three restaurants, as well as the beautiful landscape overlooking the South China Sea. Nearby facilities include a golf course, family and kids-friendly attractions. The hotel is also 10-15 minutes drive away from Singapore's bustling business and shopping districts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, MrandMrsSmith, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Capella Singapore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Capella Singapore Sentosa Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing