We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,785)
Filter reviews
1,785 results
Traveler rating
1,383
246
90
44
22
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,383
246
90
44
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bob's bar personal assistant garden villa knolls restaurant auriga spa chef david constellation room chinese restaurant plunge pool premier room main building chef's table outdoor shower sea view colonial building the south china sea bose sound system
Filter
Updating list...
1,261 - 1,266 of 1,785 reviews
Reviewed October 2, 2012

Had an incredible start to our honeymoon staying in a pool villa at Capella.

The services was excellent at all times from the moment of check in - personal secretary service excellent to help booking dinners and events.

Locaiton not too much of an issue as Taxis are cheap enought to get around Singapore quickly.

One of the best spa's I have been to.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SebastianVictoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sandyliw, Director of Sales & Marketing at Capella Singapore, responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2012

Thank you so much for the kind words that you have taken time to share. We are glad that you enjoyed the tranquility and seclusion that our standalone villas offer. Blessed with 30-acres of lush rainforest, we are able to offer guests the luxury of space with large over-sized accommodation on our extensive grounds and gardens. Capella Singapore truly is the perfect resort escape. It is indeed a pleasure to be able to hear the chirping of the birds or the occasional rustling of the trees in the cooling breeze from the South China Sea, while maintaining proximity to the major shopping districts and city centre. As rightly noted by you, getting around in Singapore does not prove to be a challenge.

I am glad that you were able to experience some of the wonderful services that we have to offer. We do our best to offer the most luxurious services and experiences for all our guests and we will continue to try and exceed your expectations. Thank you again for choosing to spend your honeymoon here at Capella Singapore. I hope to welcome you and your spouse back again soon.

Best Regards
Sandy Liw
Director of Sales & Marketing
Capella Singapore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

If you are looking for a romantic getaway then look no further than Capella Singapore. It is by far the most scenic, service orientated hotel currently, with the exception for perhaps W Hotel, which just opened recently. However, the atmosphere and rustic surroundings is simply magical.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank benamarama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2012

We stayed with our 18 month old kid for 4 nights. I was impressed at the outset and high expectations given that the Capella called me a week before to check whether we needed anything specific in order to make arrangements in advance. I asked for a high chair and the usual baby/kid amenities (spare nappies, bath gel, etc). They said they had already made reservations for us at a few restaurants too. Wonderful start and certainly good if not a little slow service. When we checked in we were greeted by our personal assistant who showed us around but we couldn't understand a word of what she was saying. She was unable to understand us too so some of our questions went unanswered.

We stayed in a premier garden view deluxe room (I can't help wonder if that's why we had patchy service). Not big and not very well thought out. There is about 4 feet distance between the foot of the bed and the lounge chair and a massive coffee table in between, which means there is virtually no space to walk to the bathroom. All the furniture in the room is heavy so it's not easy to just move them around. The toilet has a separate door which is not only heavy and huge but difficult to maneouvre when you are in there with a toddler.

Despite calling us in advance (and I called the night before to reconfirm what we would need for our kid so we didn't need to bring them with us), we found none of what I had requested in the room (high chair, baby cot and toilet seat - which we got after 3 requests). No mention of the supposed restaurant resevations made for us either. The following day, I had to wait 20 mins for a drinking straw for our kid (no one seemed to understand what I was asking for), and despite asking twice, and being told it was "on the way" we didn't receive a covered bin (for nappies) or baby wipes (they ran out) when the housekeeping rep arrived at our door. I was amazed that they had no covered bins, given it's a basic hygiene requirement. The personal assistant either failed to understand my request each time i asked for something, or there seemed to be a "miscommunication" every day. Apart from a kids food menu, there is nothing that is kid friendly about the hotel. It's a bit misleading given how the website offers a family package stay. Maybe the best service is reserved for those in villas and manors.

Because of its beautiful scenic setting, it's a popular wedding venue. Best to check in advance if there will be an outdoor wedding party/reception as the music can get pretty loud and there were even fireworks at 9.30pm which disturbed my kid's sleep!

We still enjoyed our stay overall but having stayed at the Mandarin Oriental (a business hotel in the city centre), we found it was more kid friendly (and spacious!) than the Capella. Capella's probably suited to couples only looking for a relaxing vacation.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
Thank ChanaBanana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sandyliw, Director of Sales & Marketing at Capella Singapore, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2012

We appreciate that you have taken the time to share your experience with us. Your feedback is valuable, please rest assure that we are seriously looking into the service lapses that you have mentioned in detail.

The initiative behind the pre-arrival call from our Personal Assistants is to find out if there is anything they can do to help make your stay with us more enjoyable. I am glad our staff was friendly and professional during your stay with us.

The repeated miscommunication you experienced with all the staff that you have been in contact with is rather surprising, and regrettable. We have been taking active measures towards continually enhancing Capella Singapore’s services and have recently added more staff to reduce the wait time for guest requests. We are working on ensuring that even more measures will be taken to ensure the smoothest and most efficient service delivery for all our guests.

Capella Singapore is designed by award-winning master architect Lord Norman Foster, co-founder of the famed architecture firm Foster + Partners with contemporary interiors carefully curated by world-renowned interior designer Jaya Ibrahim, the guest rooms were design with opulence in mind. Standing at 77 sqm in size, our Premier Rooms are the largest lead-in category rooms in the country. Perhaps the next time you stay, you could choose to stay in one of our One Bedroom Garden Villa which are 133 sqm in size and feature a plunge pool and outdoor area.

We definitely welcome families and children and our Personal Assistants would be more than happy to recommend and make arrangements for the numerous children activities that are available around the vicinity of the hotel. The hotel’s beach access point is a short walk to Palawan Beach which includes various tourist attractions suited to children including The Port of Lost Wonder and Skyline Luge Sentosa.

Rest assured that the Capella experience, or standard of service delivery is not determined by the guest’s room category. Our Management and staff aspire to deliver top-notch service to all our guests. Service is a very large part of the Capella experience, and our staff work very hard to maintain the distinguished reputation that only comes with dedication and hard work. But, it is not just a job. Only candidates with a passion for service are especially selected to join the team. It is a very unique quality that makes them a very valuable asset to the hotel. Many guests have written just to express their gratitude to our staff for making their holiday a very personal experience.

For your kind reference, the fireworks that go off at 9:30pm are set off by Universal Studios Singapore. For safety regulations, the hotel is not licensed to use fireworks at all. Guests renting function spaces at Capella Singapore sign a contract which stipulates the strict regulation of sound volumes and timings. The management actively monitors the sound levels from the function spaces, so as to not disturb the other hotel guests in their rooms.
I am glad that despite the issues faced, you were able to enjoy your stay at Capella Singapore. I do hope you will be returning again soon and have more time to explore and enjoy all the wonderful services we have to offer.

Best Regards
Sandy Liw
Director of Sales & Marketing
Capella Singapore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Stayed over in Aug 2012 as my birthday celebration. We book the villa and the outdoor plunge pool was lovely to just laze around and munch on chips to relax the afternoon away. Service was top notch and we enjoyed the stay tremendously. Lunch at Cassia was just as impressive, in particular the service of the staffs who was genuinely interested in serving every customer's needs.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PinkyPrincess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sandyliw, Director of Sales & Marketing at Capella Singapore, responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2012

Firstly, a very happy belated birthday to you, thank you for choosing to spend this special occasion with us at Capella Singapore. I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us in the villa and that all our service professionals were perfect hosts to you and your partner. I hope you had a wonderful birthday celebration and that you will return to Capella Singapore again soon!

Best Regards
Sandy Liw
Director of Sales & Marketing
Capella Singapore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2012

Stayed 10 days in Capella, extended my stay for 3 times since my finacee fell in love capella.
Genuine 6 Star service, Ultra attentive in details ( Yes even the slippers size matters to them)

Bob's Bar...Fabulous world class Cocktails (try order Bellini and Lady marniar adn you will know what i am talking about.) Please please ensure the Bar supervisor Shabon is making your cocktails, he is simply genius....

Triny, our personal assistant has predicted our every move and gave us more than we needed.

Room service is Yummy...(hope i didn't break the spagetti bolognese ordering record lol)

The Knolls...please go for the Land and Sea macaroni, it's a must try!!! You might be fighting with the peacocks for food as they are just too delicious that peacocks joined in the fight.

Auriga Spa is a must try...(one of the best spa rated by Forbes) they are truely attentive, it's not just a relaxing experience, it's a mind and body rejuvenating journey you are taking with the spa therapists ( go for the Thai massage, you will have your bones and muscles all re-aligned in the way it should have been)

P.S. For those who complain this place is too quiet...you simply haven't reached the point to appreciate such exclusiveness and tranquility....Top earners around the world paid a huge cost just to keep it that way for privacy, and Capella nailed it.

All in all, joyful, exceptional, and luxurious.
It's not simply a nice hotel...it's a home you wish you stayed for ever.

Will be back in December !!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Benjamin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sandyliw, Director of Sales & Marketing at Capella Singapore, responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to leave this glowing testimonial of your experience with us here on Tripadvisor. I am truly very thrilled to know of how thoroughly you and your partner enjoy your stays with us. The details are important to us and creating that unique and worry free experience for all our guests is definitely a priority for us. As for Auriga spa, as Singapore’s first Forbes Travel Guide Five-Star Spa, I agree that it is a definite “must try”. I am looking forward to welcoming you and your partner back in December.

Best Regards
Sandy Liw
Director of Sales & Marketing
Capella Singapore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews