We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great option if you want to stay on Sentosa Island”
Review of Capella Singapore

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Capella Singapore
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Sentosa Island
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
51 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
“Great option if you want to stay on Sentosa Island”
Reviewed January 16, 2012

This is a very belated review, as my husband and I stayed here in April 2010. But we had a good experience, so - as I return to posting on Trip Advisor after a long lazy pause - I wanted to give the Capella Singapore a positive review.

We decided to stay on Sentosa Island because we've learned that it's good to have a little space to move around in during the wee hours on the first couple of nights after we arrive in Asia from NYC, when we're still very jetlagged and sleeping odd hours. We reserved a Constellation Room and thought the big balcony with jacuzzi would be a nice change vs. being enclosed in a small hotel room in central Singapore. Upon arrival we were upgraded to a 1-bedroom villa, so we ended up with a lot of space indeed! The decor was modern and beautiful and the bathroom was huge and quite stunning. Only disappointment was that the terrace was just a large concrete patio with a plunge pool and a couple of lounge chairs. It was sunk into a bank of foliage, no view at all, and more could have been done to decorate it in an inviting way.

The Capella's main colonial building is beautiful, as are the common areas and the peacock-filled grounds. We ordered room service breakfasts (arrived quickly and the food was delicious) but didn't eat in the restaurants. We did have drinks and snacks in the pretty poolside lounge, which has a great view of the South China Sea. We found the service at the Capella to be good and the staff helpful. This is not a business hotel, though – after some unsuccessful attempts to assist my husband in printing a rather large document, they had to direct us to a shop in the city center (basically a FedEx Office type of place).

For us, the Capella was a bit too isolated. We weren't interested in Sentosa Island activities and found ourselves taking cabs into central Singapore in the morning and not returning until the evening. But the Capella fulfilled its purpose of giving us some space to move around in during hours when normal people should have been sleeping. I would recommend it for anyone who wishes to be someplace a little more quiet and 'away from it all'.

Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank frangipani7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,325 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    991
    206
    74
    35
    19
See reviews for
428
504
44
145
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (267)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2012

Capella provides a deluxe spacious accomodation option compared to conventional central Singapore hotels. Travelling with our four year old the garden villa with plunge pool was spacious with the sofa made up as a bed at night. The villas decor and fit out were of a high standard as is the whole complex and public areas. The marrying of the old colonial buildings with purpose built hotel facilities is done very well and the garden setting and infinity pools looking out to the Straits is memorable. Particularly liked the cocktail lounge area set above the pools with entertainment most evenings. Only slight issue was our fine dining experience at the hotel which was not up to standard of the rest of the hotel. Would definitely recommend this hotel if you want to combine more leisure/resort pursuits of sentosa with the attractions of this exciting and dynamic city.

Room Tip: Pick the garden villas if travelling with children
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsFr0st
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hong kong
Level Contributor
33 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2012

this is our 2nd stay within the past 3 months ..
we love the hardware, secluded location, nice villa, nice landscaping, surprised guests (peacocks eating breakfast with us!) ...
have to say our stay this time is better BUT the software definitely needs beefing up as a 6-star hotel!

some downs this stay:
1/ hot water system wasn't working properly (given the weather in dec was cool in singapore) and until the 5th call in 5 times we found out that the hotel in fact realised the problem without updating the guests
2/ ipod deck never works (engineers came several times and in the end we gave up calling for assistance)
3/ personal butler failed to inform the driver the exact address of the restaurant we ended up calling the hotel to find out the details & circling the block for 15 minutes

up:
1/ the porter team is excellent!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ilovetravel-2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2012

We returned to Capella for a second visit in November and thoroughly enjoyed it. We previously had adjoining rooms and this time went for a sea view suite and were not disappointed. The suite was very spacious and with two young children, we still had sufficient room for us, them and the various things you end up taking away when travelling with kids. Room service works well, they do a great breakfast and the pools are very nice. The ambience of the place is unique and you do feel like you are away from the 'hustle and bustle' of nearby Singapore. Staff are great and very helpful.

Room Tip: Rooms closer to the pools and restuarants worked well for us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CharltonSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2012

For our first anniversary, we decided on staying at a hotel in Singapore since I was heavily pregnant with our first child. Although there were many other big name hotels available in Sentosa itself, we decided to stay at Capella as we have heard great reviews and wanted our anniversary to be extra special.
Clearly we were not disappointed! From the moment we arrived, we were greeted by friendly and professional staff. We were upgraded to the Capella Suite - compliments of the hotel since it was our anniversary. We ordered room service and the hotel was kind enough to accommodate my special dietary requirements. The room had a great view and it was nice to have a fruit basket, a bottle of great wine and a nespresso machine available in the room - we didn't leave the room at as we were thoroughly enjoying the facilities in the room.
We went for dinner and had breakfast at The Knolls restaurant - the food was great and it was priced appropriately for fine dining.
In all, it was the best way to celebrate our first anniversary even though we were in Singapore - we are making it a ritual to celebrate our future anniversaries there!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank morningloryee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sandyliw, Director of Sales & Marketing at Capella Singapore, responded to this review, January 8, 2012
Happy anniversary, congratulations, and thank you. We are delighted that you chose Capella to celebrate your anniversary, and even more ecstatic that you enjoyed your visit, and have decided to include us in your plans for your next anniversary. We hope the baby felt the tranquillity of your visit before the big day, and communicates a desire for another get-a-way visit with a much better view. It is so rewarding to spend quality time in such a tranquil setting, to recharge, and to just enjoy life. So keep in mind, as new parents, you have additional opportunities to celebrate, and don't have to wait a whole year. You now qualify for mother's and father's day, and with just a little thought, I'm sure we can find a few more special occasions to pamper you. We look forward to see you again.

Warm Regards
Sandy Liw
Director of Sales & Marketing
Capella Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level Contributor
44 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2011

Just minutes from the hustle & bustle of the centre of Singapore the Capella is a really comfortable haven of peace and convincing comfort in a garden setting of great quality. Being rather bored by the corporate tower hotels in the centre of the city this hotel is new, bold, truly comfortable and rather a treat. I am really fussy, but this hotel is just great !!

The rooms are in a clever bold modern structure which at first one hesitates over, but inside and in detail the rooms are so well-fitted - everything you need is there, in the right place, of quality. This is not a hotel just for show, it works. We had a normal sea-view room and it was excellent in scale and in having all the things you want in the right place. Usually I am more comfortable at home than in a hotel - this was a challenge...

The public spaces are very fine, great swimming pools, great spacious outdoor bar, excellent chinese restaurant and a truly world-beating breakfast in the restaurant - we were really exceptionaly impressed by the breakfast as it was astonishing what was on offer.

The staff were great but some perhaps were a little hesitant and could pull their socks up and do better. Many of the other guests certainly should do better. Just because it is expensive does not mean you should stay there if you can afford to. If you want to be a slob at breakfast or have your children scream through the garden all afternoon this correspondent suggests you should stay elsewhere as it is too good for you. What a great hotel.

Room Tip: The sea-view certainly was a good idea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DavidSW1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sandyliw, Director of Sales & Marketing at Capella Singapore, responded to this review, January 5, 2012
Thank you very much for such a complementary review of our hotel. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay, and hope that you decide to return for a longer visit. I also see Capella as a "comfortable haven of peace" especially when comparing it to the stifling crowds and incessant noise of a busy city. Yet, despite the feeling of isolation, it is remarkably only a short taxi ride from any significant landmark.

I am confident that our staff will improve with experience and their hesitance will morph into enthusiasm. We have a renowned training program, and use feedback from our guests to help fine tune our results. I would appreciate your opinion after your next visit. Until then, I hope you have a happy and prosperous new year.

Best Regards
Sandy Liw
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckinghamshire
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2011

We stayed for 3 nights in a 1 bed garden view villa and loved it.

The villa was huge and beautiful, with a separate sitting room outdoor plunge pool, bath and shower – very luxurious (the bed was a bit soft though). The grounds were beautiful with lots of plants and trees everywhere and the pools particularly lovely. The staff were lovely too – and all very keen to help with anything you wanted, and you could get golf buggies if you didn’t feel like walking in the tropical heat.

Food at Capella was fantastic. We ate at both the knolls and Cassia – and both were very good, although the dining room at Cassia is more beautiful.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aylesburytravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sentosa Island hotels
0.3 mi away
Sofitel Singapore Sentosa Resort & Spa
1.1 mi away
Shangri-La's Rasa Sentosa Resort & Spa
1.3 mi away
W Singapore Sentosa Cove
W Singapore Sentosa Cove
#4 of 13 in Sentosa Island
1,835 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Resorts World Sentosa - Equarius Hotel
0.7 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Singapore
Hard Rock Hotel Singapore
#10 of 13 in Sentosa Island
1,998 reviews
0.6 mi away
Resorts World Sentosa - Festive Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Capella Singapore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Capella Singapore

Property: Capella Singapore
Address: 1 The Knolls, Sentosa Island 098297, Singapore
Phone Number:
Location: Singapore > Sentosa Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Sentosa Island
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Sentosa Island
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Sentosa Island
#1 Luxury Hotel in Sentosa Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Capella Singapore 5*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An ultra-luxury resort situated on Sentosa Island, Capella Singapore transports guests into a setting of ultimate peace and tranquility. Guests can enjoy its onsite, award-winning Auriga spa, three restaurants, as well as the beautiful landscape overlooking the South China Sea. Nearby facilities include a golf course, family and kids-friendly attractions. The hotel is also 10-15 minutes drive away from Singapore's bustling business and shopping districts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Booking.com, Travelocity, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Capella Singapore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Capella Singapore Sentosa Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing