We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Now appears to be at The Arches on Sentosa”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Samundar

Samundar
Cuisines: Indian, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
43 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Now appears to be at The Arches on Sentosa”
Reviewed May 10, 2014

We went to Palawan Beach this evening and the restaurant was closed. As in, it appeared to have shut forever, but on the Sentosa restaurant guide it is still listed at the beach address.
None of the Palawan restaurants were taking orders at 7 pm, so back we trudged. No matter, as we had seen Samundar's menu on the trip down the hill from the Cable Car at The Arches Restaurant, just near The Merlion statue.
The Arches is in a beautiful old building and the decor is quirky , to say the least. The restaurant seems to do a lot of tour bus buffets.
The a la carte section was empty. Coupled with the decor, this was not an auspicious beginning.
The service was really good throughout the evening. We could order off two menus, the western/Chinese and the Indian. All our food was really tasty and the price reasonable, despite being on Sentosa. We mainly had the Indian. Portion sizes were variable: spicy fries and tandoori chicken tikka were very big serves, the rogan josh and Goan fish curry not so big.
And there is iced tap water, not just bottled water. Always a plus for us as who wants to pay for bottled water when the tap water is so good?
So, in summary, a great place to eat at a reasonable price, with attentive staff, so long as you don't require ambience.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
6 Thank katisit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    12
    8
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“okay for vegeterian food”
Reviewed February 19, 2014

ideal for pure veg food at sentosa. just in front of beach with so many options to choose from. little costly being in sentosa but okay for 1 time

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Nehal S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Disgusting”
Reviewed January 25, 2014 via mobile

Reached the "restaurant" and waited at the 'please wait to be seated' sign for nearly 10minutes then decided to go up to the bar to get seated. It took another 5minutes for someone to greet an seat us. After deciding on drinks and food we waited 20minutes for no one to serve us while four waiters stood at the bar laughing and joking with each other. Whilst watching a large Indian man setting up some speakers on the ground with 3inches of his butt crack hanging out, my wife and I decided to leave with no notice. Disgusting service, place should be closed down. This is not an exaggeration.

Helpful?
2 Thank Hairplugs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Crap”
Reviewed January 25, 2014 via mobile

While the food that we did see arrive at tables looked good, we didn't bother hanging around to try it. Very poor service- rude on arrival, wait staff standing around chatting and not even an offer to take a drinks order after waiting for 20+ minutes. We walked out.

Helpful?
Thank Shelley112233
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, India
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Indian restaurant tucked away in Sentosa”
Reviewed January 9, 2014

We visited Samundar as we wanted to try another Indian restaurant in Sentosa. It was a bit far from the Beach front station and we had to ask a few people to get to this place in Palawan Beach. The service was good and frankly very fast. The food was tasty though felt the portion sizes were small. Interestingly this place charged service tax and GST over the food which did not seem to be something that happened in other restaurants near Siloso beach. Otherwise the cost did not seem too bad for this place. Better directions to this place wud have helped

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank NarVem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Samundar also viewed

Sentosa Island, Singapore
Sentosa Island, Singapore
 
Sentosa Island, Singapore
Sentosa Island, Singapore
 

Been to Samundar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing