We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“stayed 2 months”
Review of Kiwilodge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Kiwilodge Hotel
Ranked #37 of 212 Hotels in Cebu Island
Dumaguete City
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“stayed 2 months”
Reviewed May 16, 2010

i have stayed at the lodge many times now over the yrs,1st time for 2 months in all the times ive stayed there never a prob,rooms cleaned daily left money layin about not any time was any of my gear touched,left large sums of $$$ in the safe down stairs again no prob,great food some of the local whits fellas r drunks but u get that at home (australia) most r harmless,close to sm & ayala malls,not far from midtown as well,staff quick 2 serve at ur beckon call,yea they do have some expansion in buildind stage 2,construction workers wouldnt start work tiil 9am work till 6pm,dick an his family ok.infact i was invited 2 his new place up north for free..every time i stay there now i get 15% discount on my room...only thing i did complain about the beds were sagging as they needed to be relaced (inerspring style) which they have been now..trust me there r a lot worse places in cebu...Dave Potts...

  • Stayed June 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BinDumagueteCity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    48
    21
    5
    13
See reviews for
28
42
37
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Priest River, Idaho
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 10, 2010

I stayed 4 nights on 2 different occasions. A great hotel as far as I am concerned. The "hotels" that are listed for American travelers and nothing but thieves. One advertised P1800 but once there they wanted $100. The Kiwi gives what they advertise and are great people. I will definitely stay there again. Hopefully soon.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zhotrum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2010

We had booked this hotel for a 10 night stay over the internet. I recieved a confirmation email, but when we showed up they had no record of our booking on their computer. Anyway, I was taken to the top floor of a construction zone and shown a room that left me feeling quite shocked. It was clean enough but very outdated and there were no handrails up the steps and exposed reinforcing rods sticking out dangerously all over the place. The staff were very friendly and helpful, they even called me a taxi and tried to book us into other hotels over the phone. I guess you buy cheap, you get cheap.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jetlagtours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2010

I tried to do reservation thru phone with Kiwi, I told them we're staying for almost a week, approx 10 pax, then, the receptionest didn't bother to ask my name, instead she asked what was my nationality and when I said I am a Filipino, they suddenly told me that they are fully booked!!!

Disgusting!!

Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Beibe_JO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kiwilodge, Owner at Kiwilodge Hotel, responded to this review, October 10, 2010
Dear Madam
We have just been made aware of your comments on trip advisor
Just a quick note to say that we have thousands of filipinos staying at Kiwilodge and have never had a problem like this before.
We have had a problems with being overbooked at times and we have recently built additions which we hope to have open before next year.
My apologies if you were offended but please realise that we are constantly receiving bookings and cancellations al the time and availability changes all the time
many thanks
Dick Dunlop
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asia, Asia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2010

The Kiwi Lodge is ok, but rooms need a major clean and refit. 1st night was in standard room, then 2nd night was in delux room. Not sure how they came to this as the standard room was much better.

Ok if you need to be in Cebu for a couple of nights, but wouldn't stay there much longer.

Bar is nice, very unpretentious and the local expats were really helpful and friendly, which is a nice surprise. Worth it for their advice alone!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank orientnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
honolulu
Level Contributor
35 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2009

I was here a full week and the super deluxe room or something - the "best" room.. room was clean, serviced daily, no problems...yea I would like a safe in the room...I had a travel lock pack from pacsafe I used to lock my laptop and money and stuff...I avoid hotel safety deposit boxes at EVERY hotel...if you do use them put your cash and stuff in a SEALED envelope.

They were doing renovations it looks like on my top third floor where I stayed...half the rooms were gutted but no constructions...less people to make noise on my floor!

It is off the main road a little so not noisy either...staff will run out to main road and get a taxi for you day or night.

Restaurant was good...did my breakfast there with my laptop on wifi...I did get the wifi to work also in my room but low signal.

I would stay there again

Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank beautiful-looser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippines
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2009

I stay here only one night, and never ever again ! This place is disgusting and the staff is "getting" your money. Yes really ! Never leave your money in the Safe deposit box in their office, it's not safe at all. Always keep an eye on your wallet and your money. Always check your bill in the restaurant and count your drinks. If you had 4 drinks, they might claim you had 6. After what happen to me, I have heard about other people who had the same experience. Just stay far away from this place !

  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank john4937
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cebu Island hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Pier Cuatro
Hotel Pier Cuatro
#37 of 87 in Cebu City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
1.1 mi away
ABC Hotel & Homes
ABC Hotel & Homes
#6 of 87 in Cebu City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cebu R Hotel - Mabolo
Cebu R Hotel - Mabolo
#23 of 87 in Cebu City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Bayfront Hotel Cebu
Bayfront Hotel Cebu
#10 of 87 in Cebu City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 402 reviews
1.6 mi away
Main Hotel and Suites
Main Hotel and Suites
#26 of 212 in Cebu Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
0.7 mi away
Red Planet Cebu
Red Planet Cebu
#8 of 87 in Cebu City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 692 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kiwilodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kiwilodge Hotel

Property: Kiwilodge Hotel
Address: 1060 G. Tudtud Street | Mabolo, 6000, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Cebu Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Kiwilodge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Very central location in Cebu City, rooms have air con, ceiling fan, fridge, en-suite bathroom with hot and cold shower, cardio fitness center, business center, skydeck, open to below garden, HD Cable TV, flat screen LED tv and full 24 hr security with plenty of parking, very close to the two main malls SM city Cebu and Ayala center cebu and the harbor.. Bar-Restaurant opens at 7am with free wifi and serves great free breakfast along with many European Favourites like Fish and Chips, Beef Stews, Roast Dinners, etc. Always cold beer on hand. All the taxi drivers know us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Kiwilodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kiwi Hotel Cebu City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing