We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value”
Review of Kiwilodge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Kiwilodge Hotel
Ranked #39 of 217 Hotels in Cebu Island
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Great value”
Reviewed April 13, 2009

We stayed in a Deluxe room for one night (P1100; £16). It was exactly what we expected and whilst nothing special, was the cheapest room we stayed in over 3 weeks in the Philippines. There was plenty of hot water and a good size shower. The bed was very big and the whole place was very clean. Overall, this is a good, basic accommodation and very good value.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fieldsendchris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    49
    22
    5
    16
See reviews for
30
46
39
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cbs
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2009

I'm a filipino who married to a European guy. My husband and I were coming to Cebu for a short visit and I tried to booked a stay in kiwi lodge since I have read a good reviews about it and was recommended by a friend who is their regular guest but I did not realize that filipinos are not welcome! I booked online stating on the form that my nationality is a filipino, I got a reply from "MERLYN" saying SORRY but we are fully booked this coming .......! but when my husband booked since he got a reply in a split second with a confirmation. I'm so disgusted and sad that my fellow people treat me this way :-( and for the record they should put in their website a big sign saying "locals not welcome"

Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
9 Thank Phanu2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new zealand
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2009

enjoyed my stay amongst the expat old farts, they do seem to keep to themselves, but what the heck!! room nice and tidy but boy I would really like to take them flags down in the bar and give them all a good clean and why your at it, a bit of a dust around the bar might help too. apart from the dusty expats and bar, it was a nice stay.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chas13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ENGLAND
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2008

I must admit i had that trepadation, strange country,hotel,language and of course the peso! hey!! you get to kiwi lodge and are wellcomed very warmely, regisister after your first beer while your luggage makes it way to your room. A good mix of English.Austrailians, european and of course kiwi;s. great food ,service at all times and safe. if you happen to have a problem ,it will be resolved instantly. Yours a satisfeid customer ,who left knowing more friends than before i went there.

  • Liked — VERY TRAVELLER FRIENDLY
  • Disliked — THE BAR SHUTS AT 11.00PM
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank BANDIT28England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cebu City
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2008

I stayed at the Kiwi Lodge for three weeks and had a very positive experience. I'm writing this review because I read a previous review suggesting that americans are not welcome at the Kiwi Lodge and I wanted to say that I am an american and I found everyone there to be very hospitable. The rooms are an excellent value, they have 24 hour security, free wireless internet, and a safe in the office to keep passports and valuables. Of course an in-room safe would be more convenient but I found their security to be very good. The food is a favorite with local expats and many eat there regularly. They serve breakfast all day which is great if you had a late night. It's centrally located between the two biggest malls (SM and Ayala) but Cebu City is small so most things are a short cab ride. For me, the best thing about the Kiwi Lodge is that the bar is a great source of information and opinions from expats that live in cebu city.

  • Liked — Good mix of expats hang out at the bar
  • Disliked — can't think of anything I didn't like
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank karl_nadherny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thailand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2007

One possitive thing, esp in Phillipines, is that my stuff was always safe in the room. At first I felt comfortable there, but I clearly was not one of the guys at the bar (retired blue colar Kiwi and Ausie expats). At some point, I was treated very coldly. It even became clear to me that even the staff was probably instructed to make me feel unwelcomed....otherwise they'd get in trouble for being less than kind.
He's running both a full on bar downstairs and a guesthouse. Sometimes I wasn't sure which was the higher priority.
It had also been suggested to me that there is descrimination toward Americans, so maybe that's what I felt?
The place is also located in an area where you will need to take taxis in and out, for the most part.
That said, you'll probably be fine for a few days. More than that, and you'd want to be "one of the gang" at the bar, or you may not feel so comfortable.

Stayed June 2007
Helpful?
6 Thank peacefulworrior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2007

good value for money, always somebody to chat to in bar area, all the staff efficient and friendly. good location close to both ayala and sm malls, have used the kiwi on several occasions and would recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank bobstratton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cebu Island hotels
1.1 mi away
ABC Hotel & Homes
ABC Hotel & Homes
#6 of 89 in Cebu City
143 reviews
1.6 mi away
Main Hotel and Suites
Main Hotel and Suites
#31 of 217 in Cebu Island
152 reviews
0.7 mi away
Bayfront Hotel Cebu
Bayfront Hotel Cebu
#10 of 89 in Cebu City
422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Red Planet Cebu
Red Planet Cebu
#8 of 89 in Cebu City
743 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Pier Cuatro
Hotel Pier Cuatro
#38 of 89 in Cebu City
358 reviews
0.6 mi away
Azia Suites
Azia Suites
#20 of 89 in Cebu City
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kiwilodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kiwilodge Hotel

Property: Kiwilodge Hotel
Address: 1060 G. Tudtud Street | Mabolo, 6000, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Cebu Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Kiwilodge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Very central location in Cebu City, rooms have air con, ceiling fan, fridge, en-suite bathroom with hot and cold shower, cardio fitness center, business center, skydeck, open to below garden, HD Cable TV, flat screen LED tv and full 24 hr security with plenty of parking, very close to the two main malls SM city Cebu and Ayala center cebu and the harbor.. Bar-Restaurant opens at 7am with free wifi and serves great free breakfast along with many European Favourites like Fish and Chips, Beef Stews, Roast Dinners, etc. Always cold beer on hand. All the taxi drivers know us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Kiwilodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kiwi Hotel Cebu City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing