We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“3rd stay at kiwilodge.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kiwilodge Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Kiwilodge Hotel
Ranked #86 of 211 Hotels in Cebu Island
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“3rd stay at kiwilodge.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2013

this was my third stay at kiwilodge. i stayed for 2 weeks with my partner and a friend. As usual the food was exellent. the staff of course are always fantastic but sad to see that Marjorie was no longer working here. The room we booked was the new delux, it proved to be way too small for two people for a 2 week stay. we upgraded to a larger room which was fine except for the overflowing toilet, it blocked 8 times in two weeks lol. However we are not fussy travellers and as long as problems are attended to promptly , i can live with it. i found the older rooms much more comfortable because of the stronger fan over the bed. Kiwi is central to the areas i like to frequent, namely the squatter areas, which are fascinating. This hotel is well worth the dosh and will be my home away from home whenever im in Cebu. PS..one thing i missed was toilet brushes. Come on Dick , they are just a few pesos at ACE Hardware lol. see you again soon....Darryl.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DarrylBrooks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    40
    17
    4
    10
See reviews for
15
25
33
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Philippines
Level Contributor
50 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2013

When I was in Cebu last year I overheard many people talking about the Kiwilodge. Having grown up in NZ the temptation was too great to not visit this month. Well I'm glad I did. Rather than repeat what Darryl has written in a previous review to which I wholeheartedly agree, I'll add to his comments...

Having worked extensively in the hospitality industry, I can see that this business has been a labour of love for Dick. When you retain staff for many years in this trade you are doing something right. The rooms are fine and priced as value for money for the category of this hotel. The food was outstanding, in fact the best Western food I've had in SE Asia outside of a fine dining environment. Some amazingly innovative food for the money (a Kiwi influence there).

It was great to see sport in clarity on flat screens in the bar and the people I met there topped off what was a good ambience in the restaurant bar.

I could write a lot more but simply, if you want great value rooms, service, food and location then look no further!!

Well done Dick

Room Tip: There are old and new rooms, I stayed in the older and they're fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MarkJalanJalan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2013

My wife and I arrived in Cebu in mid January and checked in to the Kiwi Lodge, having no previous knowledge of the hotel. We were both pleasantly surprised. The rooms were good and the staff were very friendly, offering good service. The menu was not extensive but the quality was good and reasonably priced. We were due to spend 4 nights initialy, but were happy with the place and extended for an additional week. I read a couple of comments by some other supposed guest who criticised the hotel and claimed that the staff were unfriendly to Americans. One individual complained along the same lines about the food, but when I checked on his link he made comments about 3 other establishments on the same day with the statement about one establishment that the food was not American. I find his posting rather suspect as it does not match the experiance we had at the Kiwi Lodge. We shall certainly return there on our next visit and would heartily recommend it to others.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BMCKT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bern, Switzerland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013

When you look for a hotel in Cebu, these are reasons why to choose the "Kiwi Lodge Hotel":

- They check the e-mail with your request for reservation several times a day, so you have a fast answer.

- Every taxi driver knows the place (i have been there serveral times, all knew it).

- Only a taxe drive of about 20 minutes from the airport to the hotel for about 200 pesos (with taxi meter online). An advice: When the "sharks" at the arrival zone are too agressiv, take the stairs in the building just opposive of your position and go to the arrival zone, where the taxis drive back to the town, often empty. Ask to start the taxi meter, most will do it.

- The restaurant of the hotel and the rooms are clean. Some of them are just made new.

- The cabinet in the room is not stinking, so you can use it for your things without problems.

- They have big and good beds.

- They have a good bathroom with a real hot shower, the towels are ready for use.

- There is a very friendly and helpful staff.

- They have good meals in the restaurant of the hotel to good prices.

- In the restaurant they have a strong WiFi. In the rooms there is not WiFi, it would be good to have.

- It is near a SM store at walking distance and near to the piers to departing with the ferry boats to the islands.

So, the next time I shall choose the "Kiwi Lodge" again, when i have to stay some days in Cebu.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a quiet aircondition.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pdemo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gen Luna
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2013

I am also an American and have stayed at Kiwi four times over the past year (last week being the most recent). As stated by other reviewers, the rooms are adequate, with 210 in particular being excellent.

Thee are two aspects of Kiwi Lodge that separate it from just about everywhere else in Cebu.
1) The staff. Anyone familiar with the Philippines knows good service is difficult to find. The staff at Kiwi are extraordinary in this regard. I can barely leave my room with a tray to bring downstairs without staff sprinting up the stays to take it from me. Want coffee at 3am? No problem. Need something delivered to you in Cebu? They'll accept the delivery and store it for you. I've had nothing but positive experiences with the staff.

2) The food is excellent. I live on a small island in the Southern Philippines where the food is really basic. Kiwi is my chance to reacquaint with western cuisine during my visits off island. I've tried every dish on the menu and they've all been excellent.

Lastly, while it doesn't reach every room, Internet access is blazing fast.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PhDreamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bogo city, philippines
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

I AM AN AMERICAN! My wife and I have stayed at the Kiwi Lodge at least once each month for the past 6 years. The rooms are more than adequate. The food is above average with MANY choices depending on your preference. They offer a well stocked bar with a wide range of options. The biggest selling point is the LOCATION. It is exactly halfway between SM mall and the Ayala mall. Staff is well trained and answers all of our personal needs. THANKS FOR BEING THERE!!!!

Room Tip: No elevators, so not good for people that are in need of handicap facilities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thomas J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
100 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013

I spent a few days here, and several times I overheard management and staff bad mouthing Americans. Everyone else seems welcomed, but if you are American you might want to choose a different place.
Average hotel. Mediocre food, but the service ranged from OK to very bad.
The waitresses just seem annoyed to see customers.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fredf22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cebu Island hotels
0.4 mi away
Cebu R Hotel - Mabolo
Cebu R Hotel - Mabolo
#35 of 86 in Cebu City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
0.3 mi away
Express Inn
Express Inn
#56 of 86 in Cebu City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
0.7 mi away
Castle Peak Hotel
Castle Peak Hotel
#64 of 211 in Cebu Island
3.5 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Azia Suites
Azia Suites
#23 of 86 in Cebu City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Pier Cuatro
Hotel Pier Cuatro
#30 of 86 in Cebu City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
0.7 mi away
Bayfront Hotel Cebu
Bayfront Hotel Cebu
#9 of 86 in Cebu City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kiwilodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kiwilodge Hotel

Property: Kiwilodge Hotel
Address: 1060 G. Tudtud Street | Mabolo, 6000, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #86 of 211 Hotels in Cebu Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Kiwilodge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Very central location in Cebu City, rooms have air con, en-suite bathroom, HD Cable TV and full 24 hr security with plenty of parking, very close to the two main malls and the Piers. Bar-Restaurant opens at 7am with free wifi and serves great breakfast along with many European Favourites like Fish and Chips, Beef Stews, Roast Dinners, etc. Always cold beer on hand. All the taxi drivers know us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Kiwilodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kiwi Hotel Cebu City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing