We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“THIS PLACE IS AMAZING!!!!!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kiwilodge Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Kiwilodge Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1060 G. Tudtud Street | Mabolo, 6000, Philippines   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #94 of 203 Hotels in Cebu Island
bogo city, philippines
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“THIS PLACE IS AMAZING!!!!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

I AM AN AMERICAN! My wife and I have stayed at the Kiwi Lodge at least once each month for the past 6 years. The rooms are more than adequate. The food is above average with MANY choices depending on your preference. They offer a well stocked bar with a wide range of options. The biggest selling point is the LOCATION. It is exactly halfway between SM mall and the Ayala mall. Staff is well trained and answers all of our personal needs. THANKS FOR BEING THERE!!!!

Room Tip: No elevators, so not good for people that are in need of handicap facilities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thomas J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    39
    16
    4
    10
See reviews for
13
24
33
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
89 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

I spent a few days here, and several times I overheard management and staff bad mouthing Americans. Everyone else seems welcomed, but if you are American you might want to choose a different place.
Average hotel. Mediocre food, but the service ranged from OK to very bad.
The waitresses just seem annoyed to see customers.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fredf22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cebu Island, Philippines
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

I am just now about to leave the restaurant at Kiwi Lodge. This will certainly be my last experience here. The food is terrible. They used instant mashed potatoes instead of real ones.

The service is terrible. The waitresses have zero desire to help customers and visibly roll their eyes when you try to catch their attention, or just ignore you altogether.

Lots of other places in Cebu with great service and awesome food. Stay away from here.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lazerbeam84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KiwilodgeHotel, Manager at Kiwilodge Hotel, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
I don't believe this is a genuine review as we went back on meals sold that day and can guarrantee we used fresh mashed potato.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Cebu Island hotels

Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Three years after my last visit, we stayed overnight at Kiwilodge Hotel in Cebu City in January 2013. Rooms are clean and average with notable lack of shower curtain because of having slip-proof tiles. At 10am the bar already had nine expat boozing customers. Restaurant has fewer choices now and quality is slightly lower (using instant mashed potatoes, slightly too much ice in otherwise excellent milkshakes). Microwave is used on almost all dishes, disappointing.

Kiwilodge's somewhat isolated location, in a downscale residential area about a half-mile from Cebu City's SM Mall, means taxi rides to eveything. Roosters heard all day long. Remember, filipino law does NOT allow majority foreign ownership of any business of any size. Elderly Kiwi co-owner actively involved in all phases of the hotel which makes Kiwilodge cleaner than filipino hotels.

Room Tip: Stay at Cebu City hotels on Juana Osmena Ave, closer to the best mall (Ayala Mall) and to many resta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mishmash1141
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KiwilodgeHotel, Manager at Kiwilodge Hotel, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
Thanks for your review. Sorry to here you don't like the menu. Firstly we now have 30% more items on the menu than 3 years ago that's why we had to cut out a lot of images, the menu may have looked larger then, because of all the images.
There are only four items on the menu which are microwaved, We do use the microwave for defrosting but all items are cooked with fresh ingredients.
Some items like stews and goulash's are thawed then cooked.
As far as mashed potatoes, we use instant only if we cannot source non waxy potatoes, 90% of the time we use non waxy potatoes.
Anyway if your over this way again please contact me (Dick Dunlop) and I'll shout you a meal....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blenheim, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

If you are Kiwi, Brit, Oz then this is THE place for you - others may also enjoy their stay :-) The owner Dick Dunlop, his wife and his properly trained staff understand pub ethos. Great prices, great food, iced beer, room service, 24/7 in room Wi-Fi and mile wide smiles - who needs Heaven ? We have had extended stays there for several years and give our personal "guarantee" and stamp of approval - Michael & Pureza Wood.

Room Tip: don't be afraid to pay for an upgrade - it just gets better !
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mikejwoodnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KiwilodgeHotel, Manager at Kiwilodge Hotel, responded to this review, December 9, 2012
Many thanks for your review Mike, It is most appreciated and I sincerely hope to see you both again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hervey Bay, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

For those kiwi, Australian or american travelers who are hanging out for some down to earth tucker, then head on down to the Kiwilodge Hotel Restaurant.
Their mixed grill is to die for and well worth the wait, so give yourselves plenty of time to wait and eat. Good friendly atmosphere and the only thing missing was a piano, what kiwi pub doesn't have a piano :) will be back for more...

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ngwt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KiwilodgeHotel, Manager at Kiwilodge Hotel, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Many thanks for your comments. It is most appreciated.

We do understand what travellers want when travelling, hence as much downunder food as possible is on the menu however we do have some constraints with supply of some items at times.
Once again many thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Accokeek, Maryland
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

I only got to stay there for 2 days but my experience there was great. The staff was friendly, the food was good and the and the place was clean. I wouldn't mind staying there again during my next visit.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Erica M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KiwilodgeHotel, Manager at Kiwilodge Hotel, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Many thanks for taking the time to review us, I shall be passing this on to the staff, they do try very hard.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cebu Island hotels
0.4 mi away
Cebu R Hotel - Mabolo
Cebu R Hotel - Mabolo
#36 of 83 in Cebu City
3.5 of 5 stars 39 reviews
0.7 mi away
Castle Peak Hotel
Castle Peak Hotel
#52 of 203 in Cebu Island
3.5 of 5 stars 180 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Pier Cuatro
Hotel Pier Cuatro
#31 of 83 in Cebu City
4.0 of 5 stars 316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
West Gorordo Hotel Cebu
West Gorordo Hotel Cebu
#25 of 83 in Cebu City
4.0 of 5 stars 39 reviews
0.3 mi away
Express Inn
Express Inn
#59 of 83 in Cebu City
3.0 of 5 stars 103 reviews
0.6 mi away
Red Planet Cebu
Red Planet Cebu
#9 of 83 in Cebu City
4.0 of 5 stars 495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kiwilodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kiwilodge Hotel

Property: Kiwilodge Hotel
Address: 1060 G. Tudtud Street | Mabolo, 6000, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #94 of 203 Hotels in Cebu Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Kiwilodge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Very central location in Cebu City, rooms have air con, en-suite bathroom, HD Cable TV and full 24 hr security with plenty of parking, very close to the two main malls and the Piers. Bar-Restaurant opens at 7am with free wifi and serves great breakfast along with many European Favourites like Fish and Chips, Beef Stews, Roast Dinners, etc. Always cold beer on hand. All the taxi drivers know us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Kiwilodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kiwi Hotel Cebu City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing