We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“my stay at kiwi”
Review of Kiwilodge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Kiwilodge Hotel
Ranked #41 of 218 Hotels in Cebu Island
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“my stay at kiwi”
Reviewed April 25, 2012

i stayed at kiwi for 9 days in March/April. I found the staff absolutely fantastic, thank you Ralph for your friendship and help. The food was well priced and delicious. The room was basic, but was a standard room anyway, i walked in from the street. They must pick from the most beautiful girls in Cebu, because the girls behind the bar are stunning and so polite. The overnight seurity guard was really friendly . Kiwi is situated close to everything really, i enjoyed the fact that i was close to both malls and also the more impoverished squatter areas, which i explored and photographed. The local people are also great and friendly. It was my first time in Cebu but i will be back, and i will definately stay at Kiwi.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DarrylBrooks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    49
    23
    5
    16
See reviews for
30
47
39
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Yeovil, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2012

I've stayed here several times over the last few years using it as a base for onward travel from Cebu. The hotel is secure and located close to port ferries and city centre.
The rates are reasonable and the staff are very helpful.
The plumbing is a bit hit and miss but once you accept that its a fine place to stay.
The bar/eating area is half open air with no air conditioning but cooled by overhead fans.
There are no room safes but you can leave your valuables in the hotel safe via reception which is perfectly ok.
The food is especially good with lots of comfort food items like pies and fish and chips.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank redhorsegoggles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2012

I stayed in the newer room. This is a decent place if you get one of the newer rooms.
If I had to criticize i would say: They kind of cheaped out with their choice of LCD TVs and toilets. I had to ask for toilet paper a few times since they only cleaned up my room once in the week I stayed there. Why give one small role at a time? The restaurant was out of some things and appliances were broken so a lot of the menu was not available. The room floor had a dirt film on it and I told them it just needed a quick mop but they dry swept it instead. The air conditioner and ceiling fan are quite loud when on. But other than that is was alright. I really don't like to critize this place since it's not a bad place overall. I hope they can really think about these things and hopefully it will be better got others. Oh and also be more helpful with what to see in Cebu rather than saying I don't know. Perhaps hand out maps or something.  Oh and one more important thing, confirm your reservation twice and have a copy of it from an email or something. I showed up and they lost mine, but they were able to still get me a room thankfully. (Most people staying here were about 40-70 yrs old) (and not a place to meet other travelers). 

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TravelingSince98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bribie Island, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
163 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 347 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2012

Was a bit underwhelmed when I checked into my "new" deluxe room, as the plumbing fitting has already seen better days and there was a good deal of mould on the bathroon ceiling.

Small, but annoying oversights included a broken TV remote, mineral water in fridge was frozen solid, there was not 1 glass in the room etc. These things were promptly fixed, but they should not have occurred in the first place.

On the positive side, the staff is extremely pleasant and helpful.

Room Tip: Use earplugs - the neighbour's roosters start crowing at the crack of dawn....
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank brisbanepete001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2011

We (family of 3 - one small child) have stayed at Kiwi Lodge twice now.
Once in 2006 & once this trip Dec 2011.
I booked the room over 12 months ago & requested an airport pickup.
The pickup happened. There were two gents waiting...very friendly.
We fought the Friday night traffic back to the hotel & checked in.
The checkin staff were very friendly.
We ordred a eat in room meal as we were tired.
It turned up quick...was very good.
We had a good nights sleep.
We had booked to stay 10 days but at checkin advised we were actually unsure of the exact stay as we wanted to travel to Bohol & do some tours & even perhaps stay down there.
The reception said no problem.
Breakfast is server downstairs in the dining area from 7 am.
We arrived at 7...ordered & the meals were server about 5 minutes later.
The dining area always seems to have expats there...which I like...makes me feel safe.
We ate quite a few meals in the dining area & some in the room.
The meals are slightly pricey (compared to other Cebu eating places) but are clean, good eating, very tasty & very filling. I have no hesitation is recommending the meals. They are good expat filling meals.
The room was supposed to be new (new wing of the building) but it already was showing signs of mould in the bathroom. But I still liked the room.
I used the safe deposit facilityof reception to safely keep some money & our passports. A free facility. The contents were placed in a large manila envelope, sealed & signed.
They were returned everything in tact.
The whole exercise was handled by very friendly staff.
When were turned up late at night from the shopping malls by taxi the security gurd diligently recorded the cabs plate number.
When we wanted a cab to begin our days journey one was very quickly obtained for us by a willing staff member.
I advised on the Sunday night (3 nights stay so far) that we had decided to check out on the Monday morning & head to Bohol.
No problem...they drew up our account the next day...no cancellation fee...no hassle.

My summing up of Kiwi Lodge - Cebu. If you want good food, to feel safe & be in a convenient location then this is the place to be. Just turn a blind eye to the Lodge showing signs of age & needing maintenance. The staff are excellent.

Room Tip: get a top floor room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank SamarTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abuja, Nigeria
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2011

Staid here 10 days, and enjoyed the food and the company of the expats who use the bar and restaurant (great fish and chips).

Rooms are simple and clean. Hotel is located close to the two major shopping Malls and just down the street from Mango Square the major night life bar/restaurant/night club center.

Not a young crowed at the hotel, but staff and owner are very friendly and night time security is very good.

Would stay there again

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank cracker99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2011

Kiwi Lodge is located not to far from the Airport and the shopping Malls SM and Ayella ,

The Hotel is located on a side street so it's not too noisy and the rooms , some a little dated are none the less comfortable ,

The staff are very friendly and efficient and the menu has a wide range of Western and Filipino foods , all very tasty . and not too expensive .

Room Tip: Try to look at your room before you book ,
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ebroguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cebu Island hotels
1.6 mi away
Main Hotel and Suites
Main Hotel and Suites
#27 of 218 in Cebu Island
153 reviews
1.1 mi away
ABC Hotel & Homes
ABC Hotel & Homes
#5 of 90 in Cebu City
151 reviews
0.7 mi away
Red Planet Cebu
Red Planet Cebu
#9 of 90 in Cebu City
774 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Bayfront Hotel Cebu
Bayfront Hotel Cebu
#10 of 90 in Cebu City
428 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Pier Cuatro
Hotel Pier Cuatro
#38 of 90 in Cebu City
358 reviews
0.6 mi away
Azia Suites
Azia Suites
#19 of 90 in Cebu City
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kiwilodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kiwilodge Hotel

Property: Kiwilodge Hotel
Address: 1060 G. Tudtud Street | Mabolo, 6000, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Cebu Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Kiwilodge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Very central location in Cebu City, rooms have air con, ceiling fan, fridge, en-suite bathroom with hot and cold shower, cardio fitness center, business center, skydeck, open to below garden, HD Cable TV, flat screen LED tv and full 24 hr security with plenty of parking, very close to the two main malls SM city Cebu and Ayala center cebu and the harbor.. Bar-Restaurant opens at 7am with free wifi and serves great free breakfast along with many European Favourites like Fish and Chips, Beef Stews, Roast Dinners, etc. Always cold beer on hand. All the taxi drivers know us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Kiwilodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kiwi Hotel Cebu City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing