We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not coming back!”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Castle Peak Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Castle Peak Hotel
Ranked #68 of 213 Hotels in Cebu Island
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
169 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Not coming back!”
Reviewed May 23, 2014 via mobile

Good location. Helpful staff. Great food. Nice rooms. But...

Small windows in most rooms, which have a huge pillar right in front - totally blocking any view. Rooms are a bit claustrophobic. Unless you pay extra and stay in the top category with a balcony.

No manager on duty.
Internet very unstable.
Great rooftop bar!

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank MushPanjwani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    79
    72
    15
    10
See reviews for
25
56
41
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2014

Stood me in lobby for more than 1 hour only because they cannot find my reservation thru Hotels.com. Even after I show them email confirmation on laptop, they still demand me to wait till it is shown on their system. Even with my credit card for incidentals and copy of passport, stood me for more than 1 hour. Unbelievable experience. I reserved for King size bed and it was 2 twin beds put together. Ridiculous. Even with all this unpleasant experience, I tried to maintain my cool, but I lost my cool when my key card has been deactivated and hotel staffs treating me as a potential criminal, instead of showing their regret for mistakes. I don't know if it is the stupidity of management how dictates how staffs work or staffs are incapable of handling customers. This roach motel is even substandard for Philippines average hotel standard.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Travisjohng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Cebu Island hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fairfield, California
Level Contributor
92 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2014

I stayed at the Castle Peak Hotel in Cebu during the 2nd week of May 2014 and found this hotel to be an excellent alternative to the hotels located near the Ayala Mall. This hotel is about a 5-8 minute drive from the mall (depending on the traffic). The price is right, the wifi access in the room is outstanding, the hot water really works and the rooms are comfortable! The breakfast buffet is only average. I am very pleased with this hotel and would not hesitate to stay at the Castle Peak Hotel again. The front desk ladies are always smiling and helpful. Also, there is a convenient laundry service (Wash n Dry) across the street and they are good. I would definitely recommend this place!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Greg A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mindanao, Philippines
Level Contributor
150 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 267 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2014

This could be an excellent hotel with a good location and reasonable prices. As well, it has the basics down: quiet, nice rooms, good beds and pillows, wonderful shower. So why the low rating?

1. the furniture in the lobby looks very trendy, but VERY uncomfortable. Only one halfway comfortable chair.
2. In the afternoon, the sun blasts in the windows and, for some reason the blinds are not pulled. HOT.
3. No air conditioning in the halls.
4. Worse, there is no "lip" between the shower stall and the bathroom itself. So water flows onto the outside floor and then is tracked throughout the room. VERY dangerous, easy to slip.
5. the the late afternoon, the restaurant was sweaty hot.
these all could be rectified easily. but, until then, stay away from this hotel!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Don L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2014

Located in Mabolo, this hotel sits in a nice neighborhood of Cebu City.
I was impressed from the moment I showed up in my taxi. The hotel looked quite nice from outside. The doorman was friendly.
Check-in was a breeze and the counter staff were friendly and helpful. We were offered the choice of the new section or the old section. So, I said, "Let's take a look". Both were fine but the older section has bigger rooms. We opted for room 620 (Grand Superior) in the older section.
Our room was immaculate. Even though we were on the street side it was still very quiet.
Beds are pretty comfortable.
The bar on the 9th floor is nice and has an outdoor patio with a wonderful view.
Buffet breakfast was excellent. For 250 pesos, there is a wide range of food to choose from. You can also have eggs made to your own specs and brought to your table.
Check out was also a breeze.
Would I stay here again? ABSOLUTELY!!!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jason L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2014

If your taller then 5 10" and your sleeping with some one else these beds suck. However great value for the tourist, they had internet in the room. I have to admit better showers then the Marriott Hotel which is three times the price. The location is not so bad but not the best in cebu. The price was fine but not for two couples. It's worth a second visit for the price and the shower alone.

Room Tip: If you want a shower this place is a good hot bath and bed. Close to mango square
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PandaGold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petaluma, California
Level Contributor
61 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2014

A very well-appointed hotel with new furnishings and very friendly staff.
The restaurant is very good, but there's even better choices nearby: great Japanese restaurants on the next block, and the Ayala Mall 5 minutes away has dozens of places to eat.
I liked being close to the mall, even though I didn't come to shop.
Getting a taxi was always easy.

A couple of oddities about the room. In my bottom-price room, one wall is covered by drapes, so I kept thinking it was a window; actually, it's just a blank wall. No windows, and waking up to the same night-light at whatever hour--that was a bit unnerving until I got used to it. There's a funky smell that drifts up from the bathroom plumbing. No problem if you just leave the fan on, but the hotel tries to hide it by flooding the room with air freshener at cleaning time. I had to ask the housekeepers to stop using it because it's too much scent all the time. Also, the shower door is oddly designed, making it hard to get in and out. I could squeeze through, but a really big person would have more difficulty.

Room Tip: See note about windows
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cebu Island hotels
0.0 mi away
Sarrosa International Hotel and Residential Suites
0.0 mi away
Citi Park Hotel
Citi Park Hotel
#27 of 87 in Cebu City
53 reviews
0.9 mi away
Main Hotel and Suites
Main Hotel and Suites
#28 of 213 in Cebu Island
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Cebu R Hotel - Mabolo
Cebu R Hotel - Mabolo
#21 of 87 in Cebu City
64 reviews
0.7 mi away
Alpa City Suites
Alpa City Suites
#1 of 13 in Mandaue
248 reviews
0.8 mi away
Red Planet Cebu
Red Planet Cebu
#9 of 87 in Cebu City
650 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Peak Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Peak Hotel

Property: Castle Peak Hotel
Address: F. Cabahug corner President Quezon Streets | Villa Aurora, Mabolo, 6000, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#17 Best Value Hotel in Cebu Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Castle Peak Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 104
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Travel Book Philippines, Inc. so you can book your Castle Peak Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Peak Cebu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing