We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“old”
Review of Castle Peak Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Castle Peak Hotel
Ranked #75 of 218 Hotels in Cebu Island
manila
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“old”
Reviewed March 28, 2012

I travel to Cebu every month and stay for an average of three nights per trip. I also like to stay in different hotels and compare hotels that offer the best value for travellers.

Here are my thoughts on Castle Peak:

Lobby was small but front desk people were accommodating and friendly.

Hallway going to my room had a distinctive odour which I can only describe as an old smell. There was an empty cart and some other stuff also in the hallway which were sitting there and becomes an obstruction and an eyesore. That empty cart and other stuff did not move for the two nights I was there.

My room was around 10 to 12 square meters. It was cozy enough but could use a rearrangement of the furniture particularly for the TV and the table for it was partially blocking the closet. To expound, if you want to put your stuff inside the closet you have to do it sideways.

Toilet and bath was OK but the shower was a bit low for me and it did not have hot water. Apparently the hot water in my shower was broken according to the front desk.

I was also greatly disappointed with housekeeping. I went out at 6am and came back at 12nn. At 1pm before going out again I personally told the front desk to send some one to clean my room. She acknowledged my request by smiling and asking for my room number. When I arrived at 8:30pm my room was as it was when I left it. I did not bother to call housekeeping or the front desk for I was tired and wanted to rest.

Sleep quality was ok for the bed was firm and so were the pillows. Noise from the hallway was greatly reduced for my room was at the end/corner of the hallway.

The daily buffet breakfast was great. You get to choose four main dishes unlike with other hotels where in they let you choose from three.

Overall you get what you pay for and I think that if I had hot water in the shower and my room was made up by the time I get home I would give it another shot.

Room Tip: Get corner rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank maku0207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    83
    74
    18
    12
See reviews for
27
58
45
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Manila, Philippines
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2012

This is a hotel for those who are conscious with their budget but still expect great customer service. All of the staff I encountered were very friendly, helpful and courteous. It was something I'd expect from an expensive hotel.

I specifically chose this hotel because it was the closest one to my client. It's not that far from the airport and quite near the Ayala area. A lot of taxis pass by the area so you won't have a problem with transportation.

Rooms were what you'd expect with the price you paid but it was always cleaned by housekeeping. One thing I noticed though is that the walls are quite thin that I could hear the vacuum cleaners on the hallways sometimes.

Overall, my stay was great and I'd definitely recommend this hotel to others.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jesuiskareen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippines
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2012

If you are budget-conscious but still want to stay in a hotel, this is probably the best option for you in Cebu.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Justjhas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2011

I have stayed 4 times every time for a month or more it is my home in Cebu good security staff safes in all rooms electronic doors.
The staff are very helpful friendly staff never looking for tips like in other hotels.
It is located in a great position close to Ayala not to far from the airport is has comfortable clean rooms good size beds fridges cable TV hot and cold showers in a great position ask for a front room nice views.
I was last there in November and the new extention was not finished just booked for one month in Febuary in the new section can,t wait to see how it turns out owner told me they are trying to keep rates the same as the original if possible.Rooms are made up each day with clean towels and bedding car parking is available in the lockup basement.

Room Tip: Rooms in the front have good views if a couple order a room with one big bed it give you more room o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank john m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quezon City, Philippines
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 28, 2011

I very often travel to Cebu and stay at different hotels every time. I like to be able to compare, until I find one that I really like.
I decided to stay in 2 different hotels this trip: first at San Remigio Pensionne Suites, then here at Castle Peak Hotel.
I was VERY happy and pleasantly surprised with San Remigio Pensionne Suites, because of the quality of the room and everything.
I was expecting Castle Peak Hotel to be better, but alas, it was much less than I expected, given it had so many good reviews.
Comparing the 2, San Remigio had more than twice the size of the room, much better quality and much newer beddings, comforter, big closet space, a dresser, huge LCD TV, a baclony, huge windows and majestic morning sunlight that would wake you up pleasantly. Castle peak had none of those. It only had a room, cheap beddings, old pillows, a small a small excuse for a window, an old CRT TV, and obviously old small bathrooms - an encased in a cramped small space for a room - which is actually typical of a BUDGET hotel. So I'm not complaining. I'm just saying that after comparing my stay at the 2 budget hotels this trip, my exoectation for the quality of what a budget hotel can offer has increased vastly! And I don't recommend this one.

Room Tip: Choose a different hotel? Unless you like it really average.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elcarbonell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dauin, Philippines
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2011

Probably one of the best place to stay where one could get their money's worth! The location is accessible to most places of interest in the city, the food is good in the restaurant and the service is great. Has well appointed rooms that are spacious and clean. Staff are accomodating and there is an in-house massage service for the weary travellers! The price is reasonable for such a place to stay in the queen city of the south.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MuymuyPaka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iligan, Philippines
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2011

I had the chance to stay here last August 2011 for my Cebu weekend trip, (thanks to groupon I had a discount deal :), the place is a bit old but its clean. The staff are also nice and with great customer service. From my reservation till I check out, i had no problems and they're quick. The rooms are clean, towels looks clean, they also have safety boxes in the room, cable tv and a fridge. It is also near to ayala and sm and taxi is accessible outside the hotel. Another thing I love about the place, is that no public jeepneys outside, so it's not noisy and you can really have good night sleep!..

I would will probably stay here again, Nice place!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ssaera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cebu Island hotels
0.0 mi away
Sarrosa International Hotel and Residential Suites
0.9 mi away
Main Hotel and Suites
Main Hotel and Suites
#27 of 218 in Cebu Island
153 reviews
0.0 mi away
Citi Park Hotel
Citi Park Hotel
#18 of 90 in Cebu City
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Red Planet Cebu
Red Planet Cebu
#9 of 90 in Cebu City
776 reviews
0.8 mi away
Diamond Suites & Residences
Diamond Suites & Residences
#29 of 90 in Cebu City
222 reviews
0.9 mi away
Bayfront Hotel Cebu
Bayfront Hotel Cebu
#10 of 90 in Cebu City
428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Peak Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Peak Hotel

Property: Castle Peak Hotel
Address: F. Cabahug corner President Quezon Streets | Villa Aurora, Mabolo, 6000, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#20 Best Value Hotel in Cebu Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Castle Peak Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 104
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, HotelQuickly and Travel Book Philippines, Inc. so you can book your Castle Peak Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Peak Cebu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing