We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“value for money”
Review of Wellcome Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Wellcome Hotel
Ranked #69 of 224 Hotels in Cebu Island
Reviewed February 7, 2014

Complimentary shuttle service from hotel to Ayala Shopping Mall.

Opposite 2nd best seafood restaurant (according to internet reviews) in Cebu, Kuya J.

Very attentive staff.

Questions to the Hotel was answered promptly.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KEHCL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (246)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

182 - 188 of 246 reviews

Reviewed February 6, 2014

The location is good, not far from the airport, just a few minutes of walk to shopping centre Ayala Mall, several dining options within a few minutes of walk as well. The staff was helpful, just the checkout was not that smooth. The gentlemen at the front desk was not very good at multitasking but not a big deal :] Breakfast was not bad (comparing to what we were getting at other places in Philippines excellent in fact). The hotel is very noisy in the morning though, we got rooms just above the entrance and you could really hear the traffic and other noise from the outside. Early morning chats of other guests (=shouting) in the corridors were unfortunately common.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank squzza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wellcomestaff, Manager at Wellcome Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2014

Thank you for your inputs, Sir/Madame. We are checking out which room have that problem that you mentioned, so that for sure, it will not be there in your future stays with us. Regards from the staff...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2014

After a flight cancellation we had to stay in Cebu City for an extra night. After some quick internet research we found this hotel. The location of Wellcome Hotel is in a side street but is close to Ayala Mall. The staff are very friendly and helpful. The room was modern and clean. My only negative was the loud air conditioning. I don't know if that is the cse for all rooms. Overall this was a great place to stay after a very frustrating day.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank goossey123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded February 9, 2014

We are value hotel in the heart of a great city and we try our very best to make sure our guests enjoy their stay as much as we can. Guests like you always inspire us to do more. See you soon in one of your future trips in Cebu...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2014

Reservations were promptly dealt with in a friendly and professional manner. Stayed in two interconnecting deluxe rooms on the second floor from 13th till 17th December 2013. Rooms smelled fresh and clean. Although the bathrooms were small, water pressure was good enough. Housekeeping was inconsistent as towels provided were not proportionate to the number of people in the room, I believe guests need not call them to ask for more. Breakfast was adequate although it would be good to see American menu items served. Reception is eager to please however it appears they do not check the details of the room rate, hence we were asked to pay for additional breakfast despite its inclusion in the quotation. Quite embarrassing to be confronted this situation even if it gets sorted out later.
Returned to stay on our way out of the country (9th to 12th January 2014) due to its reasonable rate and very clean facilities.The same problem with Housekeeping and Reception happened. Hopefully this part of their service will be improved as we sure do wish to stay again at this lovely hotel.

Room Tip: Interconnecting rooms with balcony are the way to go for families.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AAHinojos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2014

the best about this hotel is its walking distance to Ayala Mall even the surroundings does not feel totally safe at night. I walked however and did not get into any trouble. Nothing fancy here but totally ok, good value for money and excellent if you want to end your vacation with a couple of days shopping before you return home.
Swimming pool is "microscopic" but due to a wide angle lens it does not look like that on the pics hehe. Just be aware of it.
Friendly staff, service minded.
I recommend it if all you want is a budget sleep over and nothing fancy

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MorJon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded February 9, 2014

We are value hotel in the heart of a great city and we try our very best to make sure our guests enjoy their stay as much as we can. That is the reason we added a pool, though small, so the guests can have a semblance of peace and serenity in the middle of a city-jungle. Anyhow, guests like you always inspire us to do more. See you soon in one of your future trips in Cebu...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2013

The rooms are great nice size and everything looks new or near new. The room I had had a deck with a table and chairs. The rooms had TV a/c toothbrush, soap, lotion, and so on. Also a hot water maker and free coffee and water.
They have a pool but it only has a few chairs and the pool was built in the shade so after 12 noon it's in the shade.
We stayed for a week and the staff was very very nice and helpful for all our needs. The only problem is the restaurant, they have a small menu and we went in for dinner one night and 3 of the 8 items they had they were not available. Also the morning buffet was always a mess, they have 5 people working a little cafe and most of the food was out or cold and to get water or coffee you had to go get it yourself....if they traded the 5 for one good employee thing would be perfect.
I did return to this hotel a few weeks later but only for one night and they did have 2 new servers in the restaurant and they did bring coffee and the food was full... Maybe this problem was fixed...if so you get the other star....haha.....thank you

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank theeyesoftheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wellcomestaff, Manager at Wellcome Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2014

Yes, Sir. We are working on improving on the things that you have mentioned. We strive to be a value hotel, delivering the most value for our guests. Our best regards...Happy Valentines to you and the family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for the night, booked with agoda. The room got dounle booked but they upgraded us immediately without us knowing. Room was spotless, bed was comfy and had all modcons and then some. Marvelous help and extremelly helpful (this was our experience from the time we landed in cebu which was a stark contrast on what we experienced in Manilla). All in all, would always come back here!

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank NB1414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wellcomestaff, Manager at Wellcome Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2014

Hello, Sir. Regards from the staff...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cebu Island hotels
0.1 mi away
Diamond Suites & Residences
Diamond Suites & Residences
#30 of 92 in Cebu City
241 reviews
0.1 mi away
MJ Hotel and Suites
MJ Hotel and Suites
#27 of 92 in Cebu City
45 reviews
0.2 mi away
Harolds Hotel
Harolds Hotel
#3 of 92 in Cebu City
546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Cebu Grand Hotel
Cebu Grand Hotel
#61 of 92 in Cebu City
150 reviews
0.2 mi away
Red Planet Cebu
Red Planet Cebu
#9 of 92 in Cebu City
917 reviews
0.1 mi away
Quest Hotel and Conference Center - Cebu
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wellcome Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wellcome Hotel

Address: 18 Molave St. | Escario-Kamputhaw, 6000, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #69 of 224 Hotels in Cebu Island
Price Range: $37 - $101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Wellcome Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Well-positioned in the heart of Cebu City's Central Business District, WellCome Hotel is the ideal vantage point for one's excursions around Cebu or the region. The hotel is located just a few meters from Cebu's Ayala Mall and the nearby public transport station that provides access to most of Cebu's important points of interest and attractions. This modern hotel is in the area of the circle of hotels - where tourists and visitors to the city primarily seek accommodation. The hotel is also near Cebu's I.T. Park, convention centers, Mango Avenue and all the favorite hang-outs for locals and tourists seeking fun and exhilaration.WellCome Hotel is committed to ensuring that one's stay is as comfortable as possible, offering hotel guests with superior services and a broad range of amenities. Guests of the hotel can actually avail of on-site options, such transfers to the airport and seaport, tours, a restaurant, Wi-Fi in public areas, concierge, coffee shop, and massage. The hotel's outdoor pool is a favorite spot to unwind and a way to enjoy one's stay in the country's Queen City of the south.Step into any of the property's 68 inviting guest rooms and escape from the day's stress with a wide range of amenities, ranging from kitchens in choice rooms, balcony/terrace at the lower floors, refrigerator-mini bar, interconnecting rooms in certain room pairs, and internet access for free wherever available. Whatever is the purpose of one's visit and with unmatched value for the money, WellCome Hotel will always be an excellent choice for one's stay in the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Expedia, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Wellcome Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing