We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Alegre Beach Resort
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Las Flores(Cebu Island)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Royal Vista Resort(Cebu Island)
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (225)
Filter reviews
225 results
Traveler rating
116
70
24
8
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
116
70
24
8
7
See what travelers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
137 - 142 of 225 reviews
Reviewed July 23, 2009

It was my 3rd trip back to the same hotel. Like always the service is absolutely out of this world. Staff has always been friendly, rooms were always kept in shape. See you next year !!

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tennisgirl14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2009

Manila based British ex-pat spent 4 nights with wife and toddler (and nanny) June 2009.

Hotel has its own greeting area inside airport. Transfer good, new vans with sensible drivers and takes around 90mins.

Hotel is set in very lush grounds arranged in U shape on cliff with a beach at the base inside the U. This works well as it allows for very good views from high up public areas and rooms while making access to the beach very cosy and more dramatic than a flat vista. Beach is big, clean and quiet. Water very clear with tons of fish used to being hand fed on left over bread.

Rooms are very nice with splendid bathrooms. They are clean and well finished but retain a tropical look due to faux nipa roofs and clever landscaping.

Staff are excellent and make you very warmly and genuinely welcome as is true of most Philippines resorts. Food is average and frankly what I’d expect for provincial hotel but at least it’s reasonably priced. It’s best to order something they’re good at - Lapu lapu with Jackfruit is very good, sausage and French fries is good, spare ribs are not good. The kitchen staff were kind enough to bake a cake for my wife's birthday which was very nice.

Pool area is very attractive and the pool itself is very large and around 4-5ft deep throughout with a separate large baby pool. Didn’t try the dive shop. Spa was fine. Physical layout of the place means you need to able to walk up and down quite a few stairs so if you’re physically impaired or terminally lazy think again.

We chose this place as alternative to a suite at the Shang which we did last time we were in Cebu. If you are looking for a tropical hideaway for peace and quiet to romance/read books/spa/dive/beach this place does it very well – stay here. If you like more people around, are a serious gourmand and happy to spend significantly more money then the Shang is for you.

Do check out the pics we posted they will give you a good idea of what it's like.

Hope that helps and happy holiday to you.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank talk2mrjones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2009

The title says all I want in a vacation place and Alegre delivers. The view, the beach, the room and the compact grounds are all great and the staff are polite and friendly. I stayed during off season this time and one disadvantage of this is not always having a breakfast buffet. Even with many visitors however I doubt if the peacefulness of this resort would satisfy party animals, or shoppers. But if you're just into water sports or relaxing with some in-resort walking about, I recommend Alegre. Maybe next time I'll return with companions and go island-hopping and bird-watching. The extra costs for these need splitting.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wkendwriter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2009

We just returned from two stunning weeks at Alegre with our four year old and our seventeen year old daughters. Our trip was nothing short of amazing. The resort is immacultely maintained and the customer service is outstanding. We were greeted by every member of the staff with smiling faces and a warm "good morning" daily. The resort itself is in pristine condition. The gardens and beach views are to die for; the views are right out of a post card. While the resort is isolated, there is still plenty to do. My husband went scuba diving daily; we took boat trips to other islands, snorkled, spent hours in the pool and ocean, enjoyed facials at the spa, and basically just relaxed for two weeks. I nearly cried when we had to leave. We spent a day in Cebu City and visited Shangri La, which I found very crowded and noisy. For a relaxing vacation in peaceful surroudings, you can't beat Alegre. We had no complaints whatsoever (other than the high price of items at the gift shop, but that's to be expected) and would go again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pinaygirlsmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2009

Spent a few blissful days here, pay no attention to the negative reviewers. Rooms are very comfortable, clean and fit in well with the surroundings. Staff were always attentive. Swimming pool is nice and big, food was mostly good. There is not a lot to do, except for lazing around the beach and the pool which is why we picked it. There are tours and watersports if you are interested. On our visit the resort was quiet which helped, although the area is so big i think even if it was full you could still find a quiet corner to yourself. If you have to choose between the resorts in Cebu city and this one try here first, you definitely feel you are away from it all.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank duncinmanila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews