We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice resort and cool for tourist....”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Alegre Beach Resort
Ranked #68 of 220 Hotels in Cebu Island
Reviewed May 23, 2013

We stayed only at this resort for day and I find it...good. Ideal for vacationers and honeymooners. The place is peaceful, away from busy and noisy city. There's a shuttle
transportation from Cebu City to ferry you back and forth. Be sure to book in advance as it is
always fully booked especially during summer. Everthing is ok. You can also use your credit card if you wish which is convenient for travelers....the fact that it is quite far from the city. It will take you one hour and a half from Mactan Intl. Airport to this resort.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nathzniel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (226)
There are newer reviews for Alegre Beach Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

39 - 45 of 226 reviews

Reviewed May 21, 2013

My wife and I were driving around the area and decided to stop for a drink and refreshments and have a look around.Security guard at entrance gate was curtious and helpful. Grounds large and at first glance appeared to require a bit more TLC No one in reception when we arrived but later a young lady arrived and was very helpful. Souvineer shop close by but nobody in attendance. Inner pool area and gardens beautiful. Restaurant and service very good. We were alone in the restaurant and enjoyed the cool environment and magnificent view. The area outside the hotel grounds is very busy with many homes close by. Not many guests here so if you want a very very quiet time away and be very very private this is the place

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HughandMedith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2013

having read so many positive and good reviews about this resort, i was so excited to experience this resort...at first things started ok.. we were picked up on time at the henry in cebu city, the staff at the reception were gracious and let us check in early.. the restaurant was modern and chic...but slowly things got disappointing..here's why:

- i added 2000pesos per night to get the oceanview room but later noticed that all the room looked exactly the same! the oceanview is not worth it! our canaba 2 (very old room that even has an old tv and noisy ref..plus the bed was so freaking creaky! ) had a small ugly ledge that disturbs the view..better just get the deluxe rooms.

- my daughter wanted to go snorkling so we inquired abt the equipment at the aqua center..we were shocked to find out that LIFE VESTS COSTS 250PESOS A DAY!!!! unbelievable!!! we have travelled all over the philippines and this is THE FIRST TIME that we have encountered a so called luxury resort renting out their life vest!! i can understand renting out snorkeling gears but life vests??? absured!!! it seems safety has a price here (and mind you the beach isnt really shallow) Note: they do have life guards but personal safety is still important

- the water in the beach isnt really clear.. we had a hard time snorkeling coz the water was too cloudy.. even at the deeper parts.. the beach is not clear and pristine as said..

it seems that their "promos" are affecting and limiting the level of service and inclusions..

there are still other things that i can ignore but i will never get over the LIFE VEST FOR RENT THING..safety should always be the first priority of any resort or establishment.

the only thing stopping me from giving a poor rating is the resort staff.. all the staff were helpful and efficient.

Room Tip: all the rooms are the same thing..
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mity C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013

What a lovely resort, as we arrived we were met at the door and helped with our luggage, in reception, we were given a welcome drink, all went smooth...
The room was first class, very large bedroom and huge bathroom with bathtub and separate shower.
We had BBQ dinner on the white sand beach, very romantic.
Large swimming pool with lots of loungers,
One criticism was same as another review here, I emailed for information one week in advance of arrival and never got a reply, (management please note).

Would I return? 100% yes.

Room Tip: Be specific about the bed you require, single bed or twin.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2013

I stay here whenever I visit our supplier in Cebu. I've stayed 3 times now and it just gets better and better.
They are renovating all the time and it really has got better and better over the years.
What hasn't got better is the courtesy of the staff - because honestly that just couldn't be bettered.
Always a smile, always want to help.
The spa is much better now - it's not Champneys but you wouldn want it to be. This is a friendly resort. It hasn't disappeared up it's own ...... But don't let that fool you - it's beautiful and you not be disappointed.

Room Tip: Ask for an ocean view - if you want to splash out a bit more go for the rooms at the very front. The...
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GBK6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed at Alegre a couple nights the first week in Oct. It was great overall with a few minor things, and since I read all of the reviews before going, I thought I should share our experience.

Airport transfer - It was great and smooth! My only critique is that I emailed the resort to set up the transfer a day or so before departure and they never replied to my email, so I was nervous that no one would be there. But sure enough we had a ride and it was great, our driver even made a stop for us so we could pick up a drink and some sunscreen since we forgot to pack ours.

Resort overall - Really beautiful, the grounds are great with lovely flower displays all around.

Rooms - really nice and plenty of space, and the bathrooms were nice and large. My only critique here is that we requested a King room and got a room with 2 Doubles and our AC was kinda noisy, but all of that was easily forgotten when we were relaxing on the beach

Beach - It's good, lots of loungers and you never have to compete for a chair. There is a stunning large magnolia tree growing on the beach that is great for shade. The beach is a bit rocky, you have to be careful going in. But this means that its nice snorkeling right off the beach. They have gear there you can use and we just went out on our own right off the beach, but we saw other guests that were really into snorkeling go out with a staff member past the ropes to see more.

Food - Better than expected! Everything we had was great! Only downside was the main restaurant area was closed for construction during our stay. On the upside looks like it will be quite lovely for future guests.

I'd go back in a heartbeat and wish we had stayed longer, as we left here and went to the Crimson Resort on Mactan - Horrible, what a huge mistake, we were wishing we were back at Alegre the entire time.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2013

First the good: Big, well kitted out rooms and lovely setting only a couple of minutes walk to a beautiful beach if you can get one of the sea view rooms. The stretch of white-sanded beach is about 400m wide and there was plenty of space / loungers at the time we where there, there is also a little beach bar providing a good selection of drinks both soft and alcoholic. The facilities are pretty good for a hotel of its class, decent gym and adequate play / kids area with table football, board games and book library for those frequent SE Asian downpours. Service was very good and we were very impressed by the attentiveness of most of the staff from the moment we arrived. Nice pool although could have done with a more regular scooping out of leaves etc… Unfortunately the shine was taken off of our 6 day stay by the food. I know this is a fairly common grumble with parts of the Philippines but we really struggled with the quality and selection choice here – particularly with a 3 year old. Most of the main meals seemed to be swamped in the same ‘tomato’ sauce and there was a basic lack of care taken in the majority of the food preparation / presentation. We were trying to eat healthily and ended up with pizza for lunch and dinner most days and even that was average at best. The breakfast buffet was even worse, it seemed to consist of whatever was left over from the day before and there were a LOT of flies in the dining hall with no effort being made to keep them away from the food. We were very annoyed by the sight of the German ‘head chef’ wandering around the dining hall looking immensely proud of the food he was providing whilst we struggled to eat it. Ive seen reviews where people have given the food here 5-stars but I can honestly say that if you have experienced ‘5-star’ rated food in the past, you would struggle to give this more than 1 star. For this reason we wouldn’t stay again as the hotel is in the middle of nowhere. Should they sort the food out or if there were other local options nearby we would be back like a shot.

Room Tip: Sea view or you may have a LONG walk to the beach
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eddseven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cebu Island hotels
35.5 mi away
Las Flores
Las Flores
#55 of 220 in Cebu Island
95 reviews
33.3 mi away
Kandaya Resort
Kandaya Resort
#1 of 1 in Daanbantayan
129 reviews
34.6 mi away
Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel
Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel
#9 of 42 in Mactan Island
703 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.6 mi away
Casa Del Mar Beach Hotel
Casa Del Mar Beach Hotel
#3 of 3 in San Remigio
56 reviews
70.9 mi away
The Blue Orchid Resort
The Blue Orchid Resort
#1 of 7 in Moalboal
441 reviews
37.8 mi away
Tepanee Beach Resort
Tepanee Beach Resort
#1 of 13 in Malapascua Island
541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alegre Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alegre Beach Resort

Address: Calomboyan | PO Box 1094, 6007, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Cebu Island
#17 Luxury Hotel in Cebu Island
#22 On the Beach Hotel in Cebu Island
Price Range: $180 - $270 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Alegre Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Travel Book Philippines, Inc. so you can book your Alegre Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alegre Beach Hotel Cebu
Alegre Beach Cebu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing