We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Alegre all the Way!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Alegre Beach Resort
Ranked #68 of 220 Hotels in Cebu Island
Reviewed February 20, 2012

I have stayed at Alegre Resort 5 times over the past year and each visit is sheer bliss. Each time I return to Alegre there is a bottle of red wine in my room as a thank-you gift and it's a nice touch. My most recent visit was the 6th and 7th of February 2012.

As others have expressed, the resort is located 1,5-2hrs drive depending on traffic North from Cebu City along the coast. When booking the resort on the hotel website (or on other discount hotel websites) you can opt for a package that includes round-trip transportation from Cebu City, but as others have wrongly mentioned it is not included in all packages so make sure to read the package inclusions carefully before booking. Personally the transport is a very nice perk. If I had to pay extra for the service I would book somewhere closer to Cebu City like Shangri-La where it costs 300pesos (7Can dollars) for a taxi ride.

I usually visit Alegre weekdays and avoid the busier weekend and that makes the resort feel deserted at times even when the occupancy rate is around 75%. The resort is very well spaced and somehow it never feels crowded.

As mentioned before the resort is spread out above a cliff and overlooking the ocean which offers truly stunning views but also alot of walking up and down to get to the beach. If you are older or have limited mobility this can be an issue, but to me and my wife it's a plus and allows us a slight workout and keeps us in shape.

The restaurant is located overlooking the ocean and during the day offers sweeping views. On a clear day off to your left in the distance you can see Leyte, and to the right slightly you can see the Camotes Islands. In the evening if you sit near the railing the rope lighting makes for a very romantic dinner. Prices for meals are expensive for the Philippines and have increased 30-40% in the last year, but not out of line with other resorts such as Shangri-La.

The food is good and well presented and yes sometimes the service can be slow, (food will come 20-30mins after ordering) but you are on vacation not waiting for a flight at the airport so relax, have another drink and enjoy the evening. There is a German head chef working at Alegre and I have seen him a few times when there are other German guests he will often come out to speak with them and mingle abit when he is not busy.

The grounds are truly beautiful and very well maintained. The beach does have white sand but is not fine powder. The sand particles are ground up bits of coral and shells which makes it very easy to find small shells while walking the beach. The aqua sports is located on the third cove. Snorkel gear rental is not free as others have mentioned, but a one-time snorkel gear rental or one-time kayak rental is included in some packages. Read the package inclusions carefully.

They also offer jet-ski rental, several different snorkel trips offered on the Alegre banca, diving trips, padi certification, deep-sea fishing, and some evening-sunset cruises on the banca boat. All the activities mentioned are very expensive even by Western standards so make sure to inquire carefully about pricing before booking.

The resort is supposedly German owned and there is a German manager, but I have never seen a German manager at any time during my stays at Alegre.

I will now point out some of the negatives to Alegre, and some of these points are major and some minor but they should be mentioned.

The biggest negative is the pool. It looks great and a refreshing dip in the pool can be a nice treat after being at the beach all day or in the evening surrounded by romantic lighting after a nice meal but the pool requires major work.The filter pump system can be heard working in the room next to the stairs but it is all an illusion. Every suction point in the pool doesn't work, there is no water filtration or water movement in the pool and this problem has been going on for the past 6 months. Touch all of the suction vents in the pool and there is no water flow, the pool is stagnant with no chlorine treatment of any kind. That makes parts of the pool bottom slimy to the touch. The sides of the pool have become black in some sections and the blue paint is flaking off and when feels slimy to the touch.The lights underwater give off a nice glow after dark but are not properly secured and they are very loose when touched and with low electrical codes in the Philippines is just an accident waiting to happen.

Rooms 14-15 are older and have the older smaller bathtub. The lock to the small toilet area was broken in room 15 last trip. The matresses are getting kind of old in all the bungalows I have stayed in. Good quality European mattresses would make all the difference. Also the whole bathroom setup can be challenging if travelling with someone you are not very close with as the door to the toilet area is a see-through shower door. If a full-sized wooden door was installed it would eliminate the possible awkwardness. There are full sized wooden dividers that section off the bathroom area for more privacy but they are a pain in the rump to use honestly.

The TV's in the rooms are older and sometimes the remotes are broken and you have to get up to change the channel on the TV manually. There are only a few channels on TV. 12-15 if I remember correctly so don't expect alot of choices. The lack of TV channels didn't bother me, I just mention it in passing as I just arrived the morning of the Negros-Cebu earthquake and I turned on the TV to figure out what was going on, and more TV options would of been helpful.

All the bungalows I have stayed in have a door to the other adjoining room that can be opened only upon request from the front desk and can be great when someone you know is staying in the next room as you can walk freely from one room to the next. The downside begins when there is a smoker in the next room and even when the door is locked the smoke will still make its way under and into your room. I am a non-smoker so thought I would point that out. The whole adjoining door system seems outdated and they should do away with it. Much easier to open the sliding wooden doors on the balcony and use that as a way to gain access to the other room.

The pluses to staying at Alegre are.

The grounds are so well maintained, perfect and so very beautiful. The quiet nature of the resort makes you well rested. At night usually only the sound of waves on the beach, the wind rustling though palm trees and the occasional gecko can be heard, very very peaceful.

The staff are very helpful and never over-bearing. Some OJT's (On Job Training), students of hotel and restaurant courses working for job experience are hired in the dining room from time to time. They provide excellent care, just sometimes slow service due to there lack of knowledge. The checkin staff are excellent and are always around to solve any issues and they provide great service.

The balconies provided with each room are amazing to sit and relax. Good place to have a drink in the evening or let snorkel gear dry out and are a real bonus feature.

Each bungalow has it's own hot water provider and that makes for some nice long hot showers, a great treat after a long day at the beach, or lazing around the pool.

The beach area and marine sanctuary is just amazing. The amount of coral is stunning! I would recommend going out from the main cove (middle one) and snorkeling directly away from the beach. At first you will encounter some small weed beds and then some broken and sun-bleached coral sections, do not be discouranged! Keep going! After that when the water gets over 10+ feet the water clarity improves and the ocean bottom reveals a stunning array of coral. Some very large table-top coral with lenghts of over 20ft can be found in that section with many different types of sponges and coral, breathtaking! Three quarters of the way out you can see the white sand bottom 35ft below and there are some nice large coral outcroppings that appear and are 20 ft high and attract some nice fish. At the rope sectioned off limit on a calm day you can see the bottom at 50+ feet and a few bigger fish, after the rope the bottom drops off into the depths. On the other roped off section on the aqua sports side there are some large impressive table-top coral spanning 30+ ft, very cool.

While the number and amount of coral species is very impressive the number of fish is not as good as in other places off Mactan. The resort needs to do a better job to protect the fish population and to educate the local fishermen so they do not strip the fish resource bare. Mostly smaller reef fish at Alegre.

A few days stay at Alegre is just prefect for me and my wife and allows us to rest and recharge our batteries. A week would be too long and we would get bored.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank DaleJr08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (226)
There are newer reviews for Alegre Beach Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

79 - 85 of 226 reviews

Reviewed February 11, 2012

All the staffs are greeting you with a smile and they are very helpful and friendly.
The service just make me feel like i am in the Club Med.
There has free transport from the Cebu city to the resort and from the resort to airport.anytime in a private car as request.
Cycling is free for the first 2 hours,snokeling and kayaking are free too with no extra charge.
The staffs even gave us extra mineral waters when we asked for it before we cycled.
They even go extra miles to dry our wet clothing while waiting for the transport to airport.
Excellent.

Room Tip: May ask for room facing the beaches or a room near the main facilities.
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jessee2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2012

If you want a vacation away from all the stress and with all your needs are addressed in the highest of hospitality standards, then, this is the place for you. We stayed there for 2 weeks and every time we went out of our room we are still wowed by the beauty of it. The food was great. The rooms are very well maintained and very clean. The staff - very friendly and well trained. You get the highest possible security. Every time we went out of the resort and decide to have our own transportation they check the drivers and take note of your arrival and departures. The scenery is just beyond compare. I have never seen anything like. The beach, is full of marine life, the moment you get into the water put your snorkeling gear on and you see beautiful fishes the moment you get into the water. I will definitely recommend this place and would love to go back when we go to Cebu. We also get a wine from them after a week of stay. Very good resort. You can never ask for more.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank markjayonfire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2012

I must say that my stay here last year was quite pleasant and restful. Alegre Beach Resort is around 2 hours north of Cebu City by private van, so it's a bit far from the city, in the town of Sogod. That's part of the charm - you are away from the maddening crowds. The property is huge, and the grounds are well-manicured. I love the individual villas each guest is put in, with an invitingly large bathroom, where you can soak all your stress away. They have a huge pool, and several steps down brings you to their private beach, which is also a marine sanctuary. The waters are alive with tropical fish, and because the place is so exclusive, most if the time it will only be you and the fishes. The beach and the water is clean and tempting, so you have not choice but to take the plunge.

Since you're so far away from everything else, you have no choice but to eat there. Food is expensive, but the choices are numerous, and the preparation well-executed. Breakfasts are divine, and lunch and dinner buffets are plentiful, with lots of fresh, sweet Cebu mangoes. The dessert section is divine, and I just love their chocolates!

It's a worthy splurge to spend a couple of days in this blissful resort. Better bring along a loved one to make the most out of this experience!

Room Tip: All of the duplex villas face the sea. But choose the ones closer to the shore, as the ones out back...
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TheShrike_inManila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2012

What a beautiful place! Reasonably priced, staff were helpful but unintrusive, personable but not familiar. This place could easily rate 5 stars. Only drawback is that there are no external dining opportunities in the area. All meals had to be taken at the resort. The food was of good quality and reasonable price but I like variety and being able to experience life outside.
The rooms were excellent. I reserved a garden villa but this was located as were all the others one level up the hill and between the two sea view villas so you actually had a great view of the sea. Snorkelling was excellent. Saw Nemo and Marlin which the kids loved.We used the tennis court which was good basket ball court was so so.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steve F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2012

The resort is stunning. The beaches are lovely and the pool is beautiful. Even thought the resort was fully booked over Chinese New Year we were often the only people around the pool!

The rooms are spacious and clean with a huge bathroom. All the usual things like TV, DVD, tea/coffee etc.

Breakfast was good with a range to choose from. The freshly cooked waffles were particularly nice. Don't get there right before breakfast ends as most choices will have run out!

The food in the restaurant was nice with a wide variety. The special pre-order meat dishes that are cooked in clay were beautiful. Well worth spending a little extra on. The beach BBQ was great. Lots of choices.

The service in the restaurant was a little slow at times but not too bad. We were there at the same time as the reviewer below and we certainly didn't experience service as bad as he/she described. It was usually drinks that we waited for, not so much the food. The waitors/waitresses were all really friendly.

The resort is pretty isolated so if you want to go out exploring and trying different bars/restaurants then this resort isn't fo you. If you just want to sit back and relax for a few days then this place is perfect. We were there for 4 nights. One week could be lovely, 2 weeks would probably get boring.

Arrange the transfer with the hotel. It's a 90 minute drive on some pretty hairy roads.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms are a bit of a walk from the facilities.
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nlh1309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2012

Alegre Beach Resort is in an absolutely gorgeous spot. The private beach is split between 3 small coves (tip: take a towel and head past the beach bar for even more peace and quiet!). There is some nice snorkelling close to the shore and gear can be hired from the aqua sports centre. The rooms are large and the resort is laid out in a way that ensures each room is peaceful and secluded. The landscaping is lovely.

We booked direct with the hotel and arranged airport transfer through them. This, along with check in/out, was very efficient. Unfortunately, that's where the efficiency ended. Food and drink service was extremely slow, e.g. a 15 minute wait for 2 bottles of beer. On our first night, there was a buffet dinner on the beach from 6.30-10pm: we arrived at 8, half the dishes were finished and were not replenished. For the next two nights we ate in the restaurant. On both occasions we and all the tables around us had to chase up drinks orders and one couple waited over an hour for their food to arrive. All this made the atmosphere rather tense! As there really are no cafes or restaurants nearby there was no choice but to wait. Things may have been worse as the place was full due to it being Chinese New Year, but with only 40 rooms and seemingly plenty of staff they should have been able to cope. Food was average to good- the Filipino dishes were particularly nice.

Staff were extremely friendly though, sadly due to the slow service we would hesitate to return, a shame as the location is stunning.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jessicam_hk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cebu Island hotels
35.5 mi away
Las Flores
Las Flores
#55 of 220 in Cebu Island
95 reviews
33.3 mi away
Kandaya Resort
Kandaya Resort
#1 of 1 in Daanbantayan
129 reviews
34.6 mi away
Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel
Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel
#9 of 42 in Mactan Island
703 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.6 mi away
Casa Del Mar Beach Hotel
Casa Del Mar Beach Hotel
#3 of 3 in San Remigio
56 reviews
70.9 mi away
The Blue Orchid Resort
The Blue Orchid Resort
#1 of 7 in Moalboal
441 reviews
37.8 mi away
Tepanee Beach Resort
Tepanee Beach Resort
#1 of 13 in Malapascua Island
541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alegre Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alegre Beach Resort

Address: Calomboyan | PO Box 1094, 6007, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Cebu Island
#17 Luxury Hotel in Cebu Island
#22 On the Beach Hotel in Cebu Island
Price Range: $180 - $270 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Alegre Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Travel Book Philippines, Inc. so you can book your Alegre Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alegre Beach Hotel Cebu
Alegre Beach Cebu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing