We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good, but can be improved”
Review of The Ranch Resort

The Ranch Resort
Ranked #136 of 289 things to do in Cebu Island
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Ranch Resort was conceived as a rejuvenation place for friends who came for the weekends to heal themselves of the weariness from city life stress. At the Ranch, they enjoyed the uncluttered purity of rural life, the generous hospitality of the locals, the healing verdant green of carefully nurtured crops and fruits, and the sun-kissed honey from the bees.
philippines
Level 6 Contributor
566 reviews
200 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 910 helpful votes
“good, but can be improved”
Reviewed September 1, 2013

Our group of 35 went there for a sunday day trip. The resort was fully booked for the weekend. But since it was a sunday, there were a lot of rooms whose guests have checked out that allowed us to look and compare the two rooms. The smaller rooms is rectangular in shape, thus the distance from the bed to the TV is quite far, making the TV screen view very small. They have sofa chairs at the foot of the bed to allow a closer view of the tv. Bathroom is ok, with shower enclosure. The bigger room (suite) is more squarish in shape, has a bigger tv, and a bathtub.

The different pools are just pools, with the deepest at 5ft, and several that are kiddie pools. One pool has those mushroom shaped waterfalls for kids, one that is a waterfall that is surrounded by what looked like a lazy river design but without water movement. By 230pm, the pool water started to become cloudy. I swam in 3 of the pools with my goggles, and all three had the same cloudiness. The blue grass garden around the pool were well trimmed, but the palm trees were sparse and did not provide shade for the hot sun.

The alfresco dining area is hot and humid, even with the various electric fans. It is better to eat at the airconditioned dining room located beside the hotel check in lobby, which also allows you to avoid all the flies that surround you at the alfresco area. The menu is the same if you dine indoors and outdoors. Food prices are good, a good meal can be had for up to 250 pesos per person. The restaurant staff struggles with a big group, as stated by one review here, and as witnessed by our group. We placed our orders well ahead of time, before 1030am, but by 12, the food was coming out of the kitchen one at a time. They even forgot someone's orders. Ordering in a small group would not be as problematic, I would assume. Even our billing got topsy turvy.

We also had a tour of the facilities. The guide was good in providing an explanation, but it would be better if they put signs on the different plants in their organic garden, and a description of the bees at their bee station. The monkey and bulldog were truly friendly. The horses were real thoroughbreds, said to be arabian type.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank al22tecc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    5
    3
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Warrington, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic place.”
Reviewed June 6, 2013

We stopped here for 5 nights in May, The staff could not do enough for us, The rooms and the complex was very clean, They have 6 pools and a zoo at the rear of the place which you are charged 75 pesos(£1) to enterThere are horses,cocks,birds,reptiles ect and not to forget Moy Moy the little monkey that comes to greet you, The food was really nice,The rooms had everything you need, room for luggage a large comfortable bed with crisp clean bed linen. the resteraunt ,reception and rooms are fully air conditioned. and last but not least the Manager To To was a really nice pleasant gentleman.This hotel should be at least a 4 star rating,

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Kim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“A little bit of paradise hidden away.....”
Reviewed May 29, 2013

I'm from the UK and after travelling nearly 7,000 miles, which took 16 hours, I came across “The Ranch Resort”. I stayed for nearly a week and as the other reviewers have mentioned the staff are very friendly, not only do they provide a very warm welcome, but just as importantly, they give a warm farewell.

The many pools are very well planned, providing large and clean facilities. Again the staff were at hand to offer help at all times.

The restaurant facilities are very well planned, providing a large cool air conditioned room to enjoy a variety of meals. When I came down to the restaurant, at a very late time of the evening with my sister, we were given first class service, even our request for an item that wasn't even on their menu was fulfilled. They cater for both local and western tastes, the only slight downside was they served an American Burger, but didn't offer any mustard, but that is just a personal observation.

We saw a couple of rooms when we arrived, but felt the standard room provided all that we required, a top quality flat screen TV, with AV in so we could enjoy watching our video's we took in the daytime. The beds were firm and gave a perfect night sleep, and the bed linen was clean along with the bathroom. I especially liked the gap that had been left between the bedroom and bathroom, which provided a mirror and table. The wardrobes were also of a good size, providing a place for our suitcases and plenty of space to hang all our clothes.

Finally, after venturing out to the farm area we were given a guided tour of the house where the birds are kept, which we were able to both handle and enjoy their beautiful colours. They also have a very friendly cute monkey that greats you as you arrive at the house, along with a friendly bulldog which likes to get some attention. There is so much more to mention about the farm but it is best to discover this for yourself.

At the end of our stay we asked about a transfer to the airport and was provided with a pleasant drive (thank you Steffi) to finish off our stay, all at very reasonable prices. All I can hope is that the high standard is maintained for when we visit again next year.

Thank you for a great stay from the UK.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank james2000uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cebu City, Philippines
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Never coming back”
Reviewed April 7, 2013

Went there yesterday for our company summer outing. We booked for 160 pax but only 154 persons showed up. They were supposed to cater for our lunch and afternoon snacks. For lunch, we ran out of food. We had to wait for the next batch of rice to be cooked so the rest the last 1/3 of us could eat. The dishes didnt taste as good as the food tasting. In the afternoon when most of us head for the shower to prepare to leave, there was no more water coming out from the shower. Terrible!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
7 Thank GingGing_Saging
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davao City, Philippines
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Nice to be back two years from now!”
Reviewed April 29, 2012 via mobile

Gaite Ranch Resort is very new, lots of facilities are under construction like their wave pool. Food were superb. Customer service is excellent! Staff were amiable and sincere. Rooms are clean and huge, toilets are well designed. I would love it better when there are big trees to hide fom the sun. It will be best to be there a year or two when all is done. More power to Gaite!

Helpful?
5 Thank Dysanregidor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JGaite, Owner at The Ranch Resort, responded to this review, May 1, 2012
Thank you very much for your generous review. We hope that we could make your next visit more pleasant than this one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Ranch Resort also viewed

Cebu Island, Visayas
 

Been to The Ranch Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing