We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent budget hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Islands Stay Hotels Uptown Cebu
Ranked #225 of 336 Cebu Island B&B and Inns
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
339 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 527 helpful votes
“Decent budget hotel”
Reviewed June 23, 2012

We decided to stay in Island Stays Hotel which is just a 5 min walk to Ayala Terrace. The hotel is located on the second floor and there is no elevators. So you have to walk up a short flight of stairs.

We book a extra large room which consists of two double beds.

The room is simple but spacious enough. They try to make the room look lively by using bright colours. The toilet is actually pretty big. Room is clean and decent. The Wi-Fi signal is strong though our room is lotaed at one end of the corridor and the furthest away from the reception. However, the water pressure is a little weak and you cannot control the hot water by a mixer. Instead, the temperature of the hot water is controlled using the water heater installed under the basin.

There is no hot water making facilities in the room. If you need hot water, you can go to the front desk to ask for it. The staff is friendly during our stay. One negative about this hotel is that there isn’t any convenience store located nearby. You will need to walk to Ayala Terrace for any shopping needs.

Staff is friendly and helpful.

This hotel will be one of my options when I visit Cebu again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mousehunt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    19
    18
    6
    6
See reviews for
6
21
10
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Taipei, Taiwan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 24, 2012

I've been here last April 25-27. for me, i'm quite satisfied with the hotel. I just want a descent, nice, budget-wise & a safe place to leave my things and to sleep overnight. the staff are friendly of course. They'll greet you every time you come & go out of the hotel. They give info on how to take a jeepney ride or anything you ask regarding Cebu. Wish I could come back again or I'll recommend this hotel to my friends. Keep up the good service.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joannar T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sta. Rosa, Laguna
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2012

I saw Islands Hotel in my last trip to Cebu last December and decided to book my friends and I there for a quick getaway. The minimalist decor captivated me. Its simplicity is its elegance. The Large Room is equipped with flat screen TV, phone, 1 outlet, and a night table. The bathroom has a water heater and you are also provided with travel kits. WiFi is also complimentary to guests though it's not high speed. It's free anyway. :) Very clean sheets and bed is perfect for the back - not too soft nor too hard. The hotel is almost across Ayala Center Cebu, near Mama Maria's pizzeria and banks. It doesn't have its own restaurant, but who cares, the mall is right there. Checking in was easy, but checking out took a while. I don't know what they doing inventory of. There's no minibar anyway. Overall, really great place. It's still new so expect that amenities are still in good condition. Hopefully they will be able to maintain. Perfect hotel if you want to stay uptown. :)

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank teachertwish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quezon City
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2012

Stayed in an Extra-Large room for our short 3 day stay in Cebu visiting relatives. This is really a no-frills hotel so do not expect room service, daily housekeeping (unless you specify) and breakfast.

The room was very clean and new. There are no closets though or shelf space. If you need an extra chair or table, the Front Desk Staff will be more than happy to provide those for you at no extra cost. The beds were comfortable enough and there was free wi-fi (for half a day) as the rest of our stay it was out. The Front desk staff however were kind enough to lend us their internet stick so we can do our regular internet duties.

The area is ideal as its right smack in front of Ayala Mall. Plenty of shops, eating places to choose from. No worry of getting hungry or running out of supplies.

Cebu is such a small city that everything from malls, tourist sites, bars etc, are literally a few minutes away. Word of advice though, what is deemed "far" for a Cebuano, is not necessarily the case with us Manila folk who are so used to traffic, a 15 min taxi ride is already "far" for them.

There are also some nearby hotels Elizabeth and Golden Prince Hotel are also nearby in case a budget no frills hotel is not your cup of tea.

Room Tip: Get the large or extra large rooms as the others are really so small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank theosos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2012

Small I mean very small room, but you get what you pay for a bed and it's I deal for a one night stay when you just need a place to lay your head!

It was fun when the room started moving like a high speed train during the recent earthquake on the 6th Feb!

would only stay 1 night and if on a budget

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Blusty2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bacolod, Philippines
Level 5 Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2012

I stayed at this hotel from the 6th to the 8th of February, paid only 950 pesos for a single budget room, which is quite a deal considering the cleanliness of the place as well as the location.

PROS:
Clean and well managed
Their prices are a steal for the quality of rooms you get (Flat screen tv, quiet aircondition.etc.
Great location (in the middle of everything and most especially, a 2 minute walk to AYALA)
2 banks are below this hotel which makes it convenient in case you need some money
Friendly and helpful staff
free wifi in rooms as well as free internet station at the lobby

CONS:
-I appreciate the free bottle of water, but thats not going to be enough for alot of guests, wish there was at least a water dispenser that would be free for all guests

-beds in budget room is quite small, for me it was okay cos I am only 5'10, but my feet were just a couple of inches away from touching the foot of the bed, so anyone who measures 6ft and beyond and will be staying in the same type of room as I had is going to have to bend their knees quite a bit

-Hygiene kit has everything except for toothpaste(so bring your own toothpaste)

-Shower has no regulator for water temperature so every time I took a bath, water was a bit too hot for me that I had to pause a bit before jumping in the shower again
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Note: hotel does not have a restaurant except for some drinks and snacks sold at the lobby, so you will have to either bring your own food or go to AYALA mall for your meals

-Also this hotel is on the 2nd floor, and no service elevator or wheelchair ramp, so anyone on a wheelchair or is physically challenged, will have a hard time going up


Verdict: All in all, it was a very good hotel for me worth the trip and would definitely stay here again, jst hope they could fine tune some of the things that I commented above, in order to make this hotel a much better one in the future

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bossmonkee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2012

I stayed one night in this hotel and another night in Island stay hotel in Mactan.

This hotel in uptown cebu has a very good location, only 3 minutes walk to Ayala Malls.
It also located near main road, so its easy to get taxi or jeepney.

i stayed in Large room, it has two double beds; enough space to move; flat TV, and shower with hot water. But i felt that its too big for two of us; because this room is enough for three or four pax.

The room is not sound proof, so i could hear the sound from the road; the wall is made from gypsum.

The value for the money was okay for me.

the island stay hotel in Mactan is much better than this one.

I took airport taxi from airport to this hotel and it cost around 300php.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank J2NN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cebu Island hotels
0.2 mi away
MJ Hotel and Suites
MJ Hotel and Suites
#28 of 90 in Cebu City
37 reviews
0.0 mi away
Red Planet Cebu
Red Planet Cebu
#9 of 90 in Cebu City
771 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Elizabeth Cebu
Hotel Elizabeth Cebu
#17 of 90 in Cebu City
280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Alba Uno Residencia
Alba Uno Residencia
#19 of 77 in Cebu City
55 reviews
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
3Js and K Apartment
#31 of 66 in Mactan Island
1 reviews
5.0 mi away
Islands Stay Hotels Mactan
Islands Stay Hotels Mactan
#42 of 57 in Lapu Lapu
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Islands Stay Hotels Uptown Cebu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Islands Stay Hotels Uptown Cebu

Property: Islands Stay Hotels Uptown Cebu
Address: Archbishop Reyes Avenue | Cebu Business Park, 6000, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #225 of 336 B&Bs / Inns in Cebu Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Islands Stay Hotels Uptown Cebu 2.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Islands Stay Hotels is a value chain hotel in Cebu that focuses on great locations while offering low prices. Islands Stay Hotels in uptown Cebu is strategically located in the central business district, perfect for the needs of the modern-day traveler. Islands Stay Hotels has another branch in M.L. Quezon Highway, Mactan, just right across the intersection of the airport road, and is a two-minute drive to the domestic & international airport of Cebu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, Agoda and Travel Book Philippines, Inc. so you can book your Islands Stay Hotels Uptown Cebu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Islands Stay Hotels Uptown Cebu Hotel Cebu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing