We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A beautiful mountain resort”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sun Xi Mountain Retreat
Ranked #154 of 213 Hotels in Cebu Island
Metro Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A beautiful mountain resort”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2013

Sun Xi resort is a very unique place amongst the many resorts at one's disposal in Cebu. I went to Cebu on a week long mini-tour of the visayas, have been back many times since, but Sun Xi remains the benchmark for one of the island's few mountain getaways.

The room we stayed in was very clean and tidy with a fan provided (no aircon necessary! The air is so cool!). The staff were friendly and ready in case we needed their help to organise activities, order food, etc. I would recommend it for a weekend escape from the city/technology.

The mountain top resort has a sister establishment(Xi Shack bar) in town by the coast so seaside beers are never too far away. To get there, you will have to use your own transport or ask the staff to arrange it for you.

I will definitely go back to use it as my base when visiting surrounding areas in Southern Cebu.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mikeymeier87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    5
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
1
6
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cebu City, Philippines
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2013

Located up in a small but beautiful mountains of Lepanto, the resort is very nice, grounds are spacious, green surroundings, clean and well maintained gardens, quite an peaceful place like heaven! Though we need to travel about 13 minutes by motorbike from the National road but its all worth it. My first time to come in this place and would love to come back over and over again. One of the best place to relax.

Room Tip: Casita Azalea balcony is lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Nejhi O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penang, Malaysia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2012

A break from the standard seaside resort, Sun Xi is a breath of fresh air, situated on a mountain, you immediately get swept away with it's breath taking views when you arrive.

This family run resort welcomes you into their cosy nook with friendly staff and even a couple of dogs for company. The chalets are rustic. Sun Xi lets you get back to nature and turn off the tech. Walks around the area will bring you towards enchanting paddy fields and charming village folk.

My wonderful three nights stay ended up in the management naming a cute little puppy after me; Wyn.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Raewyn_McBain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2012

My stay at Sun Xi Resort was a lovely breath of fresh air. As someone who enjoys the opportunity to switch off all technology and read a book, I found Sun Xi Resort to be the prefect retreat for that kind of holiday. Being on a mountain, It's also a nice change of scenery to all the countless beach resorts you find in Cebu. However, a quick drive down the mountain to Xi Shack (their bar by the sea) is a good for a quick fix of seaside air.

Unfortunately a few chalets were still under construction during our stay but it hardly interfered with our stay. They staff were very friendly and helpful with anything we needed.

I would recommend this resort to anyone looking for something unique, serene and quiet. Oh and dog lovers would love it as the owners have a couple of doggies running around!
]

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SunXi_Resorts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2012

i enjoyed to stay in sun xi resort,lots of fun and i really like it to get a coconut tree. so windy and cold there.i really like taking a picture and that place was so good, also and that place highly recommended to all tourist. its becoz have a lovely and wonderful view,and all people around they are good,........have a lovely holiday.....

Room Tip: corner suites are large and sunny
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank leosalyn07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2012

Nigel was a pleasure to work with, and his staff is exceptional. The room was very nice. Overall, it was exactly what I'd hoped for. I very much enjoyed my four week stay. Looking forward to going back... Highly recommended !!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tmitango
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quezon City, Philippines
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2012

The first time I travelled to Cebu with friends....the excitement to see this place urged us to overcome the so tiring 3-hour ride towards the South. The breathtaking zigzag road gave it more an intriguing foresight of what's instore along the way going up as you spot a lighted area at the topmost part of the mountain ranges. A few minutes more as we parked down the grounds, we set our feet to grasp the only way up......more than 100 steps! Smiles went painted on our faces as we saw the bamboo gate with the sign Sun Xi Resort....and when it opened....walking a few more steps....we were greeted by a cool, awesome,tranquil abode with the stars almost at our reach. It was an unforgettable golden day for me since then....and had to go back second and third time around, August of this year, bringing other friends to experience the magic of this cozy resort for themselves. Surprisingly, each year has its own new eye-popping added features....and this year....a welcoming villa where 6 casitas await guests to slumber and have some peaceful stay away from the fast pacing world in the cities in a warm ambience and services given by trained staffs. So, what are you waiting for? It's your chance of a lifetime!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank Maria Estela F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cebu Island hotels
9.1 mi away
Jaynet Oceanview Resort
Jaynet Oceanview Resort
#1 of 1 in Boljoon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6 reviews
9.0 mi away
Villa Rosa
Villa Rosa
#1 of 1 in Alcoy
5.0 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
15.5 mi away
Sampaguita Resort
Sampaguita Resort
#2 of 6 in Moalboal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.5 mi away
The Blue Orchid Resort
The Blue Orchid Resort
#1 of 6 in Moalboal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 402 reviews
6.0 mi away
Sun Xi Beach Club
Sun Xi Beach Club
#1 of 4 in Alegria
4.0 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
3.1 mi away
D Alegre Traveller's Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sun Xi Mountain Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sun Xi Mountain Retreat

Property: Sun Xi Mountain Retreat
Address: Lepanto | Alegria, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #154 of 213 Hotels in Cebu Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The scent of an untainted breeze dancing, a serene chorus of rustling trees nursing landscapes waiting to be gazed upon. Feel nature's ambiance. Taste her elegance. Welcome.....to Sun Xi Resort. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing