We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Noisy, unpleasant rooms, unhelpful staff” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Isla Bonita Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Isla Bonita Resort
Ranked #82 of 150 Hotels in Boracay
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Noisy, unpleasant rooms, unhelpful staff”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2012

Unfortunately we had to move to this place for the last night of our stay from the fully booked Best Western Boracay Tropics resort. And what a shock this was: small and shabby room, old and very loud aircon, unhelpful staff, not too clean bathroom and this all for almost the same price as the clean, nice and quiet Best Western with lovely staff. It felt like a proper rip off. My advise - look for other accommodation on the island, there are plenty of much better choices for the price of this "hotel".

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CZE-Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    59
    38
    23
    13
See reviews for
21
65
25
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2012

I stayed here for 7 nights on a diving trip to the island. I think the name of this place generates the wrong ex[pectations. This hotel is more of a pension (as they call them in europe) not a resort. The staff are super nice, always happy to assist and the location is well away from the hussle and bussle of station1 - 2nd the hordes of tourists there (evn in the OFF season). It is a good 20min walk to the 'Mall"and all the shops. A nice quiet place to stay here, for the money and staff when i return to Borocay i will stay here again. Its true that the rooms do vary, and mine did smell musty (but i left the windows open anyway. I idnt have A/C but that was good because i didnt want to run the risk of getting a cold when i was there for the diving! The breakfast could do with a lot of improvement - i bought my own fruits from the markets. i reccomend eating out at DTalipapa where you can buy fresh/live seafood and have it cooked up at the restaurants adjacent to this wet market. i ate there often it was fantastic. Also get yourself a HaloHalo at the Talipapa from a little stall right near the main rd entrance - unbelievably good. For eating out try the Big Smoke eatery right up the back of DMall near the main rd - the best philippino food i had on the island :) Oh and the diving was SPECTACULAR - big thanks to Calypso Dive :) Many thanks to the wonderful staff of Isla Bonita - April, Babelene, Flor, Robelyn, Carol, "Vanessa' and Cheryl.

Room Tip: I like the second floor rooms with a little verandah and tables to chill out on
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
38 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2012

I did not stay in this hotel. But I guess that's a good thing. I was on the stage of inquiring for rooms. After browsing their website, I asked through email whether they can come up with a package for my group. I received their reply with the list of their room rates, which I already saw on their website, and bunch of self-promoting paragraphs on why I should consider their resort.

I sent again another email. This time, basing on their promo package listed on their website, I particularly asked for some adjustments to fit the needs of my group. As another option, I also picked a room from the list of regular rates and asked that to be adjusted for my group. Then I also asked them to describe their about to be completed swimming pool.

What I received later is their short response saying that their promo package is only available during the low season. That's it! No other explanations or mention about my other questions. So I thought that if by email they cannot attend to my inquiries, what more if my group were already there?

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank jmrolls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Boracay hotels

Lancing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2012

I was appauled the first day as I entered my superior room upstairs room. I was greeted by mosquitos, an air conditioned room that was just a fan, a cold drip of a shower and a flithy floor. In their defernce they did give me a hugh can of mosquito repellent. The location on Station 3 was good. After a disgusting breakfast and my daughter arriving from Oz I saw her room, nice - not bad at all and $10 less!!! I wanted to change and got a somewhat better room downstairs and - well I had hot water and it was cleaner, still at superior rates.
So watch out, it all depends on the room - I wish I could remember the good room number. Unbelievably it had a brown corner bath in it. However, it was hotter than hell with just a fan and somewhat musty.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Charlotte H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2012

we paid 8k for 3 days 2 nights stay ,we got room 304 the room was falling apart, insects were falling from the bathroom ceiling, water costs 50 pesos, wifi costs 200 pesos, heater and aircon , we had to remind the staff twice to turn them on, it was horrible, continental breakfast consisted off 2 dry pieces of bread butter and sour mango! horrid! we should have stuck with casa fiesta in station 1, our friends got to stay there for 7k for 5 days! free water, wifi, heater and flat screen tv with cable! money wasted in la isla bonita!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Aurora P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2012

Stayed in the La Isla Bonita for nine nights on my trip to Boracay. The resort is at the cheaper end of the market but do not let that put you off I had a perfectly good stay there. The rooms are clean and as another reviewer notes there are some shockingly coloured bedware (is that the word?) to be seen but I always made sure that I slept with my eyes shut so everything was fine. The hotel goes directly onto the wonderful White Beach and there are some free loungers to be had, well no-one charged me.
The breakfast was OK but unremarkable.
I recommend putting your valuable into the hotel safe at reception, not because I think there is a particularly high theft risk but it is great to see how meticulously the staff wrap your stuff and document it. Filipinos seem to be very good a written record keeping and this will illustrate this well. Your stuff is safe, you get to see record keeping at its filipino best and it is only 200P (I think).
Station 3 may be appear to be the quiet end of town but I thought that it was the best place to be so location gets a tick from me too.

Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
3 Thank vsi_ian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
76 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2012

We stayed at the resort in 2000 and loved it. This is a newer rebuilt resort . The rooms vary but are generally comfortable and good value for beachfront. The hospitality and friendliness of all the staff is oustanding which more than makes up for a few deficiencies.We had 2 stays this time for 7 nights and 5 nights and were very happy there.

Room Tip: I would suggest upper levels in the newer buliding.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank barry1943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boracay hotels
1.4 mi away
Boracay Travelodge Beach Resort
0.7 mi away
Island Jewel Inn
Island Jewel Inn
#33 of 150 in Boracay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 303 reviews
0.8 mi away
Arwana Hotel & Restaurant
Arwana Hotel & Restaurant
#121 of 150 in Boracay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Cool Stay Inn
Cool Stay Inn
#105 of 150 in Boracay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
1.1 mi away
La Carmela de Boracay
La Carmela de Boracay
#81 of 150 in Boracay
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,146 reviews
0.9 mi away
Tonglen Beach Resort
Tonglen Beach Resort
#41 of 150 in Boracay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Isla Bonita Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Isla Bonita Resort

Property: La Isla Bonita Resort
Address: White Beach Front, Boat Station 3 Mangayad, Aklan Province, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Panay Island > Aklan Province > Boracay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#26 Spa Hotel in Boracay
#27 Top resorts Hotel in Boracay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — La Isla Bonita Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at White Beach Front, near Boat Station 3 & 2, Boracay 30 rooms deluxe air conditioned, Cable TV, Refrigerator, Minibar, Hot & cold shower, Grill and Sizzling Restaurant, Pasta & Pizza Special, Spa & Massage, Foreign Exchange, Safety Deposit, Free WI-FI internet, Night Security, Airline Ticket service, Dive arrangement, Laundry service, Sunset cruise, Siling boat arrangement, Island Hoping Trips, Motorbikes rentals, babysitter, friendly Staffs, Budget Price resort located with Beach view. Long stay discount. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Expedia so you can book your La Isla Bonita Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Isla Bonita Hotel Boracay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing