We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great ambiance! ”
Review of Dos Mestizos

Dos Mestizos
Ranked #10 of 307 Restaurants in Boracay
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Reviewed November 6, 2013 via mobile

Lovely atmosphere, fast service and good music. And the food is awesome. Even if hard to find the place its worth it.

2  Thank wuchoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Universaltraveler09, Manager at Dos Mestizos, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2013

Thank you for finding us! Dos Mestizos is located far from the tourist area and this gives us a reason to strive to make your visit here, worth your while. We are happy you enjoyed our food, music and service and we are grateful you took time out to leave us a positive review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (657)
There are newer reviews for Dos Mestizos
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

379 - 383 of 657 reviews

Reviewed November 5, 2013

That describes lunch or dinner at Dos Mestizos in Boracay, which offers a variety of drinks and menu items in an inviting atmosphere. No wonder it’s ranked as one of the top restaurants, not only on the island but in that part of the world. The staff was very friendly and helpful in offering suggestions for drinks and menu choices, making our meals even more interesting and enjoyable with the prices being reasonable. We also enjoyed the music that added to the ambiance.
When traveling, I try to find a restaurant that I can visit several times during our stay in the area…I found that at Dos Mestizos

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Dan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Universaltraveler09, Manager at Dos Mestizos, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2013

Thank you for your kind review. We just came back from a trip to Spain and are currently implementing new ideas and adding more items on our tapas menu. We hope on your next visit to the island you will notice our little improvements.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2013

The food was delicious, everything cooked perfectly! The place gives out a warm cozy atmosphere just like home. If in Boracay, don't miss a chance to enjoy a lovely meal at Dos Mestizos.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Stacey F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dos M, Owner at Dos Mestizos, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2013

Thank you for your review of Dos Mestizos. I appreciate your comment of the restaurant being like home. This is our home and we welcome our guests and strive to give them a most memorable experience. Thank you for encouraging other travelers to try us out.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2013 via mobile

If you go in boracay dont miss to visit this restaurant the service was good and the food was so delicious. Its very authentic.

2  Thank kennymae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dos M, Owner at Dos Mestizos, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2013

Thank you for taking time out for leaving this review. I am proud of Dos Mestizos and we strive, both management and staff, to give our customers the best quality food and warm and friendly service. I hope you help us spread the word about. Dos Mestizos and we look forward to serving you again in your future trip to island.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2013

we brought our american guests to dos mestizos in boracay last saturday for their dinner buffet. it was a big let down!!! the choices were not as great as before. the "gambas ala plancha" was so plain while the "pulpo" was just bathing in oil without any spices nor flavor. it doesn't have any taste of spain at all. the owner must've lived in boracay TOO long he forgot the taste of spain already. the service is so bad. they don't smile at you nor acknowledge your requests. we asked a lady waiter to reheat two slices of "cochinillo" and i reminded her 3 times for her to get it from the kitchen. we asked for lechon sauce and by the time it came out, my friend lost his appetite to finish his food. and i saw the waiter whom i asked for it and he was just munching bread inside the open kitchen. he actually ate 3 bread and did nothing at all to get the lechon sauce. oh! the sangria was just as bad... better bring a powdered juice drink and just ask for cold water. do it yourself drink would be better.

by the way, our neighboring table gave us a whole "cochinillo" (they must have over ordered) and we gladly accepted the kind gesture. before we can partake of the "cochinillo" the guy in dark blue chef uniform (as per our friend who lives in boracay, he is a friend of the owner and an assistant chef of the place) approached us and asked us if he can get some. isn't that unethical for a chef to get food from their guest table even if it was given to us for free? this restaurant is one for the books.... yes, "book of horrors", that is! beware... you have been warned.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank alcala2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dos M, Owner at Dos Mestizos, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2013

First of all I would like to sincerely apologize for this very unfortunate incident. I just came from Spain to gather fresh ideas to help us improve Dos Mestizos and it saddens me to read this very unfavorable review. We have no excuses, you came to our restaurant expecting excellent service and left very disappointed. It saddens me more that you brought you're guests, hoping to give them a nice time. Please accept my apologies, your review has been discussed and we are continuously working on this not to happen again.

Sincerely,
Binggoy Remedios

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dos Mestizos also viewed

 

Been to Dos Mestizos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing