We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best ox tonge and chorisos in town”
Review of Dos Mestizos

Dos Mestizos
Ranked #19 of 337 Restaurants in Boracay
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Saturday night tapas is a feast. Make sure you book in advance. Fantastic ala carte menu...went back 3 times!!!

1  Thank crazycrazycat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dos M, Manager at Dos Mestizos, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2013

Thank you for your kind comments about the quality of our food and the service we provide our guests. We are happy that you had a memorable dining experience with us and look forward to hosting you again on your next visit to Boracay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (713)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

474 - 478 of 713 reviews

Reviewed January 6, 2013

The food at Dos Mestizos was delicious and we visited several times during our stay at Boracay. Paul, who I assume was the manager, was extremely helpful and accommodating. The Paella was very tasty, as were the meatballs and calamari. The bar tender made the best mango margaritas than anywhere else we tried and the sangria was also a pleasant surprise! If you are visiting Boracay make sure you pay a visit. It is less crowded during lunch hours but a reservation is a must for dinner as this is a very popular spot.

1  Thank Biviana929
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dos M, Manager at Dos Mestizos, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2013

Thank you for your kind comments about the quality of our food and the service we provide our guests. We are happy that you had a memorable dining experience with us and look forward to hosting you again on your next visit to Boracay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2013

We had been in Boracay for a couple of days and trying to stick to local food but got very fed up very quickly. We searched on trip advisor and found this Spanish restaurant just off the main street. The manager was very welcoming and the paella was fantastic, as was the sangria! We had tapas to start which was also good but I personally didn't like the chorizo but can recommend the meatballs and croquettes though! A great alternative restaurant which may cost slightly more than some of the local restaurants but worth the treat! Book if you can as gets busy some days!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Kevin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dos M, Manager at Dos Mestizos, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2013

Thank you for your kind comments about the quality of our food and the service we provide our guests. We are happy that you had a memorable dining experience with us and look forward to hosting you again on your next visit to Boracay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2012

Boracay has become a tourist trap in many ways. One local Filippino guy wrote online to be wary of the cheap buffet restaurants on the beach. With the food sitting in trays for hours on end, and with multiple dirty hands using the same serving utensils, he said he would not eat there if his life depended on it.
One place on the to go list is Dos Mestizos in Station 3 besides the police station. It is a bit far to get to but it is 100% worth it. This restaurant has atmosphere and character galore. It is very clean and comfortable, away from the noise and riffraff of the beach. The food here is Spanish and the house speciality is their amazing paella. My wife and I shared a shellfish paella for two; we called ahead so we did not have to wait too long as it can take an hour to prepare. The dish was filled with fresh seafood- incredible flavour, just like the paella we had in Spain. We shared a huge delicious Caesars salad, better than most back home in Canada, as well as a tasty squid crevice.
The service was efficient and good. With a fruit juice and a bottle of water, the bill came out to 40$US, 10% service charge automatically included.
I don't think the restaurant is expensive. Prices seem good for the food you are eating. Basically in Boracay as in everywhere else, you get what you pay for. Spend a bit more at Dos Mestizos, and you will enjoy a meal which you will remember, and which will enrich your vacation experience.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Dr Andy S L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dos M, Manager at Dos Mestizos, responded to this reviewResponded December 20, 2012

Thank you very much for your kind comments about Dos Mestizos, the quality of the food we serve and the service we extend to our guests. We hare happy that you have found your dining experience to be good value for money and we hope you recommend us to your friends visiting the island. We look forward to seeing you again on your next visit to Boracay Island.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2012

hahhhh...it really feels so good to be back on the island paradise of boracay after spending few days in roxas for a very important business conference. touching down on this beautiful island really gave me a relaxed mode. now, what i would need to complete the ordeal is food, great food and delightfully pleasing to the eye of course. when i was roaming around, i came across this restaurant called DOZ MESTIZOZ and bang!!! all i ever wanted to complete a pleasant stay in boracay island. oh man i tell you, tapas buffet is great. my favorite? crazy but true. everything they serve became my favorites. well oh well...i would say, just go there and taste for your self. and one more thing. they have not only great food but excellent service as well. would love to go back before the year ends. and by that time, i would be with my wife and kids.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Niño A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dos M, Manager at Dos Mestizos, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2012

Thank you for your continued patronage of Dos Mestizos. We hope to continue to serve you with the freshest ingredients and the best Filipino Spanish cuisine in Boracay Island. We hope to see you again on your next visit to the island.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dos Mestizos also viewed

 

Been to Dos Mestizos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing