We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“its to be back...great food...excellent service”
Review of Dos Mestizos

Dos Mestizos
Ranked #10 of 307 Restaurants in Boracay
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Bar scene, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Reviewed December 5, 2012

hahhhh...it really feels so good to be back on the island paradise of boracay after spending few days in roxas for a very important business conference. touching down on this beautiful island really gave me a relaxed mode. now, what i would need to complete the ordeal is food, great food and delightfully pleasing to the eye of course. when i was roaming around, i came across this restaurant called DOZ MESTIZOZ and bang!!! all i ever wanted to complete a pleasant stay in boracay island. oh man i tell you, tapas buffet is great. my favorite? crazy but true. everything they serve became my favorites. well oh well...i would say, just go there and taste for your self. and one more thing. they have not only great food but excellent service as well. would love to go back before the year ends. and by that time, i would be with my wife and kids.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Niño A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dos M, Manager at Dos Mestizos, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2012

Thank you for your continued patronage of Dos Mestizos. We hope to continue to serve you with the freshest ingredients and the best Filipino Spanish cuisine in Boracay Island. We hope to see you again on your next visit to the island.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (657)
There are newer reviews for Dos Mestizos
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

438 - 442 of 657 reviews

Reviewed December 5, 2012

The prices are expensive, and the location at Station 3 is quite far from where the other restaurants are, but there is a reason why people go to Dos Mestizos. You will not regret walking that far, and paying that much for their classic Spanish dishes!

1  Thank Jane G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dos M, Manager at Dos Mestizos, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2012

Thank you for your kind comments about Dos Mestizos and the quality of the food we serve in our restaurant. We look forward to having you with us again on your next visit to Boracay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2012

The restaurant is hidden along a side street near Station 1, and almost beside the police station. But when you get inside, you will tend to forget that you are in an island. The ambience was magnificent - dimly lit, live music, and set up like an authentic Spanish restaurant. It is a welcome addition to the growing number of restaurants in Boracay. And yes, they have great paella.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank BraulloBogart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dos M, Manager at Dos Mestizos, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2012

Thank you for your kind comments about Dos Mestizos. We are happy that you had a wonderful dining experience with us and we hope to see you again on your next visit to the island. We wish you and your family all the best for the coming Yuletide season.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2012

After reading a lot of reviews on trip advisor and on local sites and all of them unanimously raving about Dos Mestizos, we were more than thrilled to dine there. Sad to say but we were quite disappointed.
Yes, it exuded the feel of an authentic Spanish restaurant, but the food was way too pricey for its quality. We ordered tapas : gambas al ajillo, salpicao, croquetas de jamon, which were all average at best, and were even served lukewarm. The portions were also quite small [yes, i'm aware it's tapas and it's meant to be in small servings, but these were smaller than the usual serving]. We paired these tapas with paella de mariscos which lacked the flavor one would expect from rice that was supposedly simmered in all that seafood. We are a Spanish-cuisine-loving family, and we've been to a fair share of Spanish restaurants in Manila and In Barcelona/Madrid, but Dos Mestizos' paella gravely pales in comparison. Those 3 small tapas dishes + paella and 2 orders of canned soda set us back US $70 [PhP 3000]. We wouldn't mind paying that much for quality food, but this was clearly overpriced and not that great.

Thank chubbaandhismomma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dos M, Manager at Dos Mestizos, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2012

Thank you for your candid comments about your experience dining at Dos Mestizos. We regret that you were not satisfied with the food you were served, it is just unfortunate that you did not inform us back then when we could have done something about your complaints. We truly appreciate your feedback to us and take this as an opportunity to review the quality of the food we serve to our guests. Rest assured that this will bring us to make improvements to give all our diners the authentic dining experience they look for.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2012

i kid you not, you should check it out. A little pricy but completely worth it. Very good Sangria and a most charming floor manger, Paul. I shall return.

2  Thank aisha p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dos M, Manager at Dos Mestizos, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2012

Thank you for your kind comments about Dos Mestizos and the quality of the food we serve to our guests. We hope to continue to live up to your expectations and deliver the authentic Spanish cuisine we are known for. We look forward to having you with us again on your next visit to Boracay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dos Mestizos also viewed

 

Been to Dos Mestizos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing