We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An authentic Indian dinner by the Beach”
Review of True Food

True Food
Ranked #72 of 307 Restaurants in Boracay
Price range: $10 - $15
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Antipolo City, Philippines
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“An authentic Indian dinner by the Beach”
Reviewed April 18, 2013

My husband and I had a quiet, relaxed dinner at True Food after a day full of activities in Boracay, which included a sunset cruise just before dinner. The beachfront restaurant was just as we remembered it from many years ago - laid back with futons, pillows and low tables. Breezy with all around open windows. The food - samosas, biryani, korma, etc were all flavorful. The service was calm and friendly. We even met a charming Filipino-English family and had a wonderful chat. True Food is definitely in our list of "to go back to" the next time we are in Boracay.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Jessica A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    86
    97
    48
    21
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
TN
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Fair Indian Food, 'Above Average' Prices.”
Reviewed April 10, 2013

Its not that the food was bad, because it was not. It was good. But the cost of the meal for two of us was the most expensive meal in Boracay at over Php 1600 - but I left still hungry and unsatisfied. Individual orders of naan was at about Php 140. The upstairs is nice to eat at so you lose the view of thousands of people walking by and watch palm trees and the ocean. Service was slow and uninterested. My appetizer was 'onion' but I got the 'chicken' - I took it because of the amount of time involved to get it in the first place. Lower your expectations and open your wallets.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank laphph2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“great vibe, great food, great times!”
Reviewed March 30, 2013

My friends and I loved eating here! Lots of choice on the menu and everything we ordered was incredible. We ended up sitting (lounging) upstairs on the big cushions overlooking the beach. It was relaxing and a nice way to chill out before a bit of a night out.
The staff was friendly and it made for a great dinner out! Will definitely go back there again!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank waterwing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Good food, location so-so”
Reviewed March 13, 2013 via mobile

The food was nice, the waitress friendly, only the location at the crowded and loud part of white beach are a minus.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Aennikae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Avoid because of the people”
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Just got back from Boracay after a fab vacation. However the only disappointment from the land of hospitable and freindly people was the service at this restaurant. We went there twice and found the staff to be rude and utterly disinterested. best avoided.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DaysOfGrace16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed True Food also viewed

 
Boracay, Aklan Province
Boracay, Aklan Province
 

Been to True Food? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing